We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely stay”
Review of La Terre D'or

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Beaune
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
La Terre D'or
Ranked #1 of 62 Hotels in Beaune
Certificate of Excellence
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Lovely stay”
Reviewed February 15, 2013

We stayed 3 nights at La Terre d"Or last spring (2012). It is a charming hotel on a hilltop just outside Beaune. Jean Louis and his family are very proud of the gardens, the grotto (with hot tub) and the comfortable living room (with piano) and guest rooms and he makes every effort to make his guests at home.

It is best for guests who have a car, because though only 5-7 minutes drive from Beaune, one cannot walk back and forth to town. It is a particularly nice place to stay for people just wanting to relax on the property for a day or two

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank vivzac
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LATERREDOR, Propriétaire at La Terre D'or, responded to this review, March 4, 2013
Thank you for your kind words, we were really pleased to welcome you and share our love for this special place and for Burgundy. Some guests go down the hill to the restaurant (2 km or 20 minutes to the city wall), lovely walk through the vineyards but it's challenging on the way up, so we recommend taking a taxi after dinner (12 euro about). We hope to see you back here!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

361 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    307
    34
    11
    4
    5
See reviews for
64
228
4
2
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (50)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Escondido, California
2 reviews
Reviewed February 8, 2013

The highlight of our time in Bergundy were the vineyard tours and wine tasting in the very old wine cellars. Vincent was knowledgeable and fun to be with, and certainly knew the best places to go to including great local restaurants for lunch. The spa in his own wine cave was a unique treat! Our highest recommendation for our very memorable stay at La Terre d'Or

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank holtz6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LATERREDOR, Propriétaire at La Terre D'or, responded to this review, March 4, 2013
I was sooo happy to take the 3 of you for a vineyard tour and share some of the places I like best. We had a great time visiting both Côte de Beaune and Côte de Nuits and I enjoyed showing you old wine cellars and introducing you to welcoming winemakers. I would love to welcome your family again and show you the northern part of Burgundy near Abbaye of Fontenay. Take care !
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
brasil
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed February 1, 2013

I've been in La Terre D'or some times with my kids and with friends too. I couldn't thing going to Beaune without staying at La Terre D'or. The owners are very nice people, friendly and willing to make the trip the most pleasant as possible. All their suggestions are helpful and perfect. I am just affraid to write about it because it's not a big place and if it gets too crowded I won't be able to find a room. However, as I use Tripadvisor a lot is my obligation to share this place with you all. Don't miss the bathtub inside the cave and the owners daughter art work too.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank nalu24
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LATERREDOR, Propriétaire at La Terre D'or, responded to this review, February 4, 2013
We are very happy to welcome your family and friends from one year to another. We have a good relashionship, you tell us about Brasil and we "travel" thanks to you. We make sure you discover new places in Burgundy every time, hope to see you soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level 4 Contributor
42 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
Reviewed November 28, 2012

We spent 3 nights at this quiet little inn that overlooks the city of Beaune smack in the middle of Burgundy. Perched over the city, it was lovely to sit on the terrace surrounded by the art and flowers and enjoy the views, perhaps sipping some wine picked up during a tasting excursion. It was too chilly to take advantage of the pool, but we did enjoy breakfast on the terrace, which was a hardy selection of cheeses, breads and yogurt, well worth the extra Euros, in my view. One of the special treats of staying here is interacting with the father-son duo who manage the inn, Jean Louis and Vincent. They were very helpful and clearly enjoyed their work. The one small disadvantage for us: we didn't rent a car as we were only passing through Burgundy on our way back to Paris and didn't want the hassle. That was probably a mistake as the inn is at least a 20-minute walk to the outskirts of Beaune (all downhill). The way back (up a VERY steep hill) is not easy and we consider ourselves fit. Overall, a great place to stay (with a car) and I would not hesitate for a moment to recommend this quiet little gem of a place.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank afarmandthirsty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LATERREDOR, Propriétaire at La Terre D'or, responded to this review, December 19, 2012
Thank you for your nice words. As we are up the vineyards, at the top of the hill overlooking Beaune, it's better to rent a car. Anyway you need a car to enjoy visiting the charming villages, have tasting at winemakers and dicover Burgundy. Of course, it's easy to take taxi if you prefer not drive and we can arrange for this.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oakville, Canada
Level 6 Contributor
144 reviews
52 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
Reviewed November 22, 2012

We had a wonderful time at La Terre d'Or. The setting is magical, and the service outstanding. Vincent spent so much time with us offering us very well informed suggestions and helped us plan our day's, his restaurant recommendations were also fantastic. The service is defintely 5 star. It was beautiful being among the vineyards and a very short distance into the beautiful town of Beaune - would highly recommend this B&B!!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Charlotte R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LATERREDOR, Propriétaire at La Terre D'or, responded to this review, December 19, 2012
Thank you. It was a pleasure welcoming you and sharing our best addresses. We hope to see you again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Huntington Beach, California
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed November 13, 2012

Had an unbelievable time staying at La Terre D’or at the beginning of November. We felt like family! Our room was very clean, it was quiet at night, breakfast was delicous, and we loved the location. And the underground hot tub was just an extra bonus. We loved being out in the middle of the vineyards, and looked forward to our morning walk into town. Vincent and Jean Louis were great hosts and within 15 minutes of talking to them, we had the entire town of Beaune mapped out and our itinerary set for the days we were in town. We will definitely come back to Beaune for the food, wine, and hospitality!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank smittydhc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LATERREDOR, Propriétaire at La Terre D'or, responded to this review, December 19, 2012
Thank you, we are very happy that you could feel like at home. We love to speak about Burgundy and help you to discover the bright sides and the more secret aspects. Come again and we will suggest another day itinerary, there is still much to show you!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
White Rock, B.C.
Level 5 Contributor
78 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed November 13, 2012

We just spent 2 nights at this wonderful place. From the time we were welcomed by Vincent until we left on Saturday we received nothing but top notch service. Vincent and Jean Louis are a wealth of information regarding the area and helped us plan our days and nights in Beaune.. We did not miss a thing. Left on one day at 10am and did not come back until 10:30pm and were filled with some absolutely wonderful memories of this wonderful part of France. We will be back!!!!
We were sorry we did not have time to take advantage of the Grotto spa.
Thank you Vincent and Jean Louis for everything and for creating this beautiful tranquil accommodation.

Room Tip: The cottages here look like they would be great for 2 couples to share.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank murphymj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LATERREDOR, Propriétaire at La Terre D'or, responded to this review, December 19, 2012
Thank you. Great to see you enthusiasm visiting Burgundy. Next time, you can relax more and enjoy a bottle of wine in the jacuzzi! We are also making a waterfall, up the swimming pool.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Beaune hotels
1.1 mi away
Hotel de Luxe le Cep
Hotel de Luxe le Cep
#2 of 62 in Beaune
835 reviews
0.9 mi away
Hostellerie Le Cedre
Hostellerie Le Cedre
#5 of 62 in Beaune
625 reviews
6.9 mi away
Le Montrachet
Le Montrachet
#1 of 3 in Puligny-Montrachet
439 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.8 mi away
La Maison d'Olivier Leflaive
La Maison d'Olivier Leflaive
#2 of 3 in Puligny-Montrachet
327 reviews
2.3 mi away
Novotel Beaune
Novotel Beaune
#10 of 62 in Beaune
1,106 reviews
1.3 mi away
Ibis Styles Beaune Centre
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to La Terre D'or? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Terre D'or

Property: La Terre D'or
Address: rue Izembart | La Montagne, 21200, Beaune, France
Phone Number:
Location: France > Bourgogne-Franche-Comte > Cote d'Or > Beaune
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Beaune
#6 Family Hotel in Beaune
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
La Terre d'Or is ideally situated on the hill overlooking Beaune, above the vineyards: you will enjoy unforgettable views.Vincent and Jean-Louis welcome you in a contemporary, luminous and warm guesthouse: 5 charming bedrooms with bathrooms + AC + wifi, a large living room with a fireplace, a sitting room with a piano, a large terrace, a swimming pool and a very surprising grotto with a jacuzzi! Also, 2 self-catering cottages: Les Pins & Les Lilas ... more   less 
Also Known As:
La Terre d`Or Hotel Beaune
Hotel La Terre d Or

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing