We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Mussels galore!”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Le Bout d'la Rue

Le Bout d'la Rue
Ranked #42 of 584 Restaurants in Dijon
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: French, Seafood, European
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Dining on a budget, Kids, Families with children, Large groups
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff
Milwaukee
Level Contributor
310 reviews
171 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 188 helpful votes
“Mussels galore!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 3, 2013 via mobile

As stated by many other reviewers, if you like mussels, it would be hard to beat this place. There are about a dozen different preparations of mussels, servings are very generous, and the fries are perfect. My husband had mussels with a cream and tarragon sauce... Rich, creamy, and delicious. Great for sopping up with great French bread. I had mussels cooked with tomatoes, basil, and olive oil. Totally different but equally delicious. Also great for sopping and even as a dip for the fries. Our service was also good, with the waiter giving us a lesson in the French way of eating mussels, after we requested forks. There are no forks involved. You pick up the shell with your fingers , bring it to your mouth, and scrape it out with your teeth. (Think fresh artichoke style.). We also had salads which were artistically arranged and very tasty. If you're a mussel lover in Dijon, you have to go!

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank kayteeMilwaukee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

161 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    78
    65
    12
    5
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Relax and enjoy”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 2, 2012

If you like getting your hands into a pile of sensational mussels and frittes this is the place for you. Great food, great service, excellent local wines and a relaxed, friendly atmosphere. We had lunch for two for 38 euro. The waiter spoke English with a French accent and a smile, the frittes were crisp and hot and the mussels just melt in the mouth. Sop up the juices with crispy bread, round off with a cafe and walk away content and well fed.

Helpful?
3 Thank Paul D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
232 reviews
157 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 89 helpful votes
“Mussel heaven!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 20, 2012

We ate here late one night in October. Nice atmosphere with good food and service. Limited menu without mussels. Reasonable prices. A block from the main historical area.

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Roger M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Honolulu, Hawaii
Level Contributor
552 reviews
274 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 278 helpful votes
“If you like mussels, you've hit the jackpot”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 14, 2012

Sept 13, 2012
We knew about this resto from a review of Hotel Le Jacquesmart where we were staying. We both love to eat mussels. This small place specializes in serving Brittany mussels all different ways. While my wife had the curried version, I had the traditional. Both were so delicious and satisfying. They really give you a lot of mussels. The amount of french fries is too much to consume. The French do not eat fries with catsup. Actually their catsup is a different type of sauce altogether. And if you like strong coffee, they serve it. It seemed to me that all the customers were eating a bowl of mussels.
One of the customers sat near us. He is from Luxembourg and whenever he comes into Dijon, he always stops by for his mussels.

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
2 Thank alohatripper
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Excellent”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 13, 2012

Excellent family run business down a lovely random street (not far from an irish bar)
We had some lovely mussels, HUGE porsions and the staff were adorable letting myself and my partner sit until the end even when they sat down together and ate their meal outside at the end of the evening. Decor very nice, plenty of seating.
Dont miss!

  • Visited August 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Sweetboomerand
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Le Bout d'la Rue also viewed

 

Been to Le Bout d'la Rue? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing