We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Superb Underground Parking. Hotel better than photos show.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hostellerie Le Cedre
Ranked #4 of 62 Hotels in Beaune
Certificate of Excellence
london
Level Contributor
46 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
“Superb Underground Parking. Hotel better than photos show.”
Reviewed August 6, 2012

Stayed at this hotel as Le Cep in Beaune was full but no real regrets. The main reason we chose it was the parking which is undergorund and with good access for cars that are low at the front like ours. Generally my first impression was good - the hotel entrance is nicer than the website photos make out and on a glorious summer evening we arrived to see a beautiful outside dining area, romantically lit and well tended grounds. The reception area is nicely decorated in warm colours and soft lighting. Staff were super helpful throughout and charming.

The room was ok - supposedly one of the better ones (Prestige category I think) but it wasn't quite as luxurious as the price led (after the decor from downstairs). It did have a bath and seperate shower as we had requested but the shower was small and the water pressure in it terrible. (Luckily the water pressure in the bath with its shower attachment was good). The biggest let down was the air-con was totally useless and this was a real pain as outside temperature was 32. I remember thinking to myself that this would make a great cosy winter hotel but I'll never stay again in the summer!! Never-the-less the room was clean, the wi-fi free and the bed very comfortable. My point being, the room was certainly good but the price too rich for a/c to not be good and shower not modern.

We didn't eat at their restaurant as it was fully booked but I have to say that the menu looked very good. Quite a formal menu and quite formal dining. Breakfast was very good - in a buffet style but with a good selection of meat, cheese, delicious pain au chocolats. We ate breakfast on the garden terrace - nice quality parasols and wooden furniture and very pleasant service with a smile.

One thing I wasn't sure of when booking was the location of this hotel as it's on the little ring round around Beaune. Rest assured that you can in fact very easily walk into town - I'm lazy and it was an easy five minute walk! Also, don't let the ring road thing put you off as it nearly did me - the road is in fact pretty small and set very close to the old town - we walked to dinner and the road opposite the hotel is a little pretty lane that leads directly to all the restaurants etc.

Would I stay again? Definitely in the autumn or winter when no air con is required (!) and definitly if they made prices just a little more attractive.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank londonperson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hostellerielecedre, Directeur général at Hostellerie Le Cedre, responded to this review, November 2, 2012
Thank you for sharing your opinion. We are glad that you appreciated our private underground garage. As a matter of fact, we all remember your magnificent Aston Martin!
About your room rate, you had chosen a promotional last minute rate. As a 5-star-hotel, the rates are set accordingly and we shall remind you that you traveled in high season. A more attractive rate is not realisable at this very busy period of time, but only in the wintertime instead which you might consider since you were not happy with our a/c system.You would for sure enjoy the cosy and warm atmosphere of the fireplace. Indeed, we keep the rooms pleasantly cool but not extremely cold as it is the case in some foreign countries, which might not suit everyone's needs. You even complain about the poor a/c system in your car too, the temperature was very high that day.
Again this year, we will continue with our renovation programm including bathrooms, which hopefully should be through for the next season.
We will be looking forward to welcoming you again.

Raphaël Meyer, general Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

592 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    328
    191
    56
    12
    5
See reviews for
71
362
3
39
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (53)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed August 1, 2012 via mobile

The hotel was lovely and the staff very helpful but everything was on the expensive side for what it was so you walked away feeling a bit ripped off. there was nothing wrong with the hotel, it just was missing a bit of sole. I'm not sure we'd opt to stay there again.

Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Bailee R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hostellerielecedre, Directeur général at Hostellerie Le Cedre, responded to this review, November 2, 2012
We are sorry that you left our hotel with the feeling of being "ripped off". Indeed, you chose to stay in a 5 star hotel which means that the services are charged accordingly.
All our rooms are decorated and furnished with a personal touch. According to our guests, the bar area and the salon appear to be cosy with the fireplace in the wintertime, the garden and the terrace around the fountain for breakfast or drinks in the summertime. Our guests and ourselves think that all this details do give Le Cèdre a touch of soul. Unfortunately, it just didn't speak to you.

We thank you for your comment and sure hope to get another chance someday to maybe make you change your mind...

Raphaël Meyer, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Monica
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed August 1, 2012

It was our first time in Beaune, and i found this hotel thanks to trip advisor and another travel rating website.
For our family of four, it worked wonderfully. I am french from the south of France, and my husband is american, neither of us had been to Burgandy before, and this hotel added to make our stay a beautiful one.
We had a privilege room and a superior room with communicating door. One of the room was very nicely renovated from bedroom to bathroom, the other room was nice as well but the bathroom was (not yet?) renovated. The cleanliness of the room was perfect.
The one thing that was not great was the mattress in the superior room, i had to switch room with one of my kid to use her bed, it might also be because i am 5 1/2 months pregnant and now mattresses make a difference in my sleep.
The front desk persons were helpful, and nice, especially one from Holland who was speaking french and English beautifully.
The fine dining restaurant was fantastic and the waiting staff outstanding! We would definitely recommend it.
The Hotel location is ideal to visit Beaune, walking distance, 10 minutes at the most, from the center and the "hospices of Beaune". There also was a big Park near by, where we brought our children. We ended up feeding ducks and the numerous ducklings, and geese. The children will definitely remember that part.
We would definitely return to this hotel, wonderful restaurant, and this lovely town in Burgandy.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Maud815
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hostellerielecedre, Directeur général at Hostellerie Le Cedre, responded to this review, November 2, 2012
Thank you very much for taking the time to express your enthusiasm. Your appreciation makes each of us at the Hostellerie Le Cèdre very happy. About the mattress, please acknowledge that we recently renewed the mattresses in every room. In spite of the high quality standard we chose, it is difficult to meet everyone's expectations and needs in regards to the bedding comfort. The comments collected about the same bed and room can be opposite from each other.
It was a pleasure for us to have you stay at Le Cèdre and we will be looking forward to welcoming you again in the near furture.

Raphaël Meyer, General manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed July 14, 2012

The hotel was quite cosy with a nice lounge area, great breakfast and of course a very romantic house restaurant annexed to the place. The restaurant was of very high quality and with a highly attentive staff.

Most of all however, I am impressed with the professionalism of their reception who helped me with an 'undelivered package' from one of the wine cellars in Beaune. I sent one email to ask for their help as I have not heard back from this particular cellar for 6-7 weeks and they were kind enough to personally walk over to the place to help out which led to a reply from the celler within 24 hours. It was great of them to help out given that we only stayed their for 2 nights almost 2 months prior to my request for help.

Regards,
Ken

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DownUnderKen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hostellerielecedre, Directeur général at Hostellerie Le Cedre, responded to this review, July 25, 2012
It makes us very happy to read how much you enjoyed your stay at The Hostellerie Le Cèdre. It was natural for us to assist you with this issue regarding the missing wine delivery and we are glad to have been of help!
We hope to have the opportunity to welcome you someday again.

Raphaël Meyer, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Harrogate
Level Contributor
9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed June 30, 2012

This was our second visit and if anything was even better than the first!

We arrived feeling tired after a long drive but the welcome we received quickly raised our spirits; for example, we were met in the garage and helped with our luggage, but as we'd arrived earlier than planned the room was'nt quite ready - we only had to wait 15 minutes and in the meantime we were served complimenary coffee and cake in the Lounge.

The room itself was lovely - as a conference was being held, we were upgraded into a spacious duplex overlooking the Terrace garden.

As before, we ate in the restaurant: the room is tastefully decorated, the food beautiful [and not too expensive compared with other resataurants of this standard] and the service pleasant yet unobtrusive.

While the poor weather meant breakfast could not be served on the Terrace, the atmosphere was still very pleasant and the food excellent.

All of the staff we met during our brief stay were both professional and friendly - in particular the Reception staff who were excellent.

We are already planning a return trip but next time will without doubt stay longer.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SuperLeeds22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hostellerielecedre, Directeur général at Hostellerie Le Cedre, responded to this review, July 25, 2012
Your well-being is definetely our priority and your words honor the work and committment of every staff member. We thank you very much for your kindness hoping to have the opportunity to welcome you at the Hostellerie Le Cèdre again.

Raphaël Meyer, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dorking
Level Contributor
207 reviews
98 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 87 helpful votes
Reviewed June 25, 2012

This was our second visit to the Le Cedre, the first being in 2010. As before we were very happy with the stay, breakfast was excellent in contrast to some of the reviews when we first visited. The hotel benefits from a large secure underground car park, useful for us as we were touring in three sports cars. The room was on the second floor looking out onto the terrace and very comfortable. Plenty of space in the bedroom and bathroom. Service on the outside terrace was swift and excellent in the evening. We dined elsewhere in the town on this occasion so cannot comment on the restaurant this time.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank PlummyDorking
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hostellerielecedre, Directeur général at Hostellerie Le Cedre, responded to this review, July 25, 2012
Your appreciation is definetely a great award and gratification to the whole team of The Hostellerie Le Cèdre for its commitment to quality, trying to make every guest feel at home.
We thank you very much and hope to welcome you again. Kind regards.

Raphaël Meyer, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Geneva, Switzerland
Level Contributor
183 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 114 helpful votes
Reviewed June 19, 2012 via mobile

We booked a family suite for a one night stay and it was a very pleasant room. The double bed is upstairs in a spacious room in the mezzanine, the two single bed are downstairs in the main room.

The hotel is in a beautiful townhouse, 5 min walk from the hospice de beaune. The common rooms are quite small but it's enough ( you are not meant to spend a lot of time in the hotel).

The restaurant is very stylish ( all men wore jackets) but we were disappointed by the food. It wasn't bad but we expected something tastier (we booked the "escapade beaunoise packaged" so dinner was included which meant we didn't have the opportunity to choose our dishes which is quite regrettable).

All in all a good place to explore Beaune and the region

Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank CeciliaGeneva
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hostellerielecedre, Directeur général at Hostellerie Le Cedre, responded to this review, July 25, 2012
Thank you very much for your appreciation regarding the familyroom. We are pleased that you did feel confortable. However, we feel sorry that you didn’t enjoy your dinner to the fullest. Indeed the menus included in all our packages are suggested by our Chef as they are “inclusive rates”. Our maîtres d’hôtel always make sure though that our guests agree with the menu suggestion as it is always possible to change one or the other dish on request.
We would be pleased to welcome you in Beaune again. Kind regards.

Raphaël Meyer, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Beaune hotels
0.3 mi away
Hotel de Luxe le Cep
Hotel de Luxe le Cep
#2 of 62 in Beaune
806 reviews
6.9 mi away
Le Montrachet
Le Montrachet
#1 of 3 in Puligny-Montrachet
410 reviews
6.8 mi away
La Maison d'Olivier Leflaive
La Maison d'Olivier Leflaive
#2 of 3 in Puligny-Montrachet
318 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Hotel de la Poste
Hotel de la Poste
#13 of 62 in Beaune
473 reviews
0.2 mi away
Abbaye de Maizieres
Abbaye de Maizieres
#17 of 62 in Beaune
351 reviews
0.5 mi away
Ibis Styles Beaune Centre
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hostellerie Le Cedre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hostellerie Le Cedre

Property: Hostellerie Le Cedre
Address: 10 boulevard Marechal Foch, 21200, Beaune, France
Phone Number:
Location: France > Bourgogne-Franche-Comte > Cote d'Or > Beaune
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Luxury Hotel in Beaune
#7 Family Hotel in Beaune
#11 Romantic Hotel in Beaune
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Hostellerie Le Cedre 5*
Number of rooms: 40
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ideally situated in the heart of Beaune, opposite the ramparts and 5 minutes walking distance from the Hospices de Beaune, Hostellerie Le Cedre is the ideal place to discover the area.Beautiful, shaded terraces in the heart of gardens full of 100-year old trees where you can enjoy the summer season and a comfortable lounge bar with a fireplace to warm yourself when winter has arrived.Le Cedre offers you 40 rooms perfect for dreaming and relaxing. Each one is different with its own personality. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Hotwire, Travelocity, Cancelon, TripOnline SA and HRS so you can book your Hostellerie Le Cedre reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hostellerie Le Cedre Beaune
Hostellerie Le Cedre Hotel Beaune

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing