We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“I should've read the reviews before coming here” 1 of 5 bubbles
Review of Le Pre aux Clercs

Le Pre aux Clercs
Reserve with
Le Pre aux Clercs is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #41 of 578 Restaurants in Dijon
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $38 - $103
Cuisines: French
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Business meetings, Special occasions, Local cuisine, Scenic view, Families with children
Dining options: Late Night, Dinner, Lunch, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Hong Kong, China
Level Contributor
13 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“I should've read the reviews before coming here”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 2, 2012

It was our first night in Dijon and we found this restaurant using the guide that was given to us at the tourism office. It was close to our hotel and it had a michelin star, so we thought it was a safe choice. We couldn't be more wrong.

We went there on a tuesday evening without reservations, but we got a table anyway. There were only three tables for the whole night. I should've sensed that something was wrong, but i stayed positive and looked forward to our dinner. We chose the most expensive degustation menu (it was about 110EUR if i remember correctly) and ordered another two bottles of wine. It was our first fine dining experience in Dijon and we had high expectations.

Our dinner started with some uninteresting amuse bouche, followed by a fois gras in consomme. The previous reviewer was right: it tasted like a bucket of salt had been poured into the dish! I tried to be polite and finished the dish the best i could, but when our server asked us about the food, i told him that it was a bit too salty for my taste. The next dish was even worse: sea urchin in mushroom soup, with a raw egg at the bottom of the bowl. Again, another bucket of salt. i was only able to take two spoonfuls before i had to down another glass of water. This time, the server rather offended, asked if there was a problem with the dish. I tried to be polite and told them that it was too salty for my taste, and straight away he blamed it on the sea urchin! I've eaten many different types of sea urchin and my palate is experienced enough to know that the little piece of sea urchin could not have caused all that saltiness in the dish! The thing is, if you feel so strongly about your dishes, then don't bother asking how i feel about it.

Our meal ended up being well over 300EUR and it was way overpriced and wasn't worth it. For that price i expect a lot more from their food and service. Needless to say, i will never return to this restaurant and i don't recommend it to anyone.

  • Visited April 2012
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
6 Thank coolblue22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

276 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    149
    72
    33
    18
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
los angeles,ca
Level Contributor
343 reviews
200 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 193 helpful votes
“If you want a starred restaurant, don't go to this one.”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 21, 2011

We were greeted in a rather curt fashion and shown to our table, which was outdoors and offered a fine view of the Palais and the big square. The waiter took our order and recommended some wine. So far ,so good. However, we barely saw him after that. The service was impersonal and indifferent. Locals, it seemed were greeted warmly and treated quite well.When we received our food , we both were disgusted. It was as if they dumped a container of salt on all the plates,other than dessert, which we did not order. This was an altogether bad experience. Our previous night's meal was outstanding at,Stephane Derbord.

  • Visited September 2011
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
4 Thank mflickermd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape Town, South Africa
Level Contributor
342 reviews
200 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 115 helpful votes
“Beautiful location. Food good. Lunch time menu more affordable”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 16, 2011

Choose lunch rather.Dinner menu quite pricey...it is a Michellin star restaurant!

  • Visited August 2011
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Sue53_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sittard
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Excellent”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 1, 2010

location is perfect, the food was excellent, service very attentive ,,, being a starrestaurant it is a bit pricy ,,,, but they need a lot of stafff, ,I saw a whole group of them in the morning outisde for the cigarettebreak .... but the menu at midday is affordable,and yet one gets treated like a VIP ..... ...and they recently opened a brasserie next door too .

    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Yollanda
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Essex
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Tourists beware of the michelin star”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 16, 2010

Attracted by the Michelin Star we booked a table for two in early April 2010. All seemed well at first and we both plumped for the 49 Euros menu. The staff seemed friendly enough however the amuse bouche was disappointingly bitter tasting. Undaunted we were determined to enjoy our most expensive meal of the week however my wife's starter, when it eventually came after a long delay, was very dull. Our main courses were reasonable however the cheese was wheeled over as soon as we had finished as if they were now in a hurry. We were still eating the small pre-dessert taster when they were literally moved to one side by the waiter when desserts arrived, accompanied by some chocolates and pastries that we would expect to eat with coffee - there was suddenly far too much on the table and it was obvious they wanted to close up given how empty the place was. Also, our wine was out of reach and we had to wait too long for our glasses to be topped up (we would otherwise happily have done it ourselves but it seemed to be their way of doing things).

Our main waiter chatted for at least 10 minutes with the other remaining table and was not present to find our coats when we went to leave.

We were left with a very bitter taste after what should have been a holiday highlight and had a strong impression that they assumed tourists were not worth pulling out all the stops for.

    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
3 Thank sl0ney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Le Pre aux Clercs also viewed

 

Been to Le Pre aux Clercs? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing