We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“An amazing hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hotel de Luxe le Cep
Ranked #2 of 62 Hotels in Beaune
Certificate of Excellence
A TripAdvisor Member
“An amazing hotel”
Reviewed February 4, 2006

We stayed at this hotel for one night on a recent trip to Burgundy. From the moment we arrived we were impressed by the whole place. The staff were extremely helpful and friendly. On arrival we were upgraded to a suite (which was a great surprise). The room was perfectly decorated for the style of the hotel and was immaculate with bedroom and separate sitting area plus huge modern bathroom with separate shower. Only downside was the additional cost of parking and breakfast neither of which are included in the room price. The bar had a beautiful open fire and is open 24 hours. The menu at the restaurant looks fantastic (and well priced) but unfortunately the restaurant was closed for the month of Feb.

Helpful?
2 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

835 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    510
    228
    72
    18
    7
See reviews for
113
497
31
36
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (129)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Great Britain
Level 2 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed January 23, 2006

On recommendation we decided to stay at this hotel for 1 night prior to a skiing holiday in the French Alps. We booked a specific room and asked for an extra bed to be added for our daughter. Our booking was confirmed by the hotel in an email. On arrival we were told that we could no longer have this room as it would not fit the extra bed and that we were being 'upgraded' to another bedroom. I'm afraid we were very disappointed. We were given a room directly next to a conference room - and were awoken very early the following morning by the room being prepared for a meeting, and unfortunately found that the shower in the bathroom leaked all over the floor, (yes the shower door was shut). We did report this to the manager who apologised and said that this would be looked into but questioned why we had specified a certain room to begin with! Our feelings were that we should have been notified to begin with if the room that we requested would not be suitable. On a more positive note the staff on reception were pleasant and the restaurant attached to the hotel seemed very popular with the locals. A great shame as we stay in Beaune regularly.

  • Stayed December 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank snow-chicette
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Neuilly sur Seine FRANCE
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed January 15, 2006

We just returned from a weekend at Le Cep in Beaune. It was fantastic!! We were upgraded to a suite, given a complimentary bottle of champagne and treated royally, by the staff. Since it was "out of season" there were very few guests at the hotel and dining was like having our own personal chef and maid. The staff was very attentive and the 3 day package deal offered by the hotel (which included a personal tour of a winery, dinner in Bernard Morillon, entrance to the exhibit "Treasures of the Cathedrals of Europe," and lunch at the Gourmandin) was a great bargain. We would definitely return.

  • Stayed January 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank LAC47
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, England
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 79 helpful votes
Reviewed November 21, 2005

We spent four nights in le Cep to coincide with the Trois Glorieuses wine festival.

Our room was on the second floor and we were disappointed it was so small. The very small accompanying ensuite bathroom had no bath which was a pity but a very efficient shower. There was reasonably efficient air conditioning and a supplementary electric wall heater which was very necessary as the weather was dry but very cold.

Unfortunately the hotel was full so we could not upgrade. We paid Euro 160 a night and an upgrade to a room and bathroom twice the size would have been only an extra Euro 30.

The reception and other staff were friendly and efficient. Room service was superbly efficient as was the plentiful breakfast buffet.

They made a great play of their valet parking and private garage which worked well for us but the interior of our friends' Mercedes was vandalised whilst in their care. It appears that one of the parking attendants alledgedly broke the driver's electric window switch and then panicked and attempted to mend it with Superglue. It looked like he also tried to remove the nappa leather-clad door handle with a screwdriver and gouged the leather in several places. Considering the generally excellent reputation of the hotel we were rather surprised that the person concerned didnt report the matter so it could have been sorted out sensibly and amicably but it was left for our friend to discover. The matter is now under investigation.

Other posters have mentioned the Bernard Morillon restaurant in the hotel. We considered eating here but were put off by the advice of a friend who is a restaurant critic for the Good Food Guide and had done so the previous year; in his opinion it lost its Michelin star for good reason.

Despite the above negative comments we would definitely return to le Cep. In our experience, incidents like these and theft of belongings from hotel rooms are sadly all too prevalent in France and notoriously difficult to resolve.

  • Stayed November 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank Paul Th
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed November 8, 2005

We just returned from a 3 night stay at Le Cep. Given the positive reviews, our expectations were high. We were not disappointed. Our suite in a side wing of the hotel combined 16th century charm with 21st century comfort and plumbing. The multi-tasking staff(one charming young man carried luggage, parked our car, and mixed up a great martini!) were welcoming and friendly and spoke excellent English. Breakfast, while a bit pricey (18 euros per person), consisted of a comprehensive buffet, including unlimited freshly squeezed orange juice and wonderful coffee.

We had a wonderful dinner at the Bernard Morillon restaurant attached to the hotel and can't understand why this restaurant lost its Michelin star. It certainly surpassed many Michelin 1 star restaurants that we've eaten in.

In all, we found Beaune a lovely base for our wine-tasting and wine-buying excursions and Le Cep a charming place to stay.

  • Stayed November 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
london
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 90 helpful votes
Reviewed October 25, 2005

This is a wonderful hotel, a real gem. I think it is described in Lonely Planet France as the finest hotel in France... and although I've not stayed in every one(!), I'd have to agree with their sentiments.

Positives:
+ Extremely friendly staff
+ Beautifully furnished rooms
+ Elegant surroundings and grounds
+ Fantastic breakfast

Downsides
- Not cheap, but worth it

  • Stayed August 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank jenster001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Beaune hotels
0.3 mi away
Hostellerie Le Cedre
Hostellerie Le Cedre
#4 of 62 in Beaune
625 reviews
6.6 mi away
Le Montrachet
Le Montrachet
#1 of 3 in Puligny-Montrachet
442 reviews
6.5 mi away
La Maison d'Olivier Leflaive
La Maison d'Olivier Leflaive
#2 of 3 in Puligny-Montrachet
328 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Hotel de la Poste
Hotel de la Poste
#20 of 62 in Beaune
496 reviews
0.1 mi away
Abbaye de Maizieres
Abbaye de Maizieres
#17 of 62 in Beaune
363 reviews
0.3 mi away
Ibis Styles Beaune Centre
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel de Luxe le Cep? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel de Luxe le Cep

Property: Hotel de Luxe le Cep
Address: 27 rue Maufoux, 21200, Beaune, France
Location: France > Bourgogne-Franche-Comte > Cote d'Or > Beaune
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Luxury Hotel in Beaune
#2 Family Hotel in Beaune
#7 Romantic Hotel in Beaune
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel de Luxe le Cep 4*
Number of rooms: 65
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hotel Le Cep and Spa Marie de Bourgogne, member of the Small Luxury Hotels of the World and Chateaux & Hotels Collection, is ideally located in the heart of the medieval city of Beaune, capital of the wines of Burgundy. Our 65 rooms including 29 suites are different and personalized with names corresponding to famous Burgundy wines, and unique decoration. Open in fall 2015, the spa Marie de Bourgogne is a refined and elegant space. Keeping in harmony with the pure Burgundian spirit of the Cep, the spa offers over 350 square meters dedicated to 12 different sensorial experiences. We also have a fitness center on the top of a panoramic tower, several lounges, a bar, a gastronomical restaurant « Loiseau des Vignes », a one star Michelin independently managed, two courtyards dated XVI century, a garden “a la francaise”, a private parking, and 4 conference rooms. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Orbitz, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Hotwire, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Hotel de Luxe le Cep reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
De Luxe Le Cep Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing