We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Decent food” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Gril'Laure

Gril'Laure
Ranked #23 of 579 Restaurants in Dijon
Cuisines: Italian, French, European
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Business meetings, Families with children, Kids, Special occasions, Large groups, Dining on a budget
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Late Night, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
“Decent food”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 22, 2013 via mobile

We found the food to be tasty but a little course. I ordered the duo chops. The pork was dry with lots of fat and sinew. The lamb was better but still fatty. The chicken skewer was nice with a wonderful sauce. Nice wine list too.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Frank8133
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

626 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    156
    328
    97
    29
    16
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Cooperstown, New York
Level Contributor
118 reviews
103 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Nice Place, Good Value”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 5, 2012 via mobile

We visited Gril'Laure on a Sunday night. It was busy, and we were happy we had made reservations. The restaurant is attractive and comfortable, although the wood-fired oven makes it a little warm. Service was a slow when we were initially seated, but was attentive and friendly after that. The salads are huge and delicious, as are the pizzas. The Margarita pizza had a lot of cheese, but the Regina and the calzone had less. Two salads and one pizza would have been plenty for two of us. The wine list had a number of reasonably priced alternatives. This was a great choice on a Sunday evening when little else is open in Dijon.

Helpful?
Thank MRM1655
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
11 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“A Must”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 26, 2012

Our hotel recomended this cozy spot. We loved it! The atmosphere was wonderful and it was fun to watch the chefs making the food on the wood oven, they looked like they really enjoyed their jobs. The service was good and if your not sure what to order they are happy to recomend something.

We had a nice local chardonay and both my husband and I started with the mixed house salad, it was really tastey and had lots of yummy vegetables in it. I wish that we had of had room for pizza because they looked so good but we wanted have a local experience. I had the steak bernaise wich was wonderful, it came with the most delicious ratatouille I've ever had and some very flavourful mushrooms. My husband decided to try the kangaroo, the flavour was amazing and the pepper sauce that was on it was top-notch, I also really liked the kangaroo with some of my ratatouille. We both got a side of the potatoes gratin, they are a must! They are cooked on the wood oven and are so cheesy and delicious.

  • Visited October 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank TravellersAJW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hereford, Arizona
Level Contributor
192 reviews
76 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
“Cozy fire!”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 8, 2012

We went here on the recommendation of one of our cycling trip leaders who herself was a Dijon girl. The roaring fire was most welcome as it had been a rainy and cool evening. The wood-fired pizzas were good but a little heavy on the cheese. The salads were huge - maybe too many Americans have visited, ha. We opted for beer that evening as they had a couple of nice Belgian beers (we like Affligem). Pleasant evening.

  • Visited September 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Liza W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Bend, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
100 reviews
49 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
“Delicious!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 6, 2012

This restaurant was recommended by our hotel reception desk, and they made reservations for us. The menu was varied with very original recipes that tasted wonderful. And save room for dessert! The wait staff was attentive and did their best to communicate in English so we figured everything out. Many entrees are grilled in plain sight since the grill is located right by the entrance lobby. All the food at other tables looked equally delicious, and we'd like to return to try out more choices.

Visited June 2012
Helpful?
Thank 298DickZ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Gril'Laure also viewed

 

Been to Gril'Laure? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing