We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Five for the value/comfort ratio”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Hotel Le Griffon d'Or
Ranked #1 of 9 Hotels in Bourg-en-Bresse
Certificate of Excellence
London, UK
Level 6 Contributor
330 reviews
146 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 249 helpful votes
“Five for the value/comfort ratio”
Reviewed October 19, 2013

It's the usual five star/four star dilemma. The Griffon d'Or is not a luxury hotel with extensive grounds and grand public areas, a Michelin-starred restaurant and Bulgari toiletries in the bathroom, but I'm going to give it five stars anyway.

You can guess the reasons if you read the other reviews. Bourg-en-Bresse, pleasant though it is, is not a town crammed with startling things to see, and once you've got past the huge metal chicken at the motorway service station a few miles north it all looks a bit ordinary. From outside the Griffon d'Or doesn't stop you dead in your tracks with wonder. Once you find the entrance, however, the pleasant surprises begin. It is an elegant conversion, and the rooms are clean and light and comfortable, with imaginative use made of old beams. The bathrooms are well-equipped. The staff could not be more helpful; they went out of their way to consider which restaurant in town might cater for our daughter's food allergies, and rang ahead to make a reservation for us (they got it right, too, and she was able to eat poulet de Bresse on its home ground, so to speak). And all this for not a lot more than we paid for far less well-appointed places with half the character elsewhere on our trip. The only gripe that we had was that they didn't keep the breakfast buffet stocked as quickly as they might have done, but I'm not going to knock a star off for that.

The hotel has not always been called the Griffon d'Or, but the owners have clearly read the Harry Potter books, and know a niche in the market when they see one.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ian C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
francoisandre, Propriétaire at Hotel Le Griffon d'Or, responded to this review, October 23, 2013
Good morning,
a very nice message to read. An original one. Thank you.
When we have a look on your reviews, we see you don't easily give the best mark. So we're proud to be among 5 stars. I'm even happier because my wife and i were not here (but we heard about you) and my staff did the job more than very properly. A new opportunity for me to thank my team : Véronique, Marie-Christine, Isidora, Marie, and welcome to Sylvie, with us for 3 weeks, and good luck to Grégory.
To answer on Harry Potter niche, you're right. We know what we did. But the hotel was already called Hôtel le Griffon d'or, in the19th century ! Then the name has been changed into Hotel des Négociants. When we bought the Hôtel des Négociants 3 years ago, it was necessary to change name, because it was too basic. And it was easy to find a new one.
Hope see you again

François André
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

296 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    255
    36
    4
    0
    1
See reviews for
36
162
9
52
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
California
Level 5 Contributor
59 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
Reviewed September 30, 2013

A good location for a night's stop if you are landing at or taking off from at Lyon and are driving (just under an hour). Center of town with everything within walking distance (google says 14 mins walk to the Monastere de Brou, it took us less than 10). Good parking in the hotel courtyard. Pay attention to the driving directions that get you there. Would stay there again.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mdot1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
francoisandre, Propriétaire at Hotel Le Griffon d'Or, responded to this review, October 22, 2013
Good morning,
thank you for you comment about us. We are glad you enjoyed your stay.
We hope see you again too.
Best regards

François André
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, Alabama
Level 6 Contributor
170 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 116 helpful votes
Reviewed September 25, 2013 via mobile

Just left a two night stay disappointed my plans would not let me extend the stay. We had room 1 facing a trellised courtyard, away from the noise of the street. The bed linens were crisp and clean, the bed comfortable, the furnishings minimal but more than adequate, the shower head delivered plenty of hot water and significant pressure. The hotel has free onsite secured parking steps away from the entrance and elevator. We had free fast, really fast wifi, a safe, a small refrigerator stocked with wine, beer, etc., and a flat screen tv. The hotel is one block from the city center which has many traffic free walking streets and shops and restaurants galore. The owner Mr. Andre helped with travel directions, restaurant reservations, and everything else we asked for. I could and do highly recommend this hotel and this city.

Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank JMG44
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
francoisandre, Propriétaire at Hotel Le Griffon d'Or, responded to this review, October 22, 2013
Good morning,
It's always a pleasure to read good things about our house. Room n°1 is very appreciated indeed. Colours are warm, the furniture is a gift from former owners we did restore. I dont think you forgot something in the equipement of the room...
thank you very much for your review.
Best regards.

François André
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed September 12, 2013 via mobile

After the hotel experience on our last visit to the town we approached the Griffon d'Or with a bit of trepidation but what a surprise we got, A fabulous boutique hotel great rooms very friendly owners and staff superb breakfast, excellent facilities and safe parking what more could you ask. Give it a go next time you are in the area.

Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Malcolm C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
francoisandre, Propriétaire at Hotel Le Griffon d'Or, responded to this review, October 22, 2013
Dear Sir,
thank you very much for your compliment about the hotel. We are proud to be able to do our work, make your stay a great moment.
Hope see you again.

François André
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lancashire
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed August 9, 2013

We stayed here one night as an alternative stopover point en route to Italy and we were extremely pleased with the choice. The hotel itself occupies a corner plot on two streets and successfully marries together several buildings and a stable block into a really classy, Tardis like facility, despite the relatively ordinary facade.

Finding the car park entrance was fun, not least as both streets on to which the hotel faces are one way and very small. Despite the signs on the surrounding roads pointing in the right direction, it really is blink and you'll miss it. After having gone round the block once, our rule of thumb was that the entrance to the car park is just before the sign for the Best Western hotel affixed to the back of that building on the opposite side of the road. The directions will make sense when you get there! Once inside, a large courtyard opened up with an abundance of space for cars. A stroll through a lovely shaded courtyard past an old stable block and smart tables and chairs for drinks, led to reception. The owner appears to live on site above the stables and appeared immediately. The superior room we had faced inwards over the courtyard and was quirky, classy, quiet and cool. Whilst there was a lift, the staircase was effectively a glass encased space between what had been the external walls of the buildings. On the first floor there was even a snooker table which looked like a Gentleman's club. Odd, but it felt in keeping.

Bourg itself is a pleasant enough town with a few sights to detain you for the afternoon. Plenty of restaurants and pavement bars dotted the place although the previous correspondent was right. If you go on a Monday, the bars close at 7pm by and large, as do most, but not all, of the restaurants. Other than that, we'll be adding this one to our list. I suggest others do as well.

Room Tip: Superior rooms seem to face inwards. The others face a road and a small locals' bar, but neithe...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Lancashirelad1964
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
francoisandre, Propriétaire at Hotel Le Griffon d'Or, responded to this review, September 6, 2013
Dear Madam, Sir,
thank you very much for your comment about our hotel. We are happy you enjoyed your stay.
Thank you for your piece of advice about the park entrance. It's true it's not easy to find us so thank you for your patience ad for your navigation system experience !
We hope see you again.

Best regards

François André
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Indianapolis
Level 4 Contributor
44 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed August 7, 2013

We stayed 3 nights in this fabulous little hotel in Bourg en Bresse. It was chosen by our French friends as we were staying near their family. They couldn't have chosen a better place. The hotel is conveniently located in the middle of this charming small town near Lyon. The owners live on premises and that insures that everything runs smoothly. There are only 17 rooms and they vary in size and furnishings. The entire property is immaculate and the staff is very helpful. Parking right outside the front door. Great lounge, TV room, Hot tub, Spa. Breakfast outside or inside. Handicapped accessible. I can't say enough good things about this place or about Francoise and Aurelia the owners. The town is quite nice and has a beautiful church and Monastery. Plenty of good restaurants in walking distance. We visited during a hot July, the air conditioning was a true blessing. I understand that the location is also close to skiing in the winter. The price was less than I expected and was well worth the money.

Room Tip: We had a small room (#12) on the top floor. Bigger rooms with sitting areas are also available.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank K-boy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
francoisandre, Directeur général at Hotel Le Griffon d'Or, responded to this review, September 6, 2013
Good evening Madam, Sir,
thank you for your comment on TA.
It was a real pleasure to discuss with you. And we are sure very proud you enjoyed your stay. Step by step we will be known in different part of the world. Indianapolis is a new target !
We were very happy when we received the book you talked about and be sure we'ill visit you if one day we want to discover middle part of United States.
We hope we'll meet again.

Best regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
stourbridge
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed August 4, 2013

We stayed here in June 2013, it was a stop off after driving through Italy en route back to the uk. The service here was outstanding and very friendly, all my anxieties about my appalling french were allayed upon check in. There is a wonderful little spa and a comfortable communal area with a pool table which was great fun. The rooms were comfortable and quiet. The buffet breakfast was very good quality too. All in all highly recommended!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank guy e
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
francoisandre, Propriétaire at Hotel Le Griffon d'Or, responded to this review, September 6, 2013
Good evening Sir,
thank you for your review. It's always a pleasure to read that people enjoyed our hotel.
Best regards
François André
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bourg-en-Bresse
0.1 mi away
Best Western Hotel De France
Best Western Hotel De France
#5 of 9 in Bourg-en-Bresse
286 reviews
0.7 mi away
Hotel Mercure Bourg En Bresse
Hotel Mercure Bourg En Bresse
#2 of 9 in Bourg-en-Bresse
381 reviews
0.5 mi away
Le Logis de Brou
Le Logis de Brou
#4 of 9 in Bourg-en-Bresse
121 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
11.5 mi away
Georges Blanc Parc & Spa
0.6 mi away
Ibis Bourg en Bresse Hotel
Ibis Bourg en Bresse Hotel
#3 of 9 in Bourg-en-Bresse
122 reviews
0.3 mi away
Ibis Styles Bourg en Bresse
Ibis Styles Bourg en Bresse
#6 of 9 in Bourg-en-Bresse
350 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Le Griffon d'Or? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Le Griffon d'Or

Property: Hotel Le Griffon d'Or
Address: 10 rue du 4 Septembre, 01000, Bourg-en-Bresse, France
Location: France > Auvergne-Rhone-Alpes > Ain > Bourg-en-Bresse
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 9 Hotels in Bourg-en-Bresse
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Le Griffon d'Or 3*
Number of rooms: 17
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
17 Rooms hotel, in the heart of Bourg-en-Bresse. Totally renovated in 2011, each room is different. Free parking, locked garage. Free jacuzzi and sauna. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Hotel Le Griffon d'Or reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing