We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Interesting Tour”
Review of Marche aux Vins

Marche aux Vins
Ranked #11 of 72 things to do in Beaune
Type: Other
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: In the heart of the city, in front of the Hospices de Beaune, the Marche aux Vins.In the case of this unique architecture of the 15th century, come to discover, taste and buy a selection of wines from the greatest Burgundy. Cote de Nuits, Cote de Beaune, old vintages, wines from the Hospices de Beaune and Dijon, all the great names included in our selection.
Singapore, Singapore
Level 6 Contributor
1,536 reviews
494 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 472 helpful votes
“Interesting Tour”
Reviewed January 6, 2014

I visited here last August and the tour was interesting. My wife and myself tried more than five tastings of wines. I purchased Meursault and other white wine in the shop, and we had them at home a few months later. I am sorry that those wines were not so tasty than expected from the experiences of the tasting tour. We might be just unlucky.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank YacchanAmarone
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

443 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    129
    163
    91
    35
    25
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Sarasota, Florida
Level 5 Contributor
84 reviews
15 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
“What a great surprise!!!!”
Reviewed December 31, 2013

My wife and I visited this establishment several years ago. What a wonderful experience! At the time it cost 10 euros each to get in. For this price you received a wine tasting cup and a listing of all the wines in the cellar. We were free to roam and drink as much wine as we wanted. But be careful, you really don't want to make this one of those "binge" kind of things. There are all types of burgundies available for tasting. You are supposed to rate what you drink and at the end of the tour, order wines from your list.
We did not have to purchase any wines and we didn't for several reasons. First, since we live in the US, there would be a problem bringing it back on the plane. Second, the shipping costs were rather high if you wanted Marche to ship them. The cost was understandable due to the fragility of the bottles.
No matter. If you happen to be in the Beaune area, you will not regret visiting this establishment. I would give this one of my highest recommendations!

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank gapiper
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Consider before going”
Reviewed November 23, 2013 via mobile

This self-guided tour has the perfect location and we were thrilled to be able to walk around the cellars in quiet and sample so many wines on our own. However, all of the wines were too young and, regrettably, unpleasant so we were equally disappointed and delighted.
It's such a cool place that in the end we felt we couldn't complain too much.... But it's a pity this really seems to be a tourist trap!

Helpful?
Thank von2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chesterfield
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“pleasant visit”
Reviewed October 16, 2013

If you want to stay in town or if you only have a day to spare while in Beaune then this is the place to visit to learn and taste the wines of this famous wine region. The staff were helpful and very pleasant and the prices of the wines if you want to purchase is reasonable

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Bridget B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thousand Oaks, California
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
8 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Not really what we expected, but still nice.”
Reviewed October 3, 2013

Take the self-guided tour through the wine caves and taste as you go for a small charge. We thought it was a unusual and interesting way of marketing the wines. The prices are supposed to be good, but we had nothing to compare them to. Beautiful little town.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank krob5292
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Marche aux Vins also viewed

 

Been to Marche aux Vins? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing