We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Dont treat this place like you Home!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Hostellerie de Bretonniere
Ranked #24 of 62 Hotels in Beaune
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed August 9, 2010

The manageress runs this place like a prison camp walking around with a cigarette hanging out of her mouth looking for trouble. Don't treat this place like your home she barks, you may not wash clothes in you room or sunbathe on the sun loungers unless fully clothed and if you have paid extra to take your dog it must be on a leash at all times and either in your car (very sensible in August only if you want a dead dog) or locked in the room . The breakfast is a rip off and only 1 croissant permitted per person or else! and yes extra Euros for a tiny glass of orange juice. The room next to us had broken air-conditioning and a filthy bathroom according to our neighbours. It is badly in need of a renovation and what's the point of a charming garden if the manageress wont let you enjoy it. The owners should employ a new manager to re-invigoratate this stuffy and unwelcoming establishment the current one demands respect but gives her Clients none, she manipulates her staff to cause arguments and ensures that gates and reception are locked at 8.30 so don't be back late or dare to have a good time on your holiday. And be prepared to be kept up late and woken up early by people arriving leaving the hotel car-park, conveniently located in the middle of hotel adjoining what otherwise would be a tranquil garden. Boo to Hotel Bretonniere find somewhere else to stay where the staff are accommodating and friendly, there are plenty of others to choose from.

  • Stayed: August 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
8  Thank dazerfed
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (246)
There are newer reviews for Hostellerie de Bretonniere
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

62 - 68 of 246 reviews

Reviewed June 3, 2010

We stayed here in their duplex addition, which had a living area below with a pullout bed and bathroom and loft bedroom upstairs. The room was spacious, the beds were comfortable (although a bit firm) and the bathroom was large. The gardens and flowers gave the hotel a nice ambiance and there was plenty of parking. Location was good, less than a 5 minute walk into town. A good value for the money. Also, the hotel was able to suggest a nice restaurant, Arome d'Italie, which had very nice Italian food if one is looking for something other than the regional cuisine. (Wifi Internet is available for 5 euros for 2 days)

  • Stayed: May 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Catbes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 8, 2010

We stayed at the Hostellerie de Bretonniere for two nights, and found it comfortable and affordable. It is just outside of the old town's perimeter road, so the walk to sites like Hotel Dieu is very quick and easy.

After a long day of traveling, flight delays, and losing our luggage, we arrived late to the hotel. The staff was friendly, spoke decent English, and checked us in quickly, giving us a couple of recommendations for a good dinner, as well.

Our room was small, but comfortable. For 55 Euro, we had two beds pushed together, a clean bath with a towel warming rack (great in the cold Burgundian winters!), and a TV with French and German stations, CNN, and BBC. It was perfect for getting over our jet lag, and warming up after sightseeing. Very adequate heat, which wasn't the case everywhere we went in Burgundy. We were very pleased with the room, especially for the price.

We didn't try very hard, but weren't able to get the wifi to work. Additionally, we chose to take our fellow travelers' advice and skip the hotel breakfast (6 Euro). We popped over to a local cafe for our breakfast each morning, and saved the money for more wine at dinner. The parking was free, secure, and very close to our room, which was a definite bonus.

Overall, I'd definitely recommend this to a traveler who's looking for a clean, comfy, well-located room at a great price.

  • Stayed: January 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank AlohaNYC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 2, 2010

This hotel was adequate for our one night stay, altough with 5 of us crammed into one room (2 double beds and a single bed), it was a tight fit. The actual room is decorated nicely with a very nice and modern bathroom, however the bed linens and towels were old and pillows were terribly uncomfortable. The room was very musty smelling. There was no fridge or tea/coffee making facilities, and the TV was very small, although did have English speaking channels. The breakfast was a nice continental breakfast, but be warned the orange juice cost 2 euros each for a tiny glass, and this is not mentioned until you go to pay your bill. The service however is exceptionally friendly and warm. Beaune itself is a gorgeous village and full of beautiful shops selling amazing foods and wines. The hotel is a short walk from the centre of Beaune.

  • Stayed: December 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank EddiOZ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 21, 2009

After driving round Beaune for an hour, we chose this hotel from a list given to us by the Tourist Office. The location was excellent, just a few minutes walk from the town centre and one of the cheaper hotels in the town, but unfortunately our room was the one closest to the road and the gates. The hotel is laid out a bit like and American motel, so some of the rooms are right on the driveway. Great for taking your suitcases in from the car but all night we were kept awake by traffic from the road and the opening and closing of the electronic gates which were right outside our window and closed after 10pm. Anyone coming in or leaving after that time had to press a buzzer and the gates would squeak open. I don't know where all these people were going to at 3am, but there was a steady stream of them opening and closing the gates....

Our room was clean, but very stuffy - we couldn't open the window because of the noise. Even for the cheapest room left (59 euros) I would not recommend this one, based on the noise. The bathroom was OK, a bit shabby and mouldy as someone else has commented on here, a couple of thin towels are provided. Bed was OK. We could hear the neighbouring room's occupants very clearly though as the walls were pretty thin, but they shut up at 10pm so that was fine.

The staff were friendly and helpful, and we had a nice drink in the bar under the trees before our dinner, but my main criteria for a hotel room revolve around getting a good night's sleep, and this one did not meet it. Perhaps the other rooms away from the road and gates are quieter, but I can only speak from our experience. Therefore I'm afraid I have to say I could not recommend the hotel to a friend.

Beaune itself was very pretty, but compared to other areas of France we had just visited was quite pricey, and the particular restaurant we visited over priced for the food. I could have made a better coq au vin myself, and we were charged 16 euros for it. I dislike paying a lot of money for food in a restaurant that I can make better myself. Breakfast at the hotel was about 7 euros, so we found a cafe down the road out of the town which was better value. Parking is free, and they take credit cards.

  • Stayed: August 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank jetsetter77Uk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 18, 2009

It was a pleasant stay. We had booked a suite with comfortable beds and a bathroom with a spacious shower stall. Parking is inside the court and mostly shady. Continental breakfast can be taken outside in the garden (well - the coffee was a little bit weak) . Beaune centre is nearby and it takes not more than a 5 minutes walk to reach it.
The service is friendly and helpful. We are looking forward to visit Beaune again - hopefully in the same hotel.

  • Stayed: June 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Le_Flaneur1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 1, 2009

Modest exterior, but a useful find near Beaune town centre. Room adequate and well-soundproofed (despite 2 courtyards of cars nearby). Watch out that you don't get tempted into ordering the "pressé" orange juice at breakfast, for which there is an extra E3,50 charge (which was not displayed). This caused an unseemly argument between our tour manager and one particularly aggressive staff member!

  • Stayed: May 2009
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Nick C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Beaune hotels
0.1 mi away
Hotel Belle Epoque
Hotel Belle Epoque
#16 of 62 in Beaune
472 reviews
0.1 mi away
Ibis Beaune Centre
Ibis Beaune Centre
#22 of 62 in Beaune
784 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel de la Paix
Hotel de la Paix
#25 of 62 in Beaune
456 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Ibis Styles Beaune Centre
0.5 mi away
Hotel de la Cloche
Hotel de la Cloche
#32 of 62 in Beaune
317 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel au Grand Saint Jean
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hostellerie de Bretonniere? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hostellerie de Bretonniere

Address: 43 rue du Faubourg Bretonniere, 21200, Beaune, France
Location: France > Bourgogne-Franche-Comte > Cote d'Or > Beaune
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #24 of 62 Hotels in Beaune
Price Range: $111 - $155 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hostellerie de Bretonniere 3*
Number of rooms: 31
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The attractive building used to be a staging post. It is built around an interior courtyard and garden. Each of the 31 bedrooms is individually designed, tastefully decorated and comfortably furnished. They all have a pleasant bathroom with hairdryer supplied, WC, automatic alarm clock, television and direct line telephone.On the wine road and yet just five minutes on foot from the cobbled streets in the city centre, the hotel is a quiet heaven in the heart of the town: L'Hotel de BretonnièreOn arrival, you can park your car in the private, locked and free of charge parking and will find all the services you expect in a modern hotel, in part with air-conditionned. The bar and two comfortable lounges equipped with Wi-Fi add to the relaxing atmosphere. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and TripOnline SA so you can book your Hostellerie de Bretonniere reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hostellerie De Bretonniere Hotel Beaune

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing