We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A Wonderful Day in Burgundy”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Authentica Tours

Authentica Tours
Book In Advance
More Info
$144.07*
and up
Small-Group Full-Day Tour of Côte de Nuits, Côte de Beaune Vineyards and Beaune...
Ranked #1 of 15 Food & Drink in Dijon
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: ENJOY THE AUTHENTIC BURGUNDY Authentica is a boutique Burgundy wine tours organizer located in Dijon and Beaune. Join local experts to share a day trip from Paris (1 h 1/2 by TGV train) or a longer break, our tours are rated #1 on Tripadvisor. Our tours are for anyone who enjoys the French “Art de Vivre” and wine, both connoisseurs and beginners. Explore unique heritage, picturesque scenery, great cuisine and renowned vineyards with your friendly host : winemaker, sommelier or experienced professional. Daily tours and wine tasting tours are limited to 8 people. Or, to discover Burgundy in the most exclusive way, why not experience a private program? Customized transport/transfers or car with private driver on demand. Treat yourself to the best. Nicolas & Emmanuel - Creators of Authentica
Greensboro, North Carolina
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“A Wonderful Day in Burgundy”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 30, 2013

Four of us took the Passion Tour, which lasted about 7 hours, on a beautiful day in September, right before the harvest began. Our guide, Stephen, was very knowledgeable about wine and the history of the region. He communicated a lot of information in a friendly, entertaining manner. He is English, but has lived in France for many years. We enjoyed the morning tasting at a small family-owned vineyard and the afternoon tasting at a larger facility. There was a good variety of wines. The fact the van only holds eight passengers was a real plus, as we could easily hear what Stephen had to say and we could ask questions. We very much enjoyed our time in Beaune and while there toured Les Hospice de Beaune, which was very interesting. I highly recommend this tour. It was not inexpensive, but I think we got much more out of the experience than if we had tried to tour vineyards on our own. It was worth what it cost.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank JoeS1974
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Authentica_Team, Equipe Authentica at Authentica Tours, responded to this review, July 4, 2014
Bonjour Joseph,
Thank you for your kind comment. September is indeed an exciting time to visit Burgundy as there is lots of action going on in the vineyards with the harvest taking place.
I’m thrilled you enjoyed the Passion tour. With all of our tours we aim to ensure a variety of wines and the bonus with the Passion tour is that you can experience wines from the Côte de Nuits and the Côte de Beaune, including the renowned Premiers Crus and Grands Crus.
Please pass my regards on to Suzan, Jens & Mary. See you here or in Florida ;)


Stephen – French wine consultant for Authentica
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

482 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    439
    34
    6
    3
    0
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
San Diego, California
Level Contributor
57 reviews
14 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
“Great tour”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 3, 2013

All the reviews are correct this company does a great job, they are very good and you learn from them. If I have a regret is that we did not stay in the area for 2 or 3 days...it is a lovely area and touring with this company for a full day or more would have been great..next time..

Thanks Stevie! great job..enjoy your winter in Beaune!

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank ZEBRAQUEEN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Palo Alto, California
Level Contributor
27 reviews
18 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
“Earns its near universal 5 star rating”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 3, 2013

Wow, I'm glad I booked this. On a last minute whim booked their "Passion" full day tour and tasting and loved it. Our guide Ivan was a true local who actually has spent time working for a winery and knows his stuff.

We visited several towns and vineyards, taking the time to walk out to the vines and see actually people working the fields. Our guide explained to us mountains of information regarding the terroirs and how subtle changes affect the wines, as well as bits of local history and just interesting facts.

Of course the highlight was the tastings. We got to sample a wide range of wines of different qualities, including Premier and Grand Crus. When tasting we had our own private section and got to spend time really enjoying the wines presented to us.

Well worth the time and money spent. Heck, in hindsight I even wish I gave our guide a bigger tip!

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Jonathan N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Authentica_Team, Equipe at Authentica Tours, responded to this review, June 27, 2014
Bonjour Jonathan, bonjour Lillian,

Many thanks for your message. When it comes from Napa –the Californian wines Mecca-, it’s even better! ;)
I hope you enjoyed the rest of your holiday in Nice. Perhaps it was slightly warmer there compared to Burgundy in October…!?
I’m delighted you had a great time on the Passion tour and appreciated all of the aspects you were able to learn about our region and our wines..
On the Passion tour we always guarantee tasting Premier Cru (10% of the region’s production) and Grand Cru wines (less than 2%…).. It would be a shame to come all this way and to not be able to taste such spectacular wines!
Thanks again for the tip, it’s never an obligation but always very appreciated when our clients feel it’s deserved.

Merci et à bientôt.
Ivan – winemaker for Authentica
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Queenstown, Australia
Level Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Charm half day tour”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 11, 2013

What a great experience! I learnt so much about the Burgundy region wines. The tasting was amazing with some top quality wines (I think it's hard to find a bad wine out here). our guide was very knowledgeable and enthusiastic about the region, also working in the industry when not taking tours. The small group fitted comfortably in the minibus. If you are thinking about doing a wine tour from Dijon, choose Authentica Tours.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank Keith_from_OZ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
17 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Charming Burgundy”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 4, 2013

Glad that we booked the had charm tour for Burgundy. The little villages are so charming and there is no other way to better understand the concept of terrior than going there and seeing it in your own eyes. The tour is educational and we get to try some of the best wines (Grand Cru) in the region. Definitely worth sparing a day for it if you stay in the area. Only negative thing I would say is they should really try to get the same language speaking guests in one group. Our group has 6 English speaking (1 of which can speak a little French) and 2 French speaking guests. The tour guide had to do the tour and answer questions in 2 languages. For me this means that half of the time I had no clue what's going on.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank XXPhoebeXX
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Authentica Tours also viewed

 

Been to Authentica Tours? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing