We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Fun Pub with outdoor terrace” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Publican Pub - Bar a Vins

The Publican Pub - Bar a Vins
Ranked #66 of 205 Restaurants in Beaune
Price range: $9 - $16
Cuisines: Pub, French, Spanish, Wine Bar
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Dining on a budget
Dining options: Dinner, Drinks, Late Night, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Television
Western Australia, Australia
Level Contributor
501 reviews
315 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 199 helpful votes
“Fun Pub with outdoor terrace”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 14, 2014

This place is always buzzing and you can sit outside under shady umbrellas enjoying a drink by the side of the stream. Interesting cocktails and worth trying, plus good value for money!

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank Maturity
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

67 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    39
    25
    3
    0
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Hong Kong, China
Level Contributor
99 reviews
47 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“A nice "british style" pub in Beaune”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 27, 2014

A small pub style bar with sport on the TV and friendly atmosphere - there is a small terrace overlooking the a small stream and what I assume used to be the city moat (now dry).
Some pub grub available and no dislikes.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank Ron G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
112 reviews
46 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
“Perfect for a 'light supper' & a good bottle of wine”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 6, 2014

We had eaten a very large lunch after some Wine Tasting during a Wine Tour, and did not know what to eat in the evening or whether or not a restaurant would accept our limited desires. We had this wine bar in our Trip Advisor listing which we took with us, and we gave the place a try. Our experience bore out all the good Reviews you will find on the place on Trip Advisor. The guy serving could not have been more helpful. The chacuterie platter was spot on for our needs. If left my hotel key card and umbrella on a sofa; went back half an hour later and he produced it immediately. Ten out of ten.

  • Visited May 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank gladys70
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Papamoa, Bay of Plenty, New Zealand
Level Contributor
29 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Great environment and good prices”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 24, 2014

Great spot for a drink, with generous and meat and cheese platters. Obviously lots of locals, which is a good sign, and the bartender spoke excellent English and was helpful and friendly.

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank glenstorey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liverpool
Level Contributor
126 reviews
78 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
“Very French take on an 'English pub'”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 28, 2013

At first glance, the Publican could be mistaken for one of those ghastly faux English/Irish bars you find in many continental towns. The name, the TV showing sport and the big Guinness sign outside, certainly suggest this. However, don't be fooled. This is not a bar packed with drunk Brits in football shirts; it is actually a very nice bar, which happens to show sport on TV (they will show English football/rugby if you ask and if they can find the game). But, more than this, it is a comfortable, pleasant place, serving quality drinks and simple food (platters of local cheese or charcuterie). It has a small terrace at the rear, overlooking a river and we were served by a very friendly barman (maybe the owner) whose parents grow and make wine close to the town. We spent a great evening in the Publican and can recommend it.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank SeamasterSteve
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Publican Pub - Bar a Vins also viewed

Beaune, Cote d'Or
 
Beaune, Cote d'Or
 

Been to The Publican Pub - Bar a Vins? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing