We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Disappointing”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hostellerie Le Cedre
Ranked #4 of 62 Hotels in Beaune
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed September 20, 2013

I do not know how this restaurant got a michelin star but the meal we had was very disappointing. The hotel room was very tired and needed upgrading, 4star rating with 5star prices.the staff were friendly and efficient but service was slow in the bar area.convenient for walking into Beaune for breakfast as 19 Euros ahead for breakfast was ridiculous.

Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
Thank Pamela009
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hostellerielecedre, Directeur général at Hostellerie Le Cedre, responded to this reviewResponded October 9, 2013

Thank you for taking the time to share your opinion. We are sorry we couldn’t meet your expectations. However, when criticizing, please be objective enough to write that 19€ is the price per person for the full buffet breakfast, not just a cup of coffee with croissant… which indeed would be ridiculous. You are obviously not used to this type of service. So, please acknowledge that such a buffet costs up to 22€ in the area and much more in Paris or southern France.

Our guests never needed to run to town for a cup of coffee if that’s all they wish for breakfast. They just order it!

Kind regards,

Raphaël MEYER, General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (647)
There are newer reviews for Hostellerie Le Cedre
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

167 - 173 of 647 reviews

Reviewed September 18, 2013

We have stayed at this hotel for several years now. The reception is always extremely efficient and friendly ( Yveline in particular is very welcoming), Our room which we always ask for is large with a huge bed and very adequate bathroom (although I agree the shower cubicule is minute!!!!!!!!!!!!). We have had wonderful suppers , both outside when the weather has been good and in the beautiful inside dining room when the weather has been not. When we first came some years ago we found the service to be slow but latterly cannot find any fault at all. The cuisine is exquisite and to then have a coffee in the salon is perfect. We always manage to park at the front of the hotel (arriving around lunch-time) therefore for free and always appears safe and if you follow the ring-road around Beaunne it is very easy to find.

Room Tip: overlooking the garden
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank provence1951
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hostellerielecedre, Directeur général at Hostellerie Le Cedre, responded to this reviewResponded October 9, 2013

We are very grateful for the kindness of your appreciation and we sincerely thank you for taking the time to write such a nice comment.

Although we unfortunately don’t know who is hiding behind “provence 1951, the Hostellerie Le Cèdre seems to definitely be your second home and your extended family will always warmly welcome you!

Raphaël MEYER, General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 18, 2013

Excellent location and excellent staff -Underground parking was easy to access. Their food recommendations were great on 2 occasions. It may be a four star hotel but it operates like a five star - This is one great place to stay- Within walking distance of the historic downtown area - THIS A ONE GREAT PLACE TO STAY - I wish we could have stayed longer and would definitely return without hesitation.

Room Tip: Stay here you would love the spacious rooms and great staff
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank eric3210
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hostellerielecedre, Directeur général at Hostellerie Le Cedre, responded to this reviewResponded October 9, 2013

Thank you so much for your very nice and enthusiastic appreciation. Your words award the work of everyone at the Hostellerie Le Cèdre who commits every day to your well-being. We are very happy to have made your stay in Beaune be special.

Please acknowledge that our hotel got a 5* rating early 2012.

We will sure be looking forward to welcoming you again.

Raphaël MEYER, General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 16, 2013

Stayed at Le Cedre as part of a wine tasting holiday. Our package included the tasting dinner in the lovely, but formal, restaurant. Food was excellent.
Our room was large and clean but had rather gloomy décor. The shower was TINY. Neither of us is overly large but if you dropped the soap you had to almost open the door to get it!
The staff were really friendly and helpful and breakfast, on the terrace, was very good.
The hotel is really well situated - parked the car, at a cost, in the underground car park and walked everywhere in Beaune.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lynn M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hostellerielecedre, Propriétaire at Hostellerie Le Cedre, responded to this reviewResponded October 9, 2013

Thank you very much for sharing your experience at the Hostellerie Le Cèdre. We are really pleased that you enjoyed your stay.

Please do not hesitate to ask for a walk-in shower if you prefer. Our reservation staff is at your disposal to respond accordingly to your needs in order to make you feel comfortable and happy!

We sure hope to have the opportunity to welcome you again.

Raphaël MEYER, General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 13, 2013

We had a pleasant stay at this hotel which is located about five minutes from the centre.The reception staff were pleasant and helpful.The restaurant staff were not .We attempted to eat there but the staff did not appear interested in our custom waiting some considerable time before anyone took any notice.We were told you have to wait as everyone turns up to eat at eight pm. and the menu was over priced.We ate out in the centre for dinner and breakfast at much more reasonable prices.
We did not find it very easy to locate the hotel at first either, In fact we were stopped by another motorist who was also trying to find it.We did ring the hotel and they guided us there.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank carshalton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hostellerielecedre, Directeur général at Hostellerie Le Cedre, responded to this reviewResponded October 9, 2013

Thank you for taking the time of a comment.

We are pleased to know that you appreciated the comfort of the Hostellerie Le Cèdre as well as the friendliness and efficiency of our reception staff.

Your negative feedback regarding our restaurant has been discussed accordingly with our restaurant team and we are sorry to have disappointed you. Upon reservation we always make sure that our guests don’t arrive at the same time in order to avoid such a long waiting time. Unfortunately that evening, the reservation time wasn’t respected by a few parties who arrived late and in the process got the whole service to slow down.

Hoping for another chance, we would be happy to welcome you again.

Raphaël MEYER, General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 2, 2013

We have just returned from a wonderful 4 night stay in Beaune at Hostellerie Le Cedre. The hotel is very well placed and it is just a 5 minute walk into the very centre of Beaune where there are plenty of bars, restaurants and interesting shops. As it is on the ring road it is also easy to get away to the many beautiful villages in the Burgundy area. The hotel itself is very comfortable - the rooms are very French "shabby chic" and stylish. Bathrooms are pretty small but we did have a separate shower cubicle (albeit a snug one) and as is so often the case in France, a separate toilet - and everything we could have wanted was supplied. I have marked down sleep quality a little because we found that the ring road was very noisy if the window was open but closing the window stopped any noise completely. The reception is very welcoming and the bar area is a wonderfully warm and inviting place to sit and enjoy a glass of the local wine (or two), which usually came with 5 star nibbles. If the weather is good, the terrace is also very pleasant, if somewhat noisy due to the traffic. Breakfast was good value - very high quality and an extremely wide choice. Separately, I would definitely recommend the restaurant - fairly pricy but worth every cent - and their Michelin star. Overall, I would definitely recommend the Hostellerie Le Cedre to anyone I know and, when we return to Beaune, we will definitely choose to stay here.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Momac53
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hostellerielecedre, Directeur général at Hostellerie Le Cedre, responded to this reviewResponded September 17, 2013

Thank you so much for your very kind comment!

It is a great pleasure for us to acknowledge your appreciation and we are really happy to have taken part in making your stay memorable.

We sure hope to have the opportunity to welcome you again in the near future!

Raphaël MEYER, General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 1, 2013

On the positive side...hotel has a good position, serves a nice breakfast and has lovely concierge personnel. Our room was spacious and was equipped with nespresso coffee machine. Other than that decoration had no style at all, colors are not matching, furniture is cheap and overall would need significant rethinking. Restaurant was not available and same for the garage, we thougth that not having the possibility to park and eat at the hotel was a serious gap. Overall service, facilities and decoration are well far away from a 5 stars. Not sure Who gives the stars in France, but they should visit and would reconsider!

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank M B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hostellerielecedre, Directeur général at Hostellerie Le Cedre, responded to this reviewResponded September 17, 2013

Thank you for taking the time of a comment.

Well…if you are ”not sure who gives the stars in France” and more especially how, we suggest that you first get yourself informed about the current standards of the new hotel rating before expressing your frustration on the net for just having forgotten to make a garage and dinner reservation in high season…

We sincerely feel upset that you anonymously allow yourself such a comment just because you don’t want to take responsibility for your own mistake.

Please acknowledge that a booklet about the new hotel rating is available at the reception desk of every hotel where you may stay. Here lies the answer to your question.

Kind regards,

Raphaël MEYER, General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Beaune
0.3 mi away
Hotel de Luxe le Cep
Hotel de Luxe le Cep
#2 of 62 in Beaune
850 reviews
6.9 mi away
Le Montrachet
Le Montrachet
#1 of 3 in Puligny-Montrachet
456 reviews
6.8 mi away
La Maison d'Olivier Leflaive
La Maison d'Olivier Leflaive
#2 of 3 in Puligny-Montrachet
333 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Abbaye de Maizieres
Abbaye de Maizieres
#19 of 62 in Beaune
370 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel de la Poste
Hotel de la Poste
#21 of 62 in Beaune
504 reviews
3.1 mi away
Relais & Chateaux - Hostellerie de Levernois
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hostellerie Le Cedre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hostellerie Le Cedre

Address: 10 boulevard Marechal Foch, 21200, Beaune, France
Phone Number:
Location: France > Bourgogne-Franche-Comte > Cote d'Or > Beaune
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Luxury Hotel in Beaune
#7 Family Hotel in Beaune
#11 Romantic Hotel in Beaune
Price Range: $236 - $428 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Hostellerie Le Cedre 5*
Number of rooms: 40
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ideally situated in the heart of Beaune, opposite the ramparts and 5 minutes walking distance from the Hospices de Beaune, Hostellerie Le Cedre is the ideal place to discover the area.Beautiful, shaded terraces in the heart of gardens full of 100-year old trees where you can enjoy the summer season and a comfortable lounge bar with a fireplace to warm yourself when winter has arrived.Le Cedre offers you 40 rooms perfect for dreaming and relaxing. Each one is different with its own personality. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Agoda, Travelocity, Expedia, Priceline, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Hotwire and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hostellerie Le Cedre reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hostellerie Le Cedre Beaune
Hostellerie Le Cedre Hotel Beaune

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing