We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great B&B experience with wonderful hospitality”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Beaune
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Le Verger du Sausset
Ranked #1 of 60 Beaune B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Luxembourg
Level Contributor
47 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Great B&B experience with wonderful hospitality”
Reviewed July 31, 2013

The rooms of this B&B are beautiful and very comfortable and the location is good, within walking distance (10-15 min.) of the town center of Beaune. Le Verger du Sausset has a generous garden and, very much welcomed during a hot summer, a pool which may be used by the guest.

The breakfast is (for French standards :)) very generous. The delicious jam is homemade, as Marianne assured me.

However, the best aspect of our stay was the amazing hospitality shown by Marianne and Pascal. At the end of the day, that's what separates a bed and breakfast from the anonymity of a hotel - personal conversations with people from the place you are visiting and good individual suggestions. We went to Beaune quite spontaneously without much preparation which turned out not to be a problem as Pascal helped us to make a program for the two days we spent there.

There were some English speaking guests staying there with us and Pascal did his best to converse with them in English, which he seemed to master much better than he himself was willing to admit.

If you are looking for a laid-back quality stay and the personal contact and hospitality that make up an amazing B&B experience, this should be your place to go.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Anselm_randomtoken
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

339 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    310
    28
    0
    1
    0
See reviews for
47
244
3
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (21)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
England
Level Contributor
28 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed July 31, 2013

Maryanne and Pascal's bed and breakfast was a welcome surprise--first-rate in every way: from the air-conditioned lovely room, cute accommodation, beautiful garden setting(and pool), practical shower and separate toilet, and safe parking in their gated driveway...not to mention the delicious breakfast and Pascal's helpfulness in arranging dinner reservations and a private wine-tasting tour! And we don't even speak French! I also appreciated how prompt Pascal was in e-mailing me with queries and that he has google-translate on his email--made my Engllsh emails readable to him and his French readable to me! They truly run a top B and B and are gifted in hospitality! We look forward to coming back on our next visit to France. It is any easy walk to the walled-city as well and so much nicer than staying at a hotel. It's also a short walk to the town center.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank rockford1410
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Castle NH
Level Contributor
64 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
Reviewed June 24, 2013

My wife, daughter and I stayed here for three nights; we broke the visit with a 3 day bike trip around the area. We arrived in Beane by train and from the start we were literally swept off our feet by the sincere and generous hospitality of our hosts Pascal and Marianne.

The property is a 15 minute walk from town, nicely situated at the edge of a large orchard/garden alongside a small river. Our rooms were large, private, very comfortable and nicely appointed. Breakfast was tasty and ample and they served us early when we had an 8:30 AM train to catch.

I hardly know where to begin in terms of the kindness and hospitatity shown to us. The weather was rainy, but Pascal delivered us to and from the train station. They stored our luggage during the bike trip, helped us with all sorts of restaurant and touristic suggestions, and worked with us getting ourselves to and from the bike rental place. They know the area very well and their advice was always reliable. Neither is fluent in English but their rudimentary knowledge and handy Google translator made things work pretty smoothly in that respect. And somehow, in spite of the language issues, we managed to enjoy a lot of witty and fun interaction while we were together with our hosts..

All in all we thoroughly enjoyed our time in the wine country around Beaune and highly recommend Le Verger du Sausset to B&B lovers everywhere.

Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank Randonne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Cruz, CA
Level Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed June 21, 2013

Pascal greeted us as we pulled into the driveway and showed us the beautiful and well appointed suite, which we thoroughly enjoyed. He does know the local restaurants, follow his advice. Beaune can be a tourist trap and his recommendations were spot on. To top off an excellent stay, fellow guests from the Netherlands told us a story of their extensive wine tasting the prior three days. On the recommendation of Pascal they visited a small family winemaker in Volnay and loved his wine. On our way out of town, we followed them to the winemaker, where we had a wonderful morning degustation in his small cellar. Far from the maddening crowds of tourist buses and large chateaus. A perfect ending to a great stay.

Room Tip: The upstairs suite is roomy and well appointed.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JohninSantaCruz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed June 16, 2013

We had a fabulous stay at Le Verger with Pascal and Marianne! I booked the stay with Pascal via email and he was very responsive and there were absolutely no problems with checking in. He gave us a warm welcome when we arrived, showed us to our room and around the property. He also offered to help us make reservations for dinner. Apparently, many restaurants in Beaune are closed on certain days of the week and Pascal went out of his way to figure out which ones were open and helped us book a reservation. He also recommended areas to visit. Marianne and Pascal were wonderful company and we enjoyed talking with them over breakfast. For me, one of the important parts about travel is meeting new people with different life experiences, so getting to know Pascal and Maryanne was a pleasure. The accommodations are very nice and comfortable. The room is spotless with very nice decorations. The bed was very comfortable and the shower was very nice. I felt incredibly relaxed after a weekend stay at Le Verger and re-energized to explore the crazier/busier parts of France. Absolutely great place and experience!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Olga R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rio de Janeiro, RJ
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed June 16, 2013

We spent 2 wonderful nights at this chambre d'hotes which is exceptionally well located for visiting Beaune.....a 10-minute walk takes you to the gate of the old town. The hosts, Marianne and Pascal, were extremely friendly and helpful. Merci beaucoup !

Room Tip: Let the hosts know about your needs and they will pick the best room for you.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Rui W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed May 28, 2013

We recently stayed for three nights and had a wonderful time, with very helpful hosts - who put up with our lack of French - a friendly dog, free bikes for use and a large breakfast! Everything was exceptionally clean and Pascal was even so kind as to drive us to the train station when we were leaving.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Amy84_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Beaune
0.8 mi away
Hotel de Luxe le Cep
Hotel de Luxe le Cep
#2 of 62 in Beaune
809 reviews
0.5 mi away
Novotel Beaune
Novotel Beaune
#9 of 62 in Beaune
1,049 reviews
0.6 mi away
Ibis Styles Beaune Centre
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Hostellerie Le Cedre
Hostellerie Le Cedre
#4 of 62 in Beaune
593 reviews
6.6 mi away
Le Montrachet
Le Montrachet
#1 of 3 in Puligny-Montrachet
411 reviews
2.1 mi away
Relais & Chateaux - Hostellerie de Levernois
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Le Verger du Sausset? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Le Verger du Sausset

Property: Le Verger du Sausset
Address: 20 bis route de Verdun, 21200, Beaune, France
Location: France > Bourgogne-Franche-Comte > Cote d'Or > Beaune
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 60 B&Bs / Inns in Beaune
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 2

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing