We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location & excellent staff”
Review of Hotel Du Palais

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Hotel Du Palais
Ranked #27 of 59 Hotels in Dijon
Reviewed August 8, 2013

I have to say its excellent value for money. As I had requested for room with air conditioner, I was put in one of the smaller room on the top floor. Good that I travelled alone or else the room would be way too small. Anyways, I would recommend this hotel for travelers with tight budget..
Sandrine was very nice and helpful. This is a 3 stars hotel with 5 star staff.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Angela L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (240)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

67 - 73 of 240 reviews

Reviewed August 7, 2013

Positives - Great location, sensible price, clean and a very comfortable room. English speaking staff that were helpful and friendly, I would be very happy to stay there again. Negative - I thought that the breakfast was too expensive for what was on offer but probably not for France. However the quality was good.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Phil H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelduPalais21, Propriétaire at Hotel Du Palais, responded to this reviewResponded August 22, 2013

We thank you very much for your review and hope to see you again in our hotel !
Concerning breakfast, we remind that it is only 9€ for a 3*** hotel, with homemade cakes, homemade jams, handmade vIennoiseries, 3 different kinds of cheese, bacon, ham, fruit and nature yogurts, fresh fruits....maybe were you looking for eggs but it woud not be anymore a French breakfast !

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 22, 2013

A Very pleasant experience, the staff were very nice and welcoming, rooms were very clean and well equipped, Internet was not great but adequate and FREE. We only had one night stay but it was very pleasant.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank AGreg55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelduPalais21, Propriétaire at Hotel Du Palais, responded to this reviewResponded July 26, 2013

We thank you very much for your review and we hope to see you for another visit in Dijon. We confirm that we have improved internet process and from now, the video has been removed and our WIFI is faster and STILL FREE

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 18, 2013 via mobile

The location is really good, parking can be arranged at reservation for a public parking garage nearby at a reduced price. Room is bigger than average city hotel, but of course still small. No air condition, so in these July summer nights we had to open the windows and bear the noise on the street and the mosquito. Internet speed was good but we had to keep watching and rewatching the sponsored ads videos.
Overall, it's a decent hotel.

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jeffrey_on_Trip
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelduPalais21, Propriétaire at Hotel Du Palais, responded to this reviewResponded July 22, 2013

All the team thanks you very much for your review and hope to welcome you again next time with air-conditioning in all the rooms ! Indeed after already having set A/C in all rooms on the 3d floor, we wish we would set A/C in all other floors for next summer. Fortunately, this old building in stone keeps rooms cooler than in more recent buildings.
Best Regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 14, 2013

Hotel was fine-staff friendly. The internet was not great- you had to listen to ads before you could get on and you kept getting kicked out-very annoying in this day and age. Avoid the top rooms with the beams-they give a new meaning to tiny- the other rooms are fine. The breakfast is very good.

Room Tip: Avoid the top floor beam rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank aliabritishcolumbia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelduPalais21, Propriétaire at Hotel Du Palais, responded to this reviewResponded July 18, 2013

All the staff thank you very much for your review. We just want to add a precision about internet.
Our network called "quickspot" is set to protect everybody against consultation of illegal websites.,Even when it is FREE so the only remuneration quickspot has, is to broadcast one video before being connected ; it is not a big deal compared to the protection it brings

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 12, 2013

We stayed there for five nights in June 2013. It is a nice hotel, very convenient to the shops and restaurants. Sandrine (owner) very helpful and obliging with local travel advice and her English is excellent.

Room Tip: Choose a room away from the street. There is no lift.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank rtodd132
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelduPalais21, Propriétaire at Hotel Du Palais, responded to this reviewResponded August 22, 2013

All the team thank you very much for your review ! hoping to see you again for your next stop in Dijon !

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 11, 2013

We spent only one night here and in Dijon, on our way back from Italy to Paris. This is a shame, because Dijon is quite lovely and it would have been nice to spend more time here. The Hotel du Palais is located in a very convenient location, close to main attractions and in the old part of the city.

We had a room on the third floor, and be warned: there are NO elevators and the stairs are narrow and steep! If you cannot or do not want to climb stairs, keep this in mind. Our room was clean and adequate, but quite small, and the bathroom was positively miniscule. We had a nice view over the rooftops of Dijon, and the window opened enough to provide decent airflow, but I cannot recall if this place had air conditioning or not -- if not, I can imagine it might get quite hot in the summer.

This is an old building, with all the charm and shortcomings that come along with it. I would not hesitate to stay here again, certainly, and recommend it without reservation -- with the caveats that you must be prepared to climb stairs and that the room/bathroom are quite small and cramped.

Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
2  Thank kbr25
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelduPalais21, Propriétaire at Hotel Du Palais, responded to this reviewResponded August 22, 2013

Many thanks for your review. To answer your question, we confirm that all our rooms on the top floor HAVE air conditioning. We hope to see you again in our hotel !

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Dijon hotels
0.2 mi away
Hotel des Ducs
Hotel des Ducs
#10 of 59 in Dijon
702 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Wilson
Hotel Wilson
#9 of 59 in Dijon
349 reviews
0.2 mi away
Maison Philippe le Bon
Maison Philippe le Bon
#11 of 59 in Dijon
486 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Ibis Styles Dijon Central
0.7 mi away
Hotel Montchapet
Hotel Montchapet
#23 of 59 in Dijon
188 reviews
0.5 mi away
Quality Hotel du Nord Dijon Centre
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Du Palais? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Du Palais

Address: 23 rue du Palais, 21000, Dijon, France
Location: France > Bourgogne-Franche-Comte > Cote d'Or > Dijon
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #27 of 59 Hotels in Dijon
Price Range: $83 - $119 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Du Palais 3*
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This very charming hotel with a typical Burghundian style is ideally placed in the hyper centre of the town, close to the Palace of Dukes, shops and restaurants and less than 5 min from the main muséums.Its recent renovation adds refinement preserving its attic rooms so coveted with the comfort of AIR CONDITIONING in all the building!You'll find in this Hôtel the welcome and the conviviality of a guest house ! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Hotel Du Palais reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing