We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice place to stop”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel au Grand Saint Jean
Ranked #17 of 62 Hotels in Beaune
Reviewed August 12, 2013

We stayed for one night on a driving trip. It was one of the friendliest places we stayed on our trip. Staff are very helpful, rooms are fairly basic, but scrupulously clean and comfortable with aircon. The parking is secure and reasonably priced. Location is great as it is just a short walk to the town centre and it is a lovely town to walk around.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Hazel R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (323)
There are newer reviews for Hotel au Grand Saint Jean
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

93 - 99 of 323 reviews

Reviewed July 29, 2013

This id olf fashioned hotel, the rooms are cear but small. A negative point is the the loudness trough the walls, some times you can follow the speakers in the room next door. Breakfast is very good and teh staff is very helpsome. Very positive is the private parking place behind the hotel for a liitle amount you can stay there. The old part of the city with the famous hospice is very nearby.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank c00ker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 27, 2013

We stayed her for one night as an overnight stop en route from Argeles sur Mer in the south to Berny Riviere near Paris. Usually we stop around Dijon, so this was our first time in Beaune. The town is in a convenient location for the motorway and is a nice place to stop. The hotel is well located too, with several restaurants, bars and take aways within a couple of minutes walk, although most were very busy as we arrived on a Friday. The hotel has secure parking for a small fee, and the reception staff were very polite and friendly. I have to say the bed was one of the most comfortable I have ever slept in, and the room was nice. Walls seemed pretty thin though as we could hear conversation etc from adjoining rooms. Breakfast was very good with an excellent selection, and the breakfasting staff were very friendly. Overall a good place to spend the night. I would have liked more time to explore the town, visit the wine museum etc, but maybe next time.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Andy E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 24, 2013

Stayed here as a one night stopover and it was very good value for money. Excellent location right in the heart of Beaune yet the hotel was easy to find and the parking was perfect. It cost around £75 for hotel and parking but we skipped breakfast and had a croissant and coffee over the road at the cafe. (Breakfast is an extra charge.) Room was on top floor. Very basic but very clean, decent shower and the air-conditioning made for a very comfortable nights sleep.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank HoppyFarmer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 23, 2013

A pleasant surprise....a hotel close to the motorway, easy, very cheap parking, friendly, helpful desk staff and a clean, quiet and cool room- all at a very reasonable price. The staff let us keep our car in the parking lot for a few hours after we'd checked out which was very helpful.
The hotel's location is excellent - it's about an 8 min walk to the Hospices de Beaune, and right around the corner from the Marche aux Vins and local restaurants. We would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 155032Daniel123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 20, 2013

this is an excellent hotel for a one night stop
one definitively gets value for money (it is not expensive at all)
the staff and owners are really really friendly and helpful wherever and whenever they can
hotel has no restaurant, only breakfast. breakfast is very good and with much more choices than in most French hotels of this category.
many good and very reasonably priced restaurants in the immediate neighbourhood.
private parking FOC

definitively a good choice

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank antoonsix
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 27, 2013

This hotel is located about 10 minutes off the motorway and easily accessed. The car park is great as it is secure and is only 4 euros. The hotel is situated just 2 minutes walk from the beautiful, historic centre of Beaune, without the hassle of finding your way around to the more central hotels which I should think are a lot more expensive. The hotel itself is a little quirky in my opinion. It seems to be freshly painted and decorated but it's very '70s with a lot of orange and yellow. Our floor had green paintwork and a red carpet! But it is all very, very clean. Our room was small but again one of the cleanest rooms I've stayed in. The twin beds were really comfortable and we had a small bath (better than none) with overhead shower. The room is basic and quite old fashioned but very adequate for an overnighter. Outside can get quite noisy with the locals at a nearby bar but the aircon is superb so that problem was sorted. Ask for a room away from the main road, you won't get a view from anywhere in this hotel but it should be quieter. Breakfast was about 7 or 8 euros per person I think. It was fine if you just want to get on the road with the usual cold spread, but you can have as much as you like and there was plenty. The staff are excellent and the whole place is run very efficiently. There is no restaurant at the hotel but Beaune has every cuisine you can think of. Just don't eat at the brasserie across the road - service is good but food is not!

Room Tip: Ask for a quiet room as it does get quite lively out the front at night.
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Sharon C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Beaune hotels
0.1 mi away
Ibis Styles Beaune Centre
0.3 mi away
Hotel de Luxe le Cep
Hotel de Luxe le Cep
#2 of 62 in Beaune
849 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Athanor
Hotel Athanor
#47 of 62 in Beaune
285 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Ibis Beaune Centre
Ibis Beaune Centre
#22 of 62 in Beaune
784 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel de la Cloche
Hotel de la Cloche
#32 of 62 in Beaune
317 reviews
1.1 mi away
Panorama Hotel
Panorama Hotel
#13 of 62 in Beaune
398 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel au Grand Saint Jean? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel au Grand Saint Jean

Address: 18 rue du Faubourg Madeleine, 21200, Beaune, France
Location: France > Bourgogne-Franche-Comte > Cote d'Or > Beaune
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #17 of 62 Hotels in Beaune
Price Range: $108 - $144 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel au Grand Saint Jean 3*
Number of rooms: 100
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Priceline, Travelocity, Agoda, Orbitz, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Hotwire and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Hotel au Grand Saint Jean reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Au Grand Saint Jean Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing