We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Spectacular Escargot”
Review of F&B

F&B
Ranked #28 of 228 Restaurants in Beaune
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: French
Dining options: Late Night, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Reservations
Reviewed January 26, 2019 via mobile

Another spectacular meal at F&B restaurant in Beaune France. We had lunch and had a 3 course meal.  We started with probably the best escargot we've ever had.  They were prepared in a mushroom wine sauce with a cream base and they were extremely tender and tasty and some of the best we've had. Our main course was a very well prepared chicken breast in Epoisse cheese sauce.  Dessert was a chocolate brownie or a cheese plate that was excellent.  The restaurant is close to Parc Canot and it's a great place to have lunch we highly recommend them.

Date of visit: January 2019
Thank Rosgriffin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (344)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

3 - 7 of 344 reviews

Reviewed October 16, 2018

Unlike several other reviewers, whose comments I have just read, we have found Jerome and his staff to be very polite and friendly.
We have dined at F&B several times and it has always been great.
Their Gougeres are the best in Beaune
The Sardines are fantastic and nearly every dish we have tried has been great
We live mainly in Italy and Jerome likes to travel there and he likes to talk to us about his experiences in Italia which adds to our enjoyment of this restaurant

Date of visit: September 2018
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank rowanr1955
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 27, 2018 via mobile

Lots of places to choose from and I would not recommend this one. Had lunch there, some set menus for 29 euros and some a la carte dishes. The food was just OK although rather under seasoned and not very refined (chicken in a pool of cream and a pasta gratin, no garnish). The Charolais burger was burnt with limp lettuce and drowned in mayonnaise. When I complained the waiter told me that it was what "well done" looked like. Long wait between dishes, less than attentive staff, had to ask for our carafe of water to be refilled and although we chose to sit inside to avoid the cigarette smoke from the terrace, the place stunk of it. We asked to move further inside but the waiter said he would close the door which was only closed for 10mins before the owner opened it again. To top it all, the owner was too busy joking with his mates to do anything. Not cheap and not worth it! A rather unpleasant experience.

Date of visit: September 2018
Thank Anne L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 17, 2018

My husband and I popped in for a quick bite to eat -- we were craving some escargot and a little white wine. We arrived for a late lunch around 1:30 p.m. and sat outside next to the road. Within a minute, the owner came up to us and my husband asked for a wine menu. The owner scolded us and very loudly proclaimed his establishment was not a bar. We promptly told him we were going to eat food as well. He grumbled and went off to get menus for us.

All we wanted was to share an appetizer of escargot. After we placed our order with his equally rude son, the owner came up and barked at us again, asking who was the only person eating. We explained we were sharing.

I have to admit, the food and wine were excellent. But after having lived in Europe for more than 11 years and traveled extensively throughout, this is the WORST experience I have ever had at a restaurant. I don't understand why someone would own a restaurant and treat customers this way.

Date of visit: September 2018
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank Dru49
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 11, 2018 via mobile

Dining in Beaune can be a challenge. 220+ to choose from and you don’t want to make a mistake. Here they bring great food, a nice wine list, friendly staff and not stuffy. It’s exactly what we wanted after travel or day spent in the vineyards. A fantastic choice if you’ve not up to another meal with overdone formality.

Date of visit: August 2018
Thank ejw64
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed F&B also viewed

 
Beaune, Cote d'Or
 
Beaune, Cote d'Or
Beaune, Cote d'Or
 

Been to F&B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing