We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice lobby , rooms are just average”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hostellerie Le Cedre
Ranked #3 of 62 Hotels in Beaune
Certificate of Excellence
Destin, Florida
Level Contributor
11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Nice lobby , rooms are just average”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 4, 2012 via mobile

We were happy upon arrival as the service was quite good. The lobby is spacious and welcoming with a good overall feel. We were a bit disappointed with the room as the furnishings were dated and the shower tiny. Location is good and just a few blocks from the town center. Overall an average hotel.

  • Stayed October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Penny J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hostellerielecedre, Directeur général at Hostellerie Le Cedre, responded to this review, January 19, 2013
Further to your comment for which we thank you, we obviously didn’t meet your expectations and feel sorry to have left you the memory of being just an average hotel. The comments we receive can be very different from each other and some suggestions of improvement are indeed justified. This is the reason why a long refurbishment program has been going on each year. However, we depend on the length of the low season to proceed any further.
We would be pleased to welcome you anytime again.

Raphaël Meyer, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

581 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    323
    187
    55
    11
    5
See reviews for
71
355
3
39
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (52)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Sydney
Level Contributor
358 reviews
80 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 256 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 4, 2012

We just spent one night at this very nice hotel of about 200 rooms. It’s just outside the ramparts of the old town of Beaune and is a very easy walk from everything you would want to see in town. There is parking below the building for a fee (I think 14 euros) but it was reasonably easy to get an angle park on the other side of the street for nothing.

It is an impressive building with lovely gardens, and although it was cold and damp it was easy to imagine how pleasant it would be to enjoy drinks or a meal out on the terrace. Front of house staff are efficient and welcoming. The reception, bar and lounge areas are lovely – warm and inviting in every respect, especially the roaring real log fire in the lounge. Drinks at the bar are quite expensive but they were accompanied by a delightful little amuse bouche of pumpkin jelly with a crab and caviar topping as well as gorgeous light cheese puffs. We didn’t eat dinner at the hotel, but the breakfast spread was of good quality (with the exception of my husband’s bacon) with a range of options – mind you at 19 euros each we would expect no less.

The only thing that holds us back from giving a 5/5 is that our room was certainly beginning to show its age. In particular the bathroom was a let-down for a five star hotel, with grey lino on the floor, and a chipped bath and scratched toilet pan. Perhaps refurbishment is on the agenda. However, the bed was very comfortable, our room was warm and very quiet, and the bedding, towels, robes etc were of good quality.

We would definitely stay here again if we return to Beaune

Room Tip: We asked for a quiet room and were on the top level at the end of the corridor and looking out over...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SydneyTeviot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hostellerielecedre, Directeur général at Hostellerie Le Cedre, responded to this review, January 19, 2013
We thank you for taking the time to share your opinion. However, we fear you might mix up the memories of several hotels you have visited during your trip in France as the Hostellerie Le Cèdre is not a 200-room-building but a 40-room-charming hotel instead!
We indeed have a cozy lounge bar with fireplace and a garden which is very pleasant in the summer for a drink or dinner outside. About the room that you found "a little bit tired", and if we consider that you describe one of ours, we herewith confirm that a refurbishment programm has been going on step by step each year during the low season.
The amuse-bouche you mention is served at the bar and we are glad that you appreciated the coziness of the lounge as well as the kindness and efficiency of our staff.
We sure hope to have the pleasure to welcome you in the near future again!

Raphaël Meyer, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
scottsdale, AZ
Level Contributor
18 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 22, 2012

My husband and I spent 5 nights at this wonderful hotel within walking distance to the charming town of Beaune.
The staff supplied excellent service with a smile and English.
We enjoyed 2 dinners in the Clos du Cedre restaurant, which was delicious and always finished the evening in the charming hotel bar for a nightcap!
We would highly recommend this hotel to family and friends and hope to return in the near future!

Room Tip: Our privilege room was lovely, with a view of the front courtyard and many Cedar trees.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank tizzytam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hostellerielecedre, Directeur général at Hostellerie Le Cedre, responded to this review, November 2, 2012
Your enthusiastic comment about your stay is a gratification and a great motivation for the staff members to continue to make every day be special for each of our guests through their professional skills and their personal commitment. Thank you!

We will be pleased to welcome you anytime again.

Raphaël Meyer, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Level Contributor
151 reviews
54 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 95 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 21, 2012

The hotel is minutes away from the old town and is veary easy to find with sat nav. There is underground parking available for a small fee, which is worth the extra as the restuarant guests use front parking spaces. The reception staff are excellent. There is a small bar in hotel which is staffed by one young man who could be more attentive. The room was very comfortable, clean and had a good size shower.
We ate in the restaruant which is in the same grounds as the hotel. This is a fairly formal place, with many many staff. The food is tasty but complicated and more expensive than places in the town. So if you have children or want something less formal go into the town, We enjoyed our meal, there was partridge and scallops as the evening special, good fish and a range of meat, there was also a vegi options that looked appetising.
The town has a lot of wines stores, go and look but beware of the prices, some will set you back a week's salary!
Good place to stay, but the town has no facilities to change money, there are a couple of ATM's but the banks do not take foriegn currency inexchange for Euros.
We would stay there again.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank yb1uk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hostellerielecedre, Directeur général at Hostellerie Le Cedre, responded to this review, November 2, 2012
We feel honored to read your very positive feedback and made sure to pass it on to the whole team of the Hostellerie Le Cèdre.
We will be looking forward to welcome you and thank you so much for your words of recognition!

Raphaël Meyer, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
15 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 7, 2012

We stayed for 1 night with another couple at this lovely hotel. Rooms aswell as bathroom are well equipped and clean. Breakfast was good. We ate in the restaurant and this was a very good experience. Aswell the staff was great. Only the barkeeper at the hotelbar who was on duty that night was very slow and unhelpful, therefor one point less for service. They also have a lovely garden with terraces, which is very well maintained. Overall a good hotel.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RBungart
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hostellerielecedre, Directeur général at Hostellerie Le Cedre, responded to this review, November 2, 2012
Thank you very much for your helpful comments.
We acnowledged your critical appreciation about the barkeeper on duty in the evening during your stay and we sincerely apologize to you for the unprofessional behavior of being very slow and unhelpful. We did train our staff again to make sure that this doesn't happen again.
It is a pleasure for us to know how much you enjoyed both the hotel and our gourmet restaurant "Clos du Cèdre".
We would be pleased to welcome you anytime again.

Raphaël Meyer, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
melbourne
Level Contributor
35 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 29, 2012

Family stay over 3 nights...fast check in...very efficient. Great quality big clean rooms with mezzanine level for kids. Very comfortable beds....we ate in town as hotel resteraunt prices looked much higher than most in town which are only a very short stroll away...would definitely stay again..

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank joe p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hostellerielecedre, Directeur général at Hostellerie Le Cedre, responded to this review, November 2, 2012
We are so pleased that you appreciated the comfort of our duplex familyrooms.
Indeed, our restaurant is an upscale gourmet restaurant and the prices can't be compared with more casual restaurants in town. Actually, Beaune is a gold mine regarding gastronomy with many different restaurants to fit everyone's taste and wallet.
Looking forward to welcoming you again at Le Cèdre, we thank you very much for your positive feedback!

Raphaël Meyer, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
119 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 26, 2012

This hotel is located just outside the oldest parts of the town. It has lovely public spaces, especially the gardens. People are helpful, for the most part. Great housekeeping! A very nice restaurant in a beautiful structure is attached. I would stay here again.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Suenglish
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hostellerielecedre, Directeur général at Hostellerie Le Cedre, responded to this review, November 2, 2012
Thank you for your kind appreciation. We are glad that you could enjoy the gardens during the nice season!
We will be looking forward to welcoming you again.

Raphaël Meyer, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Beaune hotels
0.3 mi away
Hotel de Luxe le Cep
Hotel de Luxe le Cep
#2 of 62 in Beaune
4.5 of 5 bubbles 783 reviews
6.8 mi away
La Maison d'Olivier Leflaive
La Maison d'Olivier Leflaive
#2 of 3 in Puligny-Montrachet
4.5 of 5 bubbles 310 reviews
6.9 mi away
Le Montrachet
Le Montrachet
#1 of 3 in Puligny-Montrachet
4.5 of 5 bubbles 389 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Abbaye de Maizieres
Abbaye de Maizieres
#17 of 62 in Beaune
4.5 of 5 bubbles 347 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel de la Poste
Hotel de la Poste
#12 of 62 in Beaune
4.0 of 5 bubbles 463 reviews
2.4 mi away
Hotel le Clos
Hotel le Clos
#1 of 4 in Montagny-les-Beaune
4.5 of 5 bubbles 298 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hostellerie Le Cedre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hostellerie Le Cedre

Property: Hostellerie Le Cedre
Address: 10 boulevard Marechal Foch, 21200, Beaune, France
Phone Number:
Location: France > Bourgogne-Franche-Comte > Cote d'Or > Beaune
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Luxury Hotel in Beaune
#7 Family Hotel in Beaune
#11 Romantic Hotel in Beaune
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Hostellerie Le Cedre 5*
Number of rooms: 40
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ideally situated in the heart of Beaune, opposite the ramparts and 5 minutes walking distance from the Hospices de Beaune, Hostellerie Le Cedre is the ideal place to discover the area.Beautiful, shaded terraces in the heart of gardens full of 100-year old trees where you can enjoy the summer season and a comfortable lounge bar with a fireplace to warm yourself when winter has arrived.Le Cedre offers you 40 rooms perfect for dreaming and relaxing. Each one is different with its own personality. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Agoda, Priceline, Travelocity, TripOnline SA and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Hostellerie Le Cedre reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hostellerie Le Cedre Beaune
Hostellerie Le Cedre Hotel Beaune

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing