We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent location, value, car parking, bicycle room, free wifi and service”
Review of Hotel de la Cloche

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Hotel de la Cloche
Ranked #37 of 62 Hotels in Beaune
Reviewed September 24, 2012 via mobile

We stayed here 16 - 22 September 2012 in room 9. Etienne at the front desk was a pleasure to deal with, always helpful and smiling. Our room was quiet and clean. We did not have a car and hired bicycles which were locked up in their ground floor room near the carpark. Supermarket (petit casino) and boulangeries are virtually next door. Great restaurants are down the street.

  • Stayed: September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ACCLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (329)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

125 - 131 of 329 reviews

Reviewed September 24, 2012

In short: Good location with hotel parking and public parking right in front. You will have to carry your suitcases to the room - there is no elevator and it's a bit tight in the hallways, but if still fit - one can manage. Beds were pretty bad - the mattress was thin and had no support. Rooms clean with modern washrooms and the service was very friendly.

The details: Arriving after a long drive - we were glad we could park right at the hotel and just wheel our suitcases in. The staff was very welcoming and we got a nice room two long stair flights up. The room had well working air-conditioning, a roof window, which my wife told me to keep close so cats and birds don't get in. Where I would have enjoyed the extra adventure :-). The bathroom was very modern, spotlessly clean and we even had an Internet connection that worked more-or-less. Breakfast we felt was just a bit "generic" but it was not bad. The location is good because of the availability of parking and the city centre is all within walking distance. Would we go back there? Maybe not next time - because we really didn't sleep well. But at some later point, yes - we would try it again. And I can't comment on the other rooms in terms of sleeping comfort, we didn't see them - so maybe it was just our room that needed a mattress update.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BergenRoland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 20, 2012

If you're looking into this hotel, no doubt it's occurred to you that it's the cheapest non-gross thing in town, and you are correct. A few things about this place are a little dumb: the concierge/front desk is left empty most of the time, leaving you to be greeted upon arrival by a chair and a desk, and the internet connection drops in and out like it's piloted by a free 120 hour AOL cd. But other than that, there is really nothing to complain about. Clean bedding, fresh towels, completely absurd quantities of hot shower water, and bizarro archictecture featuring massive slabs of raw and gnarled wood serving as support beams against seemingly ad hoc structural angles. Our room had one of those cool A-frame walls that comes in at a 45 degree angle and featured a cockeyed skylight which proudly displayed a steeple and a load of rich blue sky. Alright!

If you've ever stayed in a place for $85/night, you know that all kinds of Twilight Zone things are want to take place. This place is blissfully devoid of bugs, crazy people, bloody sheets, smells which give rise to a frightened imagination, any of that stuff. Totally legit!

Beaune is a town full of old winos, tourists, and virtually nothing to do except drink really expensive wine amidst Borgesian architecture, but if that sounds like your thing, you could hardly do better than Hotel de la Cloche for a cheap spin through wine country. Oh, and renting bikes for a tour through a vast ocean of rolling vineyards is certified awesome.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Gavin P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 16, 2012

We stayed here for two days and had a large room with a patio at the rear of the hotel, it was a very large room and typically french. It was very clean and also very quiet and peaceful. The owners spoke French and were charming. We were unsure about having the breakfast but glad we did, it is a lovely breakfast room with white tablecloths and wonderful service by a French couple who were delightful. The coffee was superb. You are in the centre of Beaune and we could not have chosen a better hotel

Room Tip: Choose the larger rooms at the back of the hotel that overlook the garden
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ben2008_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 14, 2012

I,ve stayed there in September 2012.It's quite near the train station and just 3 minutes walking from the historic center.Some good restaurants at the same street,and a delicious boulangerie 3 shops ahead.
The room was big.The decor a little old fashioned but the bed was very comfy.Everything was very clean.bathroom OK.
Doesn't have elevator so with big luggage is not so easy to go to the 3rd floor.
Staff was helpful.
has its own car Parking and in front of te hotel is a large free car Parking also.
I could easilly come back to this hotel

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mariana O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 5, 2012

This hotel is pretty basic, but the receptionist is friendly and helpful, it is in a good position and has it's own car park. It is five minutes from the main square where there are a lot of restaurants.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Onefourall
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 13, 2012

I stayed here in July 2012 for 2 nights with my husband, his parents and our 12-year-old daughter. His parents stayed in a lovely room out back with their own little garden area which they loved, for 102 euros per night and we had a family room (one large bed and two twins) on the second floor of the main building for 144 euros per night. Parking was 4.50 euros but convenient and reasonable. Breakfast was (we felt) expensive at 9.70 euros per person so we chose to walk the 5-10 mins to the town square and eat for 4.50 euros per person. The rooms were lovely and clean with very nice bathrooms and they were completely sound-proofed which was especially wonderful since the family room fronted onto a main road.

We could not have asked for a better location or hotel and the staff were very friendly and helpful.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jrbb0309
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Beaune hotels
0.1 mi away
Hotel au Grand Saint Jean
0.4 mi away
Hotel Belle Epoque
Hotel Belle Epoque
#16 of 62 in Beaune
486 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Athanor
Hotel Athanor
#47 of 62 in Beaune
295 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Hotel de la Paix
Hotel de la Paix
#28 of 62 in Beaune
469 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel de la Poste
Hotel de la Poste
#22 of 62 in Beaune
515 reviews
2.0 mi away
Hotel le Clos
Hotel le Clos
#1 of 4 in Montagny-les-Beaune
328 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel de la Cloche? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel de la Cloche

Address: 42 rue du Faubourg Madeleine, 21200, Beaune, France
Location: France > Bourgogne-Franche-Comte > Cote d'Or > Beaune
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #37 of 62 Hotels in Beaune
Price Range: $94 - $165 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel de la Cloche 3*
Number of rooms: 33
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
L'Hotel de la Cloche is a beautiful mansion located in the charming buildings of a former coaching inn from the 16th century with a lovely garden. Only a three minute walk away from the town centre we are glad to welcome you in this old residence with historical caracter. The peaceful setting, the quality of welcome and the many tourist sites will make up a very pleasant memory of your stay. The warm and family atmosphere of our hotel will charm you. The whole team of the Hotel de la Cloche wishes you a good stay in Beaune ! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Hotwire and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Hotel de la Cloche reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing