We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Exceptional customer service”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hostellerie Le Cedre
Ranked #4 of 62 Hotels in Beaune
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed July 7, 2014

A relatively new hotel for Beaune which is an easy walk to the old city center. Desk staff very helpful and eager to please. Parking is 15 Euros and breakfast is 20 Euros which seems a bit excessive especially given the exchange rate for an American. Rooms have very modern decor and vary greatly. We did not eat at the restaurant so I can't comment on that. Nice bar and lounge area.

Room Tip: Check the bathroom out before committing to a specific room. Shower/tub facilities vary widely.
  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ronbo64
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hostellerielecedre, Directeur général at Hostellerie Le Cedre, responded to this reviewResponded July 18, 2014

Thank you so much for sharing your impressions. We are really happy that you enjoyed your stay and appreciated the kindness and genuine commitment of our reception staff. The reason why we take so much pleasure in making you feel comfortable lies in the fact that we just love to look after you throughout your stay!

Looking forward to welcoming you again in the near future,

Raphaël Meyer, Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (647)
There are newer reviews for Hostellerie Le Cedre
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

135 - 141 of 647 reviews

Reviewed July 6, 2014

stayed here for eight nights recently so feel like i have earned the right to review. Good and charming hotel overall. The downsides: noise from the road nearby, poor wi-fi system which keeps disconnecting every 15mins and requires you to log on and horribly designed showers which are about 6oomm square and the same size as a microwave oven. Remember to step outside the shower when you soap! Other than this, fantastic and helpful staff, excellent breakfast with the best sesame encrusted cereal baguettes i have ever eaten, good location which is not inundated with tourists as some other hotels are. Room service- so so. Good wine list from the nearby restaurant

Room Tip: stay away from the main road
  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
8  Thank Neil5757
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hostellerielecedre, Directeur général at Hostellerie Le Cedre, responded to this reviewResponded July 18, 2014

Thank you very much for taking the time of a comment. We remember you and we are happy that you appreciated the commitment and skills of all.

For being located in town, we can’t unfortunately offer you the silence of the countryside. However, our rooms are soundproof and once the rush hour is over, there is not much traffic in this small town.

Although our standard size showers are fortunately bigger than a microwave oven ;-) …please acknowledge that some of our rooms are equipped with a walk-in shower that might have suited your expectations better. For your next booking, we recommend that you contact us direct instead of reserving online in order to give us more details regarding the room and bathroom type you would like.

We are happy you enjoyed our Restaurant and buffet breakfast and sure hope to have the pleasure to welcome you again in the near future.

Raphaël Meyer, Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 10, 2014

A beautiful hotel and is within walking distance to the city centre. The service at the hotel and the restaurant was great. The room was a bit small, but comfortable and we had a view of the garden. The food was delicious, but fell a bit short of my expectations (compared to other 1* Michelin restaurants). We did have a lovely stay, overall.

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lilmstraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hostellerielecedre, Directeur général at Hostellerie Le Cedre, responded to this reviewResponded June 19, 2014

Thank you very much for taking the time of a comment. We are glad you appreciated the cozy atmosphere of our Hostellerie le Cèdre.

Each Chef has his own and very personal style, which is a way for them to sign their creation and express themselves. Diversity is an asset that allows you to taste, discover, compare, and choose according to your very personal taste.

We sure hope to have the pleasure to welcome you again in the near future.

Raphael MEYER, General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 5, 2014 via mobile

We stayed here for my husbands 40th birthday. We were upgraded from a superior room to a privilege room 111 which was lovely. A bottle of champagne was waiting in the room on our arrival. The service was great and the hotel just beautiful. It is just a short walk from the centre of Beaune and a short drive to the vineyards. The hotel has a beautiful terrace where you can eat breakfast or have an aperitif before dinner. If we come back to Beaune we will certainly return to Hotel Le Cedre and will definitely recommend it to others.

Stayed: June 2014, traveled as a couple
Thank Jennifer W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hostellerielecedre, Directeur général at Hostellerie Le Cedre, responded to this reviewResponded June 12, 2014

Thank you so much for your beautiful comment. We are so happy to have made you and your husband happy because it was our highest purpose!

Maybe next time, you will be able to enjoy dinner outside, served in the garden with candles spread all over the place, giving a romantic touch to the evening…

We will sure be looking forward to welcoming you again in the near future!

Raphaël Meyer, Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 28, 2014

Two couples stayed overnight at this Hotel mainly as an overnight stay on our travels back from the south. We also booked a meal at the Hotels Michelin 1* restaurant.The service and food was as one would expect of a 5* hotel exemplary. The Hotel is situated handily on the ring road in Beaune and has an elegant traditional air. The staff were attentive without being obvious. I would certainly stay there again

  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank John2144
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hostellerielecedre, Directeur général at Hostellerie Le Cedre, responded to this reviewResponded June 12, 2014

Thank you very much for your positive feedback and the content of your comment. We are so happy that you appreciated every moment of your stay because your well-being matters to us just as much as the quality of the service we propose to you. We indeed try to be as attentive as possible to make you be aware that we do care.

Hoping to welcome you again in the near future,

Raphaël Meyer, Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 27, 2014

Don't get me wrong, this is a fine hotel clearly selected by people with fine taste in cars (looking at their driveway) but outstanding it is not.

Prices are high at this place so let's put it into perspective: do you get what you pay for?

Staff are polite and courteous but you would expect that at a "5 star" hotel. The lobby is quite nice, the garden and outdoor area is really very nice. There is a beautiful lobby bar with a roaring fireplace in the evening, if it is cold enough. Apparently the restaurant is very good though we did not eat there.

The rooms are ok. Here's the problem... We were booked in the "basic room" for 185 EUR. Not cheap, not crazy, let's call it "above average" pricing, this is Beaune not Paris...

The first we room we were given smelled like open sewage. We couldn't believe how bad it smelled and that they would actually give this room to any guest - it the first room on the first floor.

It would not have been possible to sleep there. It was that bad.

We complained. Very accomodating the smell was acknowledged. They knew about it! What is this an olfactory test? We're told that sometimes they have a problem with that room. The new room was an upgrade (apparently at 255 EUR per night). Not that different from the 185 EUR except that it didn't smell.

Terrible value for 255 EUR. Glad we weren't paying it. Great bathroom. Fabulous as described by others on this site? Not really, unless you have a lot burgundy before checking in.

Question is this... if a room smells so bad that it cannot be used and the hotel knows it, why are they giving it to guests? Do they think we won't notice? That's just poor, poor, poor. That's 1-star service at 5-star prices!

Later that day some poor guests were seen going into the smelly room.... They should have slept in their car.

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank SODA F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hostellerielecedre, Directeur général at Hostellerie Le Cedre, responded to this reviewResponded May 3, 2014

Thank you for taking the time of a comment. We remember you and sincerely apologize again for the inconvenience when you checked in.

However, we must say though that we are very upset by the way you sum up what happened, using Trip Advisor to wrongly pay us back for something that occurred beyond our control or will. Indeed, we did not know about any smell in that room when you arrived! It is the kind of situation we would have preferred to be spared from.

We offered you an upgrade as it appears that we had a real problem that was solved later on by our technicians who immediately worked on it.

To then claim that we knew about it and purposely gave you that room, adding that the clients you saw were staying in a “stinky” room, is a ridiculous and false allegation! Promoting it on this site as true facts is nothing but injurious to us as well as to our guests. Indeed, you don’t hesitate to even put down all the guests who love our hotel, by doubting on their ability for discernment and judgment!?

This we can’t accept!

We are sorry you didn’t like the room we upgraded you in. However, it seems that whatever we would have done to please you, we would have never met your expectations anyway.

You have the right not to like our hotel, but what you did is sad.

Raphaël Meyer, Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 2, 2014

We spent 2 nights at Le Cedre last week. It was a great experience. Attentive service, great location, nicely appointed rooms and a fabulous restaurant.
Hotel was vey helpful in setting up visits to local winemakers. Would highly recommend

Stayed: March 2014, traveled with family
Thank lsd54
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hostellerielecedre, Directeur général at Hostellerie Le Cedre, responded to this reviewResponded May 3, 2014

Thank you very much for your positive and enthusiastic feedback. We really love taking care of you while staying at the Hostellerie Le Cèdre, and it is so nice to read that you appreciated every moment of your stay.

Next time you drive through Burgundy, remember that we will always warmly welcome you…

Raphaël Meyer, Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Beaune
0.3 mi away
Hotel de Luxe le Cep
Hotel de Luxe le Cep
#2 of 62 in Beaune
849 reviews
6.9 mi away
Le Montrachet
Le Montrachet
#1 of 3 in Puligny-Montrachet
456 reviews
6.8 mi away
La Maison d'Olivier Leflaive
La Maison d'Olivier Leflaive
#2 of 3 in Puligny-Montrachet
333 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Abbaye de Maizieres
Abbaye de Maizieres
#19 of 62 in Beaune
370 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel de la Poste
Hotel de la Poste
#21 of 62 in Beaune
504 reviews
3.1 mi away
Relais & Chateaux - Hostellerie de Levernois
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hostellerie Le Cedre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hostellerie Le Cedre

Address: 10 boulevard Marechal Foch, 21200, Beaune, France
Phone Number:
Location: France > Bourgogne-Franche-Comte > Cote d'Or > Beaune
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Luxury Hotel in Beaune
#7 Family Hotel in Beaune
#11 Romantic Hotel in Beaune
Price Range: $239 - $433 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Hostellerie Le Cedre 5*
Number of rooms: 40
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ideally situated in the heart of Beaune, opposite the ramparts and 5 minutes walking distance from the Hospices de Beaune, Hostellerie Le Cedre is the ideal place to discover the area.Beautiful, shaded terraces in the heart of gardens full of 100-year old trees where you can enjoy the summer season and a comfortable lounge bar with a fireplace to warm yourself when winter has arrived.Le Cedre offers you 40 rooms perfect for dreaming and relaxing. Each one is different with its own personality. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Priceline, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hostellerie Le Cedre reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hostellerie Le Cedre Beaune
Hostellerie Le Cedre Hotel Beaune

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing