We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good value lunch, great wine”
Review of Le Pre aux Clercs

Le Pre aux Clercs
Ranked #46 of 587 Restaurants in Dijon
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $39 - $106
Cuisines: French
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Reservations
Aarhus, Denmark
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Good value lunch, great wine”
Reviewed July 3, 2014

My girlfriend and i tried the lunch menu for just 32 euros yesterday, and it was a very good experience, but nothing extraordinary. The food was excellent, especially for the price, and it was very cozy sitting right at the Liberty square (and still feeling private).
Noteworthy comments:
The wine was great, and very cheap! (5-7e per glass)
Very friendly staff, but their English wasn't the best

Would visit again!

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Karsten L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

278 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    149
    74
    33
    18
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Stockport, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
17 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“A real treat”
Reviewed June 12, 2014 via mobile

Superb food. Diner 57Euros, wine from low 20s.

Each corse carefully presented, using both traditional and novel ingredients, e.g. An amuse bouche of crime caramel with sage.

The best rabbit I've had in years.

Thoughtful and helpful service. Happy to make great recommendations from the lower end of the wine list.

All round memorable

Brefniboy

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Brefniboy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Global
Level Contributor
130 reviews
58 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“High expectations not fulfilled”
Reviewed May 31, 2014

We were absolutely pleased with the staff and the overall setting and decoration of the establishment. Being European food lovers and having quite some experience in fine cuisine, the place did not live up to our expectations. We choose the menu of 60 Euro pp, excl drinks ... do take into consideration that you need to add up another >100 Euro per bottle if you look to match the food with a nice bottle of wine. The plates are nicely presented and there is a daring touch of originality in the use of ingredients. The starter (foie gras de canard with cherries) as well as main course (rouget or medaillon de veau) were simply not fine enough ... ie. starter was overwhelmingly sweet with the cherries (right balance cherry vs foie gras) whereas the fish as main course or even the medaillon of veau was too "ordinary". So, all in all, to spend ~700 Euro with 6 people, we would consider another place going forward.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank MBFN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
57 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“FANTASTIC FROM ENTREE TO DESSERT”
Reviewed May 19, 2014

An outstanding meal with service to match, innovative, fresh, artistic, layers of flavours, cannot speak highly enough of the team here, the wait staff were great, put up and encouraged our lousy French and smiled all the time whcih made for a very relaxed dinner. Had a fixed price meal and was also served 3 amuse bouche. Desserts to die for

They obviously all enjoy what they do. Met the Chef de Cusine on the way out and shook his hand, if there are better restaurants in Dijon I will eat my hat! (with a nice Bernaise sauce of course!)

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Notrodborefield
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Katonah, New York
Level Contributor
28 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Fresh, innovative, sumptuous”
Reviewed May 12, 2014

Dijon is well known for food (MFK Fisher's chronicle is one of my favorites) and Le Pre aux Clercs does not dissappoint. We were lovingly accommodated with our own dining room (with eight kids in tow!) for an Easter brunch. We were professionally served a sumptous Easter 'menu' to remember. Definitely worth the drive for Jean-Pierre Billoux's creations paired with local wines.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank DebbraVerard
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Le Pre aux Clercs also viewed

 

Been to Le Pre aux Clercs? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing