We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A great little hotel in a lovely town”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Hotel de la Paix

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Hotel de la Paix
Ranked #25 of 62 Hotels in Beaune
Wrexham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
57 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“A great little hotel in a lovely town”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 2, 2013

Stayed here for 1 night - but could have stayed longer. Beaune is a lovely historic town, and this hotel is a great base for your stay. The rooms are clean and well appointed and the public areas are good. Parking is in a secure area behind the hotel for a small charge. Breakfast is very good with plenty of choice Would certainly go back

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 21Challenger
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

412 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    102
    197
    72
    23
    18
See reviews for
108
189
20
15
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (35)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Perugia
Level Contributor
152 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 17, 2013 via mobile

Stayed for one night in the Annexe which is situated above the Bourgogne (?) Restaurant. The only room available was a family room (we are a couple) so we had plenty of space, nice too that the room (room 2) has a double balcony. The bed was very comfortable but hot water had become luke warm by 7.00pm but hot again in the morning. Hotel close to centre and lots of good restaurants and ther is a big public free car park in front. Our only gripe was that I had specifically asked to have a room with good wifi reception and the wifi was not functioning at all. We should have been informed so that we would have had time to book something else, the Cedre looked good! I think we should have been offered a discount. I booked through booking.com which I usually do and the price was €106 which is usually inclusive, however when I came to pay it was €125 which surprised me. We did not have breakfast as at 14.50 each seemed steep when we could go and have exactly the same, sitting in the sun at a local cafes or less than half price. So check inclusions when booking through booking.com

  • Stayed June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jillmkp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
63 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 2, 2013

The hotel is well located (10 minutes walk from the main centre of Beaune), and the staff were lovely and helpful.

We booked the apartment for 4 people, which looked lovely on the website - modern and well presented. The photos did not lie - however, what you can't tell from the photos is that there's no privacy for either of the bathrooms!! Not ideal for 4 friends sharing the space.

It is a two bedroom apartment on the top floor up a small spiral staircase (beware if you have heavy suitcases). One double bed with a large double-sinked bathroom (with a bathtub that has a handheld shower), a separate toilet, and a twin room that has its own shower/sink. The large bathroom has no door at all. And the other room has a shower but there's nothing to shield the shower from the rest of the room. Very strange design! They could've at least put up a curtain if there isn't space for a door.

In the twin room, we had to leave the bedroom door open to cover the shower-door, just for some privacy.

The room itself was clean and beds were comfortable. Just don't book this room if you need any sort of privacy from those staying with you. I'm giving the hotel a rating of 3 out of 5 purely because of the lack of privacy for the bathrooms!

There is parking on the grounds at the back of the hotel - it costs EUR8/day (and you can come and go as many times as you like with a PIN code). We just left our car there, as the main part of town is walking distance away.

Room Tip: Don't choose the 4 person apartment if you need privacy, as the bathroom areas do not have doors...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank snow_winky
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reno, Nevada
Level Contributor
12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 6, 2013

This is an awesome small hotel for the money! We would certainly come back! Very friendly and professional staff. Really work to please the guest.
We didn't have a reservation, got in rather late afternoon. Took a chance and glad we did.
The whole place is charming! Very clean, cozy and comfortable. The beds and linens are very nice. The room is well organized and laid out. Very quiet.
The room - standard double - was excellent! Small but really well appointed lovely bathroom ( only a shower but boy is it ever nice! ) with heated towel racks. Nice attention to detail everywhere you look. We had Room 7.
They have good wi-fi service (free),and on site secured parking (free).
The place seems like it is kept up really well, and has perhaps had some regular renovation.
Great location, easy walk to all the shops and restaurants.

Room Tip: Room 7 actually overlooks the main street into town, but wasn't particularly noisy. I wouldn'...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ladybird53
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
129 reviews
50 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 4, 2013 via mobile

Granted we had not pre-booked when we arrived in Beaune and the hotel was fully booked, so we took a room in the Annexe which is located around the corner, above a restaurant, sight unseen. For one night it was fine but the Annexe is 2 star standard, a tiny bathroom and for what you pay which for us was €5 less than the hotel room, it was disappointing.

Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank sueO_RonR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 9, 2013

We stayed for a night in the beautiful city of Beaune. The location in the city was excellent, and the room was sumptuously furnished. The beds were really comfy, two doubles in our room in the annexe. The main hotel itself looked lovely, but as we booked late we stayed in the annexe, which despite the reviews, is actually really lovely. You have all of the pros of a hotel, without the noise. You feel as if you have joined the town for a night. It was quiet and the room, which was really spacious, was also really comfortable. We really liked the hotel. Beaune is a beautiful, safe place, which is very cultured and this is definitely the place to spend your holiday in.

Room Tip: Stay in the annexe.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank bearinahat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norfolk, Virginia
Level Contributor
137 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 8, 2013

The historic building is in great condition and is very well cared for. The hotel is not in the center of town, but two minutes from it with easy convenient free public parking and very quick to get in and out by car for further exploration of the wine villages. The staff is very friendly and accomodating. The internet is slow, but it works fine. I didn't try the breakfast, but the other guests seemed happy. I would stay there again if I go back. It is not the nicest hotel I have stayed in, but for the price I was pleasantly surprised and very happy with what we got and that is the reason for the rating.

Room Tip: We stayed in a standard double the first night and comfort double the second night. While there was...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank gabeha
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Beaune hotels
0.1 mi away
Hotel au Grand Saint Jean
0.5 mi away
Hotel Belle Epoque
Hotel Belle Epoque
#16 of 62 in Beaune
4.0 of 5 bubbles 435 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel de la Cloche
Hotel de la Cloche
#30 of 62 in Beaune
4.0 of 5 bubbles 295 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Hotel Des Remparts
Hotel Des Remparts
#27 of 62 in Beaune
4.0 of 5 bubbles 223 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hostellerie de Bretonniere
0.2 mi away
Ibis Styles Beaune Centre
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel de la Paix? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel de la Paix

Property: Hotel de la Paix
Address: 45 rue du Faubourg Madeleine, 21200, Beaune, France
Location: France > Bourgogne-Franche-Comte > Cote d'Or > Beaune
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #25 of 62 Hotels in Beaune
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel de la Paix 3*
Number of rooms: 28
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated in the very heart of historic Burgundy, just a stone's throw from the center of epicurean Beaune. Hotel de la Paix offers you three star comfort and service. The Hotel is minutes from Beaune's tourist sights, notably the famous Hospice de Beaune, its magnificent cathedral Notre Dame and the many intimate cobbled streets. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Hotwire, Agoda, Priceline, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel de la Paix reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
De La Paix Beaune
De La Paix Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing