We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Tres Bon in Beaune”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hotel de Luxe le Cep
Ranked #3 of 62 Hotels in Beaune
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed June 3, 2013

Le Cep is a wonderful base for exploring Burgundy. We stayed in May 2013. The hotel is perfectly situated in the heart of Beaune. All of the staff was great and very service oriented. There is always someone to help you with anything you need (not a given in French hotels, even pricey ones).

We stayed in room 006 – a “Grand Cru” junior suite – a very big room that could easily accommodate a couple (in the king bed) and a child (in the day bed). The room was charming and had wonderful views into a lovely courtyard, a sitting area and large bath and shower. We didn’t get to check out the air-conditioning as the weather was cool and we were able to leave our windows open much of the time. The courtyard at night was very quiet though the birds were noisy in the morning! Everything was totally updated and in top shape.

They put fresh fruit in the room every day – a nice touch. We had some dry-cleaning done for what I thought was a reasonable price for a European Hotel. Breakfast options, especially down in the “cave,” are plentiful and delicious. Can’t beat a cheese case from the fine fromagerie Hess as one of the breakfast offerings!

The hotel staff helped us make local arrangements (like dinner reservations) and made some excellent recommendations as well. Many speak very good English. Meghann in particular was very helpful – she is an American who works at the front desk. I left my converter plugs for various machines and the staff quickly sent up plenty for us to use during our stay. There are umbrellas in the room and by the front desk for guest use, and considering how much rain they have, it’s a great perk.

Some small quirks and complaints: first, the soap they provide comes not in bars but in a squeeze bottle. I’ve seen this elsewhere in France and in three and four star hotels. Don’t really understand it, it doesn’t feel like the sort of high end toiletries you might expect – at the same time the bath oil and other toiletries were all excellent. Free WiFi was good but occasionally slow. Strange small bowl of plastic flowers in the room that seemed rather cheesy and out of place with the rest of the décor. Morning coffee tended to be a bit on the weak side and we had to ask for “strong” coffee on several occasions.

But these are really small matters in what was a terrific small luxury hotel in a beautiful setting in a lovely town. We loved our stay at Le Cep and highly recommend it.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DCroamer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (867)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

367 - 373 of 867 reviews

Reviewed May 24, 2013

My wife and I stayed here over a weekend in May and loved it. This is a real classy hotel--very sought after. The breakfast was included in our rate and was very nice. Beautifully decorated room and very spacious. The hotel staff was very responsive and seemed to care about ensuring you have an enjoyable stay. Centrally located to many of the restaurants and sights in the area--most of them within walking distance. Valet parking ensures you don't have to hunt around for a parking space--that are at a premium in this area.

Would definitely stay here again.

Room Tip: Ask for a top floor. The rooms can be a little noisy with people walking above you--especially if t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank WorldTravelerOR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 23, 2013

A beautiful hotel in the heart of the attractive town of Beaune. Le Cep has been created by the amalgamation of a number of adjacent historic houses, so the style is eclectic and the rooms vary in design. Ours was excellent. the staff are very friendly and committed to service. We were there as part of a group at a convention, but the service always seemed personalized. After a few days hiking and cycling in the surrounding countryside, we rewarded ourselves with a massage by Tanya - the local masseuse, who works out of the hotel. Simply the best massage we have experienced - she is very skilled and made our 5 star rating for the hotel obligatory.

Stayed: May 2013, traveled on business
3  Thank bikemanMelbourne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 17, 2013

We stayed at Le Cep for 2 nights. It's an old hotel with great ambience in the public areas, but our room was nicely updated. The room type was in the delux category, about Euro 350/nt. It was a huge room on the 2nd floor of a building across the interior courtyard. There were only 3 rooms on this floor. Everything was truly excellent and cozy except that the view outside the window was of the hotel parking lot. Maybe this added to the quietness but could not be called an overall plus. The hotel is located in the central part of the old city with easy walking access to nearby sights and restaurants.

The front desk staff was among the most friendly and helpful I've encountered. The breakfast was good. Excellent cappucino coffee.

Room Tip: We would go back to this hotel for sure. I'd ask about rooms with a better view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank ski4everx2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 12, 2013

A group of old houses, redone in an eclectic style. Walking distance from the famous Hospices de Beaune. When we booked at the last moment, the person on the phone was helpful, called us back when a cancellation happened and we were looking forward to our stay. Julien was so good. Our room, alas, must have seen better days or must have been redone about 10-12 years ago. The shower head is adjustable indeed but tiny, the water pressure is great so with the half glass door in the high bathtub, you water half of the bathroom too. The toilet area is so narrow that there is no holder for the toilet paper. The products are not consistently refilled and you have a bottle of liquid soap for all: hands, shampoo, shower (luxury ?). No moisturizer but a massage oil. The bed has wonderful fluffy pillows but is still covered by a heavy blanket; the duvet has not been discovered there yet. The mattress is too soft for us but it is different for all.
The little desk has no electrical plug nearby so if you need to charge your laptop, not there...
You get a half bottle of mineral water the first day and then...nothing more.
After the wonderful reservation experience, we expected that someone would ask us if they could help with visits (wine country after all..) or something else, but no one volunteered. We also got one evening without dinner reservation but no one followed up to ask us if we needed another one. The hotel restaurant will remain unknown to us as no one again told us whether they had a cancellation or not. When we got "lost" into the restaurant, looking for the breakfast room, we were told "this is the restaurant" in a haughty tone and one pointed out the direction to the hotel for breakfast. No one accompanied us as we are used to in other real luxury places.
Breakfast is lovely, in a vaulted room, the team of ladies are very helpful and the selection quite nice and appetizing (you can cook yourself your soft boiled eggs, which is convenient but is it...luxury?).
So a mixed review:
great reservation, great breakfast, great location.
Room a bit tired but well kept - good cleaning ladies team , products not on the luxury side.
The bill was not put in an envelope, luxury style again ?
We had dinner in the nearby relais et châteaux that als was full, they gave us vouchers to have free tastings in two chateaux and made great recommendations.
Another nearby Michelin Star restaurant where we showed up the wrong night because our hotel had not given us the list of reservation, comped us with two wonderful local aperitifs and found a reservation in another restaurant that same evening.
Our hotel seemed to busy with a group and totally ignored us, after a great start everything went down hill. I will also give this review to SLH as the luxury is missing in anotherwise nice place.

Room Tip: Try to be in a recently remodelled room on the inside courtyard, neither on the parking lot on the b...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank travelistanr1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 11, 2013

We just returned home from a wonderful stay at Le Cep in Burgundy and I cannot say enough about this hotel. It's location, hospitality and quality were second to none. The hotel staff went out of their way to assist us with our travels through the area and gladly made reservations and recommendations. We hated to leave!

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Cittafarina
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 10, 2013

We have stayed at the Cep many times, either alone or with our two kids. Each time is a great pleasure, from the first hello to the last goodbye. The service is impeccable. The rooms wonderful and very functional. We almost always take an apartment and the design is perfect for two adults, two kids and a small dog.
The breakfast is hearty, with fresh juice, fruit salad, meats and cheeses. The pastries are of course the highlight, with fresh croissants and pain au chocolat. Don't forget the baguette!
Wonderful hotel, location and service!

Stayed: May 2013, traveled with family
2  Thank Etschanz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Beaune hotels
0.3 mi away
Hostellerie Le Cedre
Hostellerie Le Cedre
#4 of 62 in Beaune
668 reviews
6.6 mi away
Le Montrachet
Le Montrachet
#1 of 3 in Puligny-Montrachet
470 reviews
6.5 mi away
La Maison d'Olivier Leflaive
La Maison d'Olivier Leflaive
#2 of 3 in Puligny-Montrachet
342 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Hotel de la Poste
Hotel de la Poste
#22 of 62 in Beaune
517 reviews
0.1 mi away
Abbaye de Maizieres
Abbaye de Maizieres
#23 of 62 in Beaune
377 reviews
2.1 mi away
Hotel le Clos
Hotel le Clos
#1 of 4 in Montagny-les-Beaune
331 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel de Luxe le Cep? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel de Luxe le Cep

Address: 27 rue Maufoux, 21200, Beaune, France
Phone Number:
Location: France > Bourgogne-Franche-Comte > Cote d'Or > Beaune
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Beaune
#2 Luxury Hotel in Beaune
#7 Romantic Hotel in Beaune
Price Range: $229 - $393 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Hotel de Luxe le Cep 5*
Number of rooms: 65
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hotel Le Cep and Spa Marie de Bourgogne, member of the Small Luxury Hotels of the World and Chateaux & Hotels Collection, is ideally located in the heart of the medieval city of Beaune, capital of the wines of Burgundy. Our 65 rooms including 29 suites are different and personalized with names corresponding to famous Burgundy wines, and unique decoration. Open in fall 2015, the spa Marie de Bourgogne is a refined and elegant space. Keeping in harmony with the pure Burgundian spirit of the Cep, the spa offers over 350 square meters dedicated to 12 different sensorial experiences. We also have a fitness center on the top of a panoramic tower, several lounges, a bar, a gastronomical restaurant « Loiseau des Vignes », a one star Michelin independently managed, two courtyards dated XVI century, a garden “a la francaise”, a private parking, and 4 conference rooms. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, Cancelon, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel de Luxe le Cep reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
De Luxe Le Cep Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing