We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Gem of a place!”
Review of Hotel de la Poste

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hotel de la Poste
Ranked #20 of 62 Hotels in Beaune
Certificate of Excellence
Boulder, Colorado
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Gem of a place!”
Reviewed May 7, 2013

My husband and I stayed here for 3 nights in April 2013. The first thing I have to say is that there is a wonderful staff here! Very, very, very friendly and helpful which I consider extremely important in a hotel, especially when traveling abroad. We loved visiting the bar each night, and even snuck in a few games of pool. Nice sized clean, sweet rooms. Great location right outside the old city walls, about a 5 minute walk to the middle of town. I'd stay here again!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank NWGoosieGirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JFMARTINET, Directeur général at Hotel de la Poste, responded to this review, May 12, 2013
Dear Madam & Sir,

We thank you for your comment on Tripadvisor.

We are very happy that you enjoyed your stay and the staff and it is for us also very important to be available with our guests.

We are looking forward to welcoming again soon.

Best Regards,

Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

496 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    196
    219
    50
    19
    12
See reviews for
69
290
11
32
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (51)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Newark-on-Trent, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed April 22, 2013

This was a slightly disappointing stay with regard to the restaurant. No complaints as to the food but the service left a great deal to be desired. It appeared they were running training course for the younger members of the staff. We were no even offed the cheese trolley on the first night (Wednesday 17th) and on the second night had to ask for it since it had not been presented prior to the desert course. No barman in the bar at all, we had to order at reception. This is frankly not good enough for this standard of Hotel. We have no complaints regarding the quality of the food.

Rooms were excellent we had a first floor apartment overlooking the main ring road that had been fitted with new sound proofed windows. Room 102. Spotlessly clean.

The reception staff were exemplary.

Room Tip: The Hotel is being refurbished I believe check the rooms before check in.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ozzie1103
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JFMARTINET, Directeur général at Hotel de la Poste, responded to this review, April 26, 2013
Dear Madam & Sir,

We thank you for your comment on Tripadvisor.
We are very happy that you enjoyed your room and the front desk staff.
We do apologies for the inconvenient you had during your diner.
It is correct that we had 2 young Cadies in training period during your diner and we should have pay more intention.
We tried to teach them how a restaurant worked but as I said we should have check their duties.
We are looking forward to welcoming you again soon and we will make sure that next time, you won't be disappointed.

Best Regards,

Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
176 reviews
103 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 151 helpful votes
Reviewed April 13, 2013

What a pleasure it was to stay here for two nights.

Wonderfully polite staff, lovely rooms that are spotlessly clean and beautifully decorated, and a great bar and restaurant.

We ate here on the first night and the food was absolutely superb. The wine list was excellent too. The bar was a great place for pre-dinner drinks and a nightcap.

Breakfast is a big buffet of delicious dishes and even includes a big cheese board.

It is in a great location, just a short walk into the centre of Beaune and to a big choice of great bars and restaurants and the Hospice de Beaune. I will certainly return.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sirbalkansobranie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JFMARTINET, Directeur général at Hotel de la Poste, responded to this review, April 17, 2013
Dear Madam and Sir,

We thank you for your nice comment on Tripadvisor.

We are very happy that you enjoyed every service in our hotel and we will inform the staff regarding your satisfaction.

We are looking forward to welcoming you again soon.

Best Regards,

Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia, USA
Level 6 Contributor
190 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 83 helpful votes
Reviewed April 8, 2013

My room, while rather small, was well appointed with a nice bathroom/shower. My room faced into the interior which was much quieter than the rooms facing out onto the busy road. The hotel has a great location for walking right into town from the ring road. The breakfast was just OK. The usual yogurt, cheeses, etc with something that may have been (powdered?) watery, scrambled eggs.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank R Grant C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JFMARTINET, Directeur général at Hotel de la Poste, responded to this review, April 17, 2013
Dear Madam and Sir,

We thank you for your comment on Tripadvisor.

We are very happy that you enjoyed your stay in Beaune and particularly in our hotel.

We just wanted to tell you that now we are cooking every morning “made home” scramble eggs.

We are looking forward to welcoming you soon.

Best Regards,

Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bodrum City, Turkey
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed March 18, 2013

We were expectig to find a better service. Hotel itself is nice, room (junior suite) was larger enough however beds need to be changed, very soft and not comfortable to sleep. Rooms does not have minibar.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sema66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JFMARTINET, Directeur général at Hotel de la Poste, responded to this review, March 23, 2013
Dear Madam & Sir,

We thank you for your note on Tripadvisor.
We are happy that you enjoyed the "caractere" of our hotel.
Concerning the beds, we have a refurbishing program.
We want to remember you that our collegue propose you to change the room (he showed you 3 rooms)
There is no more mini bar in the rooms but you have the bar and the barman at your disposal.
You can order something in your room even in the night (there is someone at the hotel 24h a day)
We hope to see you again to give you a better service and we will do the best we can for your satisfaction.
Best Regards

The Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed March 1, 2013

After driving for most of the day through France, we arrived in Beaune at around 7pm (and had to find a place to stay). We arrived on the doorstep of Hotel de la Poste, and were lucky to get such a warm and inviting welcome.

The hotel staff were incredibly friendly & attentive during our short stay; always happy to answer questions, or advice about things to see and places to eat. We had dinner in the restaurant one evening, and while it was at the pricier end, it was really lovely with lots of selection and a great wine list with local wines. The restaurant was very quiet during our stay, so not many people around, but I’m sure in the warmer months there would be a great buzz around the place.

Location wise, Beaune is such a small town, that I’m fairly sure that wherever you stay will be a good spot. This is no exception with the Hotel de la Poste, you can walk anywhere in the town from this location in around 5-10minutes. It is on the outer ring of the old walled city, and because of this, it also had lots of parking which is great for people who are travelling with a car.

The room was on the smaller side, but it was very well kept, and had modern fittings. The bed was very comfy, and the bathroom was bright and clean. Our room was facing the main road around the town, but there were no issues with noise, the windows were quite thick. The price of our room also included breakfast, which was served in the hotel restaurant. Great selection, but I probably wouldn’t have paid extra for it.

We were planning to stay in Beaune for only 1 night, but were so taken by the small, sweet little town, and the relaxing feel of the hotel we decided to stay longer. It’s worth looking into if you’re in the area.

Thanks for a great stay.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank RestlessMac
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JFMARTINET, Directeur général at Hotel de la Poste, responded to this review, March 31, 2013
Dear Madam & Sir,

We thank you for your comment on Tripadvisor. We are very happy that you enjoyed your stay in our hotel and we hope to see you again soon.

Best Regards,

Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Markham, Ontario, Canada
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed February 25, 2013

After touring France for 2 weeks, we spent 2 nights at Hotel de la Poste in Beaune before driving to Paris and flying home. My husband and I were meeting my 2 girlfriends at the hotel. They arrived before us and were thrilled to be upgraded to a larger room. Well when we arrived we were upgraded to a beautiful suite! My friends couldn't believe it. We loved the hotel and the patio outside. We also loved the fact that you could walk to the shopping village which wasn't far away. The village even has a pub! It was a wonderful relaxing break before heading home. The hotel is warm and inviting and quite stylish. I don't think we would have enjoyed it quite as much if they didn't upgrade us to a larger room or, in our case, to a suite.

Room Tip: Go for the larger rooms if possible.
See more room tips
Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank Susan P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JFMARTINET, Directeur général at Hotel de la Poste, responded to this review, March 31, 2013
Dear Madam & Sir,

We thank you for your comment on Tripadvisor. Concerning your room, the period was not busy and it was a pleasure for us to upgrade your room in a Suite available. We are happy that you enjoyed the "caractere" of our lovely city and that you spent a good time with us.
We hope to see you again soon.

Best Regards,

Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Beaune hotels
0.1 mi away
Hotel de Luxe le Cep
Hotel de Luxe le Cep
#2 of 62 in Beaune
835 reviews
0.3 mi away
Ibis Styles Beaune Centre
0.4 mi away
Hostellerie Le Cedre
Hostellerie Le Cedre
#5 of 62 in Beaune
625 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Abbaye de Maizieres
Abbaye de Maizieres
#18 of 62 in Beaune
361 reviews
1.3 mi away
Novotel Beaune
Novotel Beaune
#10 of 62 in Beaune
1,106 reviews
6.4 mi away
La Maison d'Olivier Leflaive
La Maison d'Olivier Leflaive
#2 of 3 in Puligny-Montrachet
327 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel de la Poste? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel de la Poste

Property: Hotel de la Poste
Address: 5 boulevard Clemenceau, 21200, Beaune, France
Location: France > Bourgogne-Franche-Comte > Cote d'Or > Beaune
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Romantic Hotel in Beaune
#11 Luxury Hotel in Beaune
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel de la Poste 4*
Number of rooms: 36
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This former XVII century post house has 36 bedrooms, including 3 suites overlooking an interior garden or the old Beaune town ramparts.Its warm welcome and cosseted atmosphere make this magnificent hotel, situated right in the heart of the historical city of Beaune, a genuinely exceptional venue.At lunch time, you will be entranced by the cuisine offered in "Le Bistro" with its warm and friendly atmosphere and it shady terrace.For dinner, "Le Relais" restaurant will welcome you to discover its noble gastronomic cuisine brimming with subtle flavours. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Fastbooking, Cancelon, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Agoda and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel de la Poste reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
De La Poste Hotel
De La Poste Beaune

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing