We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“one reason to not travel with a tour group”
Review of Hotel Athanor

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel Athanor
Ranked #46 of 62 Hotels in Beaune
Knoxville, Tennessee
Level 4 Contributor
34 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
“one reason to not travel with a tour group”
Reviewed June 9, 2012

My husband and I were in Beaune with a Rick Steves tour group. As a result we had no control over our accommodations. Our room had no A/C which we would normally have no problem with as we were traveling in May. However the location of this hotel is, shall we say, too good? This was the noisiest location of our trip. The streets stay noisy with motorcycles and horns honking from weddings and market is being set up right outside your window. The metal stakes they use to set up tents sound like a sword fight going on first thing in the morning. Our room was small for Europe standards. We showered the entire bathroom during each shower as there was no door or curtain. The staff was not particularly welcoming but I thought maybe they didn't like tour groups. On the positive side: It DID have a comfortable bed!

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank drobotka
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

281 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    52
    101
    68
    36
    24
See reviews for
33
152
10
17
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (31)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Huntingdon, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
57 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed June 1, 2012

Worst experience I have had in a long time. The hotel,if that is was it is, needs a complete overhaul,including the receptionist's. Their attitude is enough to put any one off ever wanting to stay here.
The staircase leading to what I understand are their better rooms would certainly fail any Heath and safety checks in the uk.
One receptionist was very nice but the other is enought to ever put you off staying there.
We decided to go to their bar one night. Big mistake. We arrived at 10.02 to be told that the bar had closed. We said that was ridiculous they were a hotel. They grudgingly allowed us access but told us that we would have to leave by 10.30, a really warm and welcoming attitude!!!
We ordered 5 coffee's and wanted 4 brandy's. They told us they only had enough for three people. We asked for another glass and had to share the three brandy's between us. This is supposed to be a hotel????
We could have bought them a lot more business as we had a group staying there but instead went out of the hotel to other bars were we were made to feel more welcome.
Someone should teach he people at this hotel that they are in the hospitality business. Obviously nobody has.
Don't go here unless you are desperate.

Room Tip: Don't go in the tower unless you are very fit because the stairs are trecherous and you will g...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank draindoctor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Beaune hotels

Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed May 31, 2012

Having read the previous reviews about the rude behavior of one of the receptionists, I was hesitant to book this hotel. Unfortunately, I did book two nights here in May, and my friends and I were treated very poorly. We decided to have a few drinks in the hotel bar. We were told it closed at 10 pm, so at 10 minutes before 10 we decided to order a second glass of wine in order to make last call. The receptionist's reaction can only be compared to the temper tantrum that a five year old child might throw. She stormed into the bar area stomping her feet, knocked down a chair on her way, slammed the bar cabinets, and slammed the bottles down on the bar. It was such a violent, childish display, it bordered on comical. Had she maintained her composure and simply said that she didn't serve drinks that close to closing time, we would have been fine with that. She was also working when we checked out, and and she would not even speak to us during that interaction. I have never seen an adult act this way, particularly in a customer service-oriented industry.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank GreenAppleC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed May 19, 2012

We had a fantastic stay in this hotel in Beaune. The hotel was beautiful and our room was ideal, with quaint oak beams on the ceiling and a tastefully modern bathroom. We had views out of shuttered windows onto the lovely town square. A large and very comfortable bed gave us three great nights sleep. Air con was also very welcome during the freak 30 degree weather! A great base for exploring a beautiful, historic city and its surrounding winelands

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Bob B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 5 Contributor
87 reviews
51 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 98 helpful votes
Reviewed May 3, 2012

This is a fun hotel when you want something a bit different. We had a spiral staircase from the 15th century to storm to get to our room. Our room faced the courtyard, had a huge window, wooden beams in the ceiling and the most comfortable bed ever. The bathroom had just been updated and was very nice. I found the staff to be very friendly and helpful and my french is limitted to what's on a menu. This is not a hotel for kids, which may be the base of others complaints. It has hard surfaces, stone walls and floors and no amenities for entertaining kids-the pool table in the bar/lounge is not a toy. There are many great restaurant close by- the more reasonably priced ones are outside the city walls. I will stay here again on our next wine buying, I mean drinking, trip.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kwoodRochester
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Palatine, IL
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed March 13, 2012

We returned to this lovely town after a 12 year hiatus, but made the mistake of staying at the Althanor Hotel. Our receptionist was, at best, cool, and she appeared to not understand our French and English. The rooms were low-ceilinged and small, and we heard the disco music from the club underneath our room all night long. Then, at about 5 a.m., the street vendors began to set up the market...no sleep that Friday night. Breakfast was an additional 12 Euro plus a 1 Euro tax. We were told the hotel was full, so we had to make a breakfast decision the night before, but when we got to the breakfast room, only one other table was "reserved..." and we saw no one else there the whole time we were there.

Room Tip: don't stay here
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Fred M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Corvallis, Oregon
Level 5 Contributor
41 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed February 6, 2012

Our first time to France and what a beautiful welcome the city of Beaune and the Athanor Centre Hotel were. The room was clean, quaint but modern and the bed was extremely comfortable. All the staff were extremely friendly, even thought we did not speak much French, they tried very hard to speak english for us. We arrived late on a Sunday night and after unpacking, had a glass of wine (Burgundy of course) in their own wine bar and then we were given a wonderful recommendation for a restaurant close by. The hotel was within walking distance to many shops restautants and beautiful scenery. Beaune is one fo the most beautiful villages we've ever experienced in Europe. We will be back and staying at Anthanor Centre Hotel again!

Room Tip: This is not a noisy town, but rooms on the back side of hotel will be quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kimmer0722
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Beaune hotels
0.3 mi away
Hotel au Grand Saint Jean
0.3 mi away
Ibis Styles Beaune Centre
0.3 mi away
Hotel Des Remparts
Hotel Des Remparts
#27 of 62 in Beaune
242 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Hotel de la Cloche
Hotel de la Cloche
#29 of 62 in Beaune
310 reviews
0.3 mi away
Ibis Beaune Centre
Ibis Beaune Centre
#21 of 62 in Beaune
775 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel de la Paix
Hotel de la Paix
#26 of 62 in Beaune
446 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Athanor? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Athanor

Property: Hotel Athanor
Address: 9 avenue de la Republique, 21200, Beaune, France
Location: France > Bourgogne-Franche-Comte > Cote d'Or > Beaune
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #46 of 62 Hotels in Beaune
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Athanor 3*
Number of rooms: 32
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Orbitz, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets and Hotwire so you can book your Hotel Athanor reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tulip Inn Beaune
Beaune Tulip Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing