We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Really good hotel in a central situation!!!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Hotel Le Chambellan
Ranked #40 of 59 Hotels in Dijon
Reviewed July 29, 2014

We´ve stayed there the first, but in any case not the last time!!! Really good hotel with comfortable and rooms and friendly personal. Always we´d got the feeling that we are welcome. It´s situated in the city center. Breakfast is recommendable!!!

  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Nicole R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (159)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

18 - 24 of 159 reviews

Reviewed June 16, 2014

We stayed at Chambellan at the start of a tour through Burgundy and this small hotel was a good place to stay. It was within walking distance of all the main sites of interest in the town. Our room was clean and comfortable and we were served a very good buffet breakfast. On our first night it was quite hard to sleep because of a lot of noise outside - hardly the fault of the hotel - but it was not easy to keep the windows and shutters closed because of the heat. The young woman at reception was very friendly and helpfu.

  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Anne W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 12, 2014

You can tell that this framework house was built at a time when every inch more that you owned along the roadside meant a considerable raise in your taxes, so that most of the house is concealed in the back part where narrow staircases lead you to rooms where the beams that support the ceiling and the walls may stand in the middle of the room.
You can breathe local history in this hotel, but still the rooms are decent and the bathroom facilities are modern and approprate. The international atmoshere of Le Chambellan is not due to the location or the luxurious design but due to its charme that obviously attracts people from all over the world who like to sit together in the tiny courtyard or at the small tables in the breakfast room where a good value-for-money breakfast (6 Euro) is served.
The location of the hotel closest to all the attractions and to wonderful bistrots,cafes and restaurants is unbeatable. We loved the place.

  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ventus_9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 9, 2014

This is an ok hotel in the centre of Dijon. A place to sleep rather than a place to relax. Very old character building with rooms facing the courtyard-hence each other.

Biggest problem is the parking, has no car park, unless its the weekend and you can park on the streets for free.

Also do not rely on sat nav - one way systems make this hotel almost impossible to find.

  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Alp S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 14, 2014

I booked this hotel in the late evening of a Saturday and didn't expect much of it. However, it turned out to be a lovely little hotel. Location was good, it was clean and staff was very nice. Breakfast wasn't included and a little pricey so I passed but I would still recommend.

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank elzorrro
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 26, 2014

We stayed here on a stopover on our way to the alps, with our 3 children. It was great to all be able to sleep in one room. We had one double bed,a single and a bunk bed. We parked right outside the hotel, where there is metered parking although you don't need to pay in the evening. It's a quick walk to some lovely old streets and the market square which is full of restaurants. The shower was one of the best we've had in a small hotel. My only reservation is that I was bitten several times and I think it must have been bed bugs. I didn't mention it at the time because I wasn't sure, but with a little hindsight I'm fairly convinced that's what it was. That aside it's a great little hotel.

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank CavMcDs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 10, 2014

This is a little hotel in an old building with all the character that brings. Prepare for sloping floors & ceilings, stairs, and real keys. Stayed in small room with the basics and a mix of old and newer furnishings; it had new flooring, a comfy bed, and a small, slightly weathered-looking but private bathroom which was in need of a new door handle. The desk staff was friendly and check-in/out and billing was easy.

There is only street parking, and the nearest spot can be blocks away. On the plus side, it is about a 3 minute walk to Rue de la Liberté, the main street in Dijon's old city filled with historic buildings and lots of shopping.

Might have otherwise rated the reasonable accommodations as average, however the low price and great location made this a good value.

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ChrisM_from_Canada
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Dijon hotels
0.1 mi away
Hotel Le Jacquemart
Hotel Le Jacquemart
#26 of 59 in Dijon
295 reviews
0.4 mi away
B&B Hotel Dijon Centre
B&B Hotel Dijon Centre
#28 of 59 in Dijon
254 reviews
0.3 mi away
No photo provided
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Hotel des Ducs
Hotel des Ducs
#9 of 59 in Dijon
687 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Du Palais
Hotel Du Palais
#27 of 59 in Dijon
233 reviews
0.4 mi away
Ibis Styles Dijon Central
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Le Chambellan? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Le Chambellan

Address: 92 rue Vannerie, 21000, Dijon, France
Location: France > Bourgogne-Franche-Comte > Cote d'Or > Dijon
Amenities:
Spa
Hotel Style:
Ranked #40 of 59 Hotels in Dijon
Price Range: $52 - $103 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel Le Chambellan 2*
Number of rooms: 23
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotwire and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Hotel Le Chambellan reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing