We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic stay at Beaune”
Review of Hotel Grillon

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Beaune
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Hotel Grillon
Ranked #5 of 62 Hotels in Beaune
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed August 16, 2012

We have stayes at Hotel Grillon for more than 30 years because we liked to spend a night in a very nice and quiet hotel after our long journey from and to the côte d'Azur. We were never disapointed.
The rooms are clean and we loved the breakfast. The receptionist (the owner) is always friendly and helpfull. There aren't any campers, any noise or picnickers and diert. We were there many times with our poodle Robert. Rob liked the Grillan as we do.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank yves_tondelier
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (292)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

61 - 67 of 292 reviews

Reviewed August 14, 2012

Stayed for 3 nights in a junior suite which was clean and comfortable (sitting area was a sofa bed and room looked like it could easily be converted to a room for 4). Spotlessly clean, good aircon and free wifi. Breakfast was extra (10 euro?) but really good value - breads, meats, cheeses, eggs, fruit, yoghurt, jams etc., all very fresh and yummy - and served either outside or in the conservatory. Lovely grounds, nice swimming pool with sunbeds and lots of parking. The Grillons were a lovely couple and really made us feel welcome! Only negative is that it is a good 15 mins walk to the town centre and a little further to the Hospices. There is a pizza place and bar/restaurant (the cul de sac) about 200 yds away. We didn't try the pizza but the bar has a huge range of beers and is reasonable priced. Food was ok but nothing special.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank coffeepot11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 9, 2012

We read trip advisor reviews. We arrived, the staff were OK but nothing unexpected. We had been travelling for 4 weeks already and couldn't bear the thought of walking back into town for another heavy meal so we went to the supermarket to buy some fresh food to picnic in the garden. There are a number of table and chairs in the garden of this hotel at which we thought would be nice to picnic. My husband first asked for wine glasses but was quickly told that he could not use any unless he bought wine fom the hotel. We sat in the garden and started our meal in the lovely European twilight and were approached and told picnics were NOT allowed in the garden. This left us questioning what the tables were for. We noticed it was a pet friendly hotel and then saw a couple bring their dog to the garden beside the picnic tables and they sat at a table and watched it defecate without cleaning it up .So we guess that's allowed and a quiet drink with snacks is not. The pool closed at 8 pm so we were unable to use it after a long day as some other reviewer recommended. The rooms are ok. The price is ok but if you want to enjoy the surrounds stay elsewhere.

Stayed: August 2012
4  Thank mattjennkeys
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 11, 2012

Slept at the Hotel Grillon for one night only, but really enjoyed the swimming pool after a long day of drivibg by car from the Netherlands to the south of France; this is an excellent place for a break.

Breakfast as well was good including coffee from a real JURA machine and we had free Wireless Internet service, even in the room (the most far away from the reception).

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Maud_van_Etten
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 10, 2012

The initial impression of the hotel was not very favourable, but as we looked at all the aspects it impressed more and more. The room was small but spotlessly clean and overlooked the pool area. The pool was very clean and most welcome after a days driving. The gardens have been imaginatively laid out with extensive use of crushed stone and slate for emphasis. The breakfast was fine and the coffee excellent. There was adequate parking. Staff were helpful and charming.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Cyril B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 19, 2012

Stayed one night in June. We have stayed in Beaune many times but this was the first time at The Grillon - it won't be the last. The room was comfortable and clean. The gardens are lovely. We would have made use of the swimming pool but it was just a bit too cold early in the season. Free parking was a bonus.

Some reviewers have mentioned the road; we had roadside rooms but were not bothered at all by noise.

We have already booked for two nights for our next trip.

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank homeward11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 1, 2012

This is our regular overnight stay when we travel south by car and for the return to London. The immaculate hotel is very well run by Mr and Mme Grillon who are also very helpful. Breakfast is excellent and good value. The rooms are being updated and the update may be complete or nearing completion. Easy to get to from the autoroute and not far either by foot or car into the town centre.

Room Tip: We have found all the rooms good. Number 19 is useful if you are accompanied by a child (put you up...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank theduck123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Beaune hotels
0.9 mi away
Hotel de Luxe le Cep
Hotel de Luxe le Cep
#3 of 62 in Beaune
867 reviews
0.9 mi away
Hostellerie Le Cedre
Hostellerie Le Cedre
#4 of 62 in Beaune
669 reviews
7 mi away
Le Montrachet
Le Montrachet
#1 of 3 in Puligny-Montrachet
470 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Chateau de Challanges
Chateau de Challanges
#14 of 62 in Beaune
375 reviews
6.9 mi away
La Maison d'Olivier Leflaive
La Maison d'Olivier Leflaive
#2 of 3 in Puligny-Montrachet
342 reviews
2.3 mi away
Ermitage de Corton
Ermitage de Corton
#1 of 1 in Chorey Les Beaune
368 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Grillon? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Grillon

Address: 21 route de Seurre, 21200, Beaune, France
Phone Number:
Location: France > Bourgogne-Franche-Comte > Cote d'Or > Beaune
Amenities:
Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Beaune
#4 Romantic Hotel in Beaune
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Grillon 3*
Number of rooms: 17
Also Known As:
Grillon Hotel Beaune

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing