We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (565)
Filter reviews
565 results
Traveler rating
348
116
54
29
18
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveler rating
348
116
54
29
18
Show reviews that mention
All reviews spiral staircase no elevator mobility issues converted abbey stone steps top floor tiny entrance stunning building vaulted ceilings unique hotel clarins toiletries bathroom downstairs unique stay steeped in history wine cellar modern conveniences owners and staff
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
6 - 11 of 565 reviews
Reviewed May 15, 2019

This is one of the loveliest small hotels that we have ever stayed. The ancient Roman stone work is incredible and they have done a fantastic job adding all of the modern conveniences. The dining room is magical and we had three wonderful breakfasts and a delicious dinner there.

We had a lovely two-room junior suite with amazing stone work and tile. My husband says they were the best sheets that he has ever slept on.

But the best thing about the hotel is the owner Bruno, his beautiful wife, Emmanelle, and their staff. My husband became seriously ill while we were there. Bruno drove us to the hospital twice and his son came to fetch us late one night. They went above and beyond with every request that we had. We felt pampered and special. I highly recommend staying here if you come to Beaune. You must be able to deal with steps, though!

Room tip: The Citeaux room opens on to a small lovely courtyard. All of the rooms require some stairs.
Date of stay: May 2019
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank nev040713
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1808973, Propriétaire at Abbaye de Maizieres, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Thank you so much for your very nice message.

We only made our job.

We hope your husband is in better health and we hope to have the pleasure to see again.

Kind regards,

Bruno and Emmanuelle
and all the staff

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 12, 2019

Room felt unfinished. Light strip not installed. Tv didn’t work.pillows too full. Toilet seat slipped. No storage in bath. Frig sitting on floor. No rug. No art. No table under chandelier. Hard to get comfortable in straight backed chairs. Felt like the room was unfinished and designed only for looks and not for comfortable living.

Date of stay: May 2019
Trip type: Traveled as a couple
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Dreamer12283017755
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1808973, Propriétaire at Abbaye de Maizieres, responded to this reviewResponded May 14, 2019

We are very sorry that you didn't like the cistercian spirit and furnitures we want to give to our Abbey.

Kind regards,

Bruno and Emmanuelle Epailly

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 11, 2019 via mobile

This 12th century abbey is a beautiful and unique place to stay. The rooms are spacious and immaculate. The lobby/ dining room is charming and lit by candlelight. The hotel is central to everything, including just a block from Joseph Drouhin. The entire staff is friendly and accommodating. The breakfast is not to be missed—the salmon omelet is the best. The beds are cozy and afford a good nights sleep.

Warning to those with physical limitations—this is an old abbey and the stairs are very steep and treacherous. No elevator, but the staff will carry bags upstairs.

This hotel is an ancient treasure in a beautiful ancient city.

Date of stay: May 2019
Trip type: Traveled as a couple
Thank LOMike
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1808973, Propriétaire at Abbaye de Maizieres, responded to this reviewResponded May 14, 2019

Thank you so much for your nice description.

Kind regards,

Bruno and Emmanuelle
and all the team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 5, 2019

This is old abbey that has been beautifully and lovingly converted into a charming small hotel with friendly and helpful owners and management who speak excellent English and who are eager for their guests to have a memorable stay. Breakfasts are delicious.

Date of stay: May 2019
Trip type: Traveled with friends
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Culture20823482416
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1808973, Propriétaire at Abbaye de Maizieres, responded to this reviewResponded May 14, 2019

Thank you for your nice and kind description.
we hope to welcome you again,
Kind regards,
Bruno and Emmanuelle
and all the team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 5, 2019

We stayed for 3 nights. The hotel has a nice feel, and is clean, bedding clean and soft and pillows plentiful in a deluxe room. More basic double is small, but my brother liked it. No coffee machine in the more basic room.
There was a leak from the bathroom above my room on the 2nd floor on 2 consecutive days, reported on both occasions.
We had a problem with the tea, it seemed that lemon was added and so it was returned. English was not understood by all staff so some minor errors at breakfast but the food served was good.
The location is very good, the staff helpful, the pool looked lovely and clean but we didn’t try it out.
Beaune has a lot to offer apart from wine.
La dilettante is great for a lighter meal with delicious charcuterie, bread and fromage frais with honey, and a great selection of wine.
There is a very impressive, though not cheap, poster shop as well as other art shops/galleries. Other higher quality clothing shops available too.
There is no need to pay for parking, there is free parking close by.

Date of stay: May 2019
Trip type: Traveled with friends
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Relax10635098163
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1808973, Propriétaire at Abbaye de Maizieres, responded to this reviewResponded May 14, 2019

Thank you for your message.

Sorry for the few inconveniences you met during your stay and we hope to welcome you again.

Kind regards,

Bruno and Emmanuelle
and all the team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews