We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Open today: 10:00 AM - 1:00 PM, 2:00 PM - 6:00 PM
Save
Review Highlights
Great exhibits if you read French

As wine lovers we had high expectations for the museum, however the experience was not as... read more

Reviewed 1 week ago
Steve M
,
Dallas, Texas
Interesting Museum

Definitely worth a visit if you are interested in wine. Be aware though that not all exhibits are... read more

Reviewed October 6, 2018
Emily T
via mobile
Read all 226 reviews
  
Top Selling Tours & Activities in and around Beaune
from $203.30
More Info
from $303.56
More Info
from $197.50
More Info
Reviews (226)
Filter reviews
93 results
Traveler rating
23
30
32
7
1
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
23
30
32
7
1
Show reviews that mention
All reviews wine museum barrel making wine making wine presses basic french english language non french speaking very interesting museum wine enthusiast wine growing beautiful building on display different wines video tools soil descriptor
Filter
Updating list...
1 - 10 of 93 reviews
Reviewed 1 week ago

As wine lovers we had high expectations for the museum, however the experience was not as accessible as we hoped as we do not read French. Interesting artifacts, but the textual materials were useless.

Thank Steve M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

The ticket to the hospice provided free entry to this museum. It's a great place to learn about all aspects of wine and wine making. If you want to go in-depth, allow 2 hours. Well worth a visit.

Thank Long T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 6, 2018 via mobile

Definitely worth a visit if you are interested in wine. Be aware though that not all exhibits are translated into English so it might not be as good for non-French speakers. The museum is set in a beautiful building too. I don’t mind paying for a museum but would probably say that the price was a little high here, which is why I’ve only given 4 stars.

Thank Emily T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 20, 2018

I did find entering this museum a little unwelcoming but perhaps that was because of my very basic French skills. It was also very hot when we went so I was probably not concentrating. Nevertheless there were lots of exhibits that explored the development of wine in Beaune and in a wonderful old building too so well worth a visit.

Thank Pauline S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 31, 2018

This hidden gem in Beaune is worth a visit for anyone interested in the world of wines and wine production in the Burgundy region. The exhibits are informative and interesting once you figure out the flow of the museum (it could be a bit confusing at first when you first enter particularly if you don't speak French).

1  Thank Pccla74
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 30, 2018 via mobile

The museum is situated in the ancient part of Beaune, well and beautifully hidden. The exposition is informative but lacks the focus of orientation on non-french-speaking visitors. The main information boards are presented in English, but more than 75% is only readable if your French is good. We found the presented topics (on history, production information, soil varieties and the impact therefrom on the taste and quality of wine) well explained and interesting. We were missing the interactive approach and use of modern technologies. So, worth a visit but our advise is to (at least) make translations available on everything presented in English and to spice up the exposition.

Thank JanMartinTimmer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 28, 2018

In a two story old building, this museum exhibits all that has to do with wine since it started in the area. It is visitor friendly with tests and interactive areas.

Thank MaykayS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 15, 2018 via mobile

Pinot noir wines in cote d or in all categories overestimated and over priced. I this grape can hardly compete with syrrah, zindernel, cabernet sauvignon. Which you can find in great quality for normal prices

Thank Alexander T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 14, 2018

Well laid out wine museum in the centre of Beaune. Lovely old building - a perfect setting despite the extraordinarily creaky floor in the final upstairs room with the large tapestries!
As other reviewers have noted there is not a lot of information in English but with some basic French you can generally grasp what the labels are about. The films were especially interesting, often in both French and English, on television screens with space for a few people to sit and watch. Very well laid out with plenty of old wine making equipment on display and old photographs of various stages of the process. Recommend.

Thank Jane M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 4, 2018

There are some descriptors in English but not at every station. Great overview of wine making in general but more specifically why this area of the world makes some of the greatest wines.

Thank Craig C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews