We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Delightful”
Review of Hotel Belle Epoque

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel Belle Epoque
Ranked #18 of 62 Hotels in Beaune
Certificate of Excellence
Swansea, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
104 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
“Delightful”
Reviewed May 18, 2014

The hotel is situated very centrally and ideally placed for exploring the town on foot. The staff were most welcoming and helpful. Although our room was small it was perfectly adequate and comfortable. As we were a party of ten, we were given a private room for our breakfast - a very nice touch. The car park is capacious and security excellent. The manager epitomised Gallic charm and spoke excellent English! What more can one say.

Room Tip: Some rooms have a separate lounge, ideal if you want to entertain friends.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank peterbs28
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BelleBeaune, Propriétaire at Hotel Belle Epoque, responded to this review, June 2, 2014
Google Translation
Cher Client
Je vous remercie pour votre avis et c'est avec plaisir que nous vous recevrons dans notre maison
Bien Cordialement
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

444 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    137
    224
    62
    16
    5
See reviews for
63
272
9
9
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (67)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
251 reviews
57 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 87 helpful votes
Reviewed May 15, 2014

I recently used this hotel which is on my favourite list for a trip to a from St Tropez - one night in each direction. Quite a few friends also booked in over various days to make the same trip, it's a small family run hotel very close to the centre of town so walking is a breeze.

There is a mix of rooms for economy or comfort and generally we prefer comfort, big bed, the rooms are very well decorated with no use of cheap furnishings or doors. The car park is locked at night and the breakfast includes proper orange juice and lovely croissants.

I return time and time again and have a group booking for later in the year - well done Belle Époque

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Nick D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BelleBeaune, Propriétaire at Hotel Belle Epoque, responded to this review, May 16, 2014
Dear Guest
Thank you very much for your comment, see you soon for your next bike trip
Your Sincerely
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newna
Level Contributor
56 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed May 9, 2014

Great location, clean rooms, friendly staff. We used this as home base for tours and it worked great. This was a good value in our budget range. We also needed a large room so the family room worked well.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ASPFoodie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BelleBeaune, Propriétaire at Hotel Belle Epoque, responded to this review, May 16, 2014
Dear Guest
Thank you very much for your comment
It will be a pleasure to see you again on a future trip
Your Sincerely
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Australia
Level Contributor
73 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed April 27, 2014

I'll start out with the positives of this hotel:
- great location close to the centre of Beaune and very safe as every time you come in or out of the hotel (by car or foot) an alarm goes off and a staff member checks
- cosy rooms, well cleaned
- breakfast was simple but quite nice with delicious croissants. Be aware that if you request fruit you'll be given whole fruit
- the first staff member who greeted us was helpful and he made some suggestions for restaurants to visit (although they were closed).
- simple parking right outside the rooms with easy access to the major motorways

Now the negatives:
- no privacy as every time you come in or out of the hotel an alarm goes off
- additional 5 euro parking
- We were in room #1 which was across from the kitchen/dining area and right next to reception so from 7:30am onwards you hear cases being dragged along or people going for breakfasts (not ideal for a sleep in)
- Very poor customer service. I booked online 3 months prior (using my Amex) but the day before I was due to arrive in late April I was advised that my credit card was "unacceptable" and they were going to cancel my booking - very surprising and unprofessional. We were in Switzerland at the time and this caused unnecessary stress and resulted in an AUD $60 call to sort out the booking. They had the correct number and this card has been used for many other things during the trip so I have no idea what their problem was.
This issue wasn't mentioned at all on check-in. When I questioned it with the reception staff on check-out she simply said "it wasn't me you spoke to" (even though I thnik it was her) and regarding the $60 call she said that was because I'd used booking.com to make the reservation?! When I suggested that they check the cards when the bookings were made she said "we check the cards 2 days before the reservation". This is the reason for my poor review. No apology and no offer to credit us for the call or do anything to help our situation or resolve this issue for future bookings.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Rachel_Whales
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BelleBeaune, Propriétaire at Hotel Belle Epoque, responded to this review, May 4, 2014
Google Translation
Cher Client
Je vous remercie pour votre avis, qu'auriez-vous préférez, suite à votre problème de carte de crédit, Que nous ne vous prévenions pas en annulant simplement votre réservation? Que nous fassions une demande d'autorisation lors de votre réservation afin de bloquer les sommes sur votre carte?
Nous ne faisons qu'une demande de renseignement sur la carte laissée en garantie, donc sans blocage de montant, ce qui laisse plus de liberté à nos clients, nous ne le faisons que 48h à l'avance puisqu'une autorisation simple vous permet de toujours vous servir de votre carte sur laquelle aucune somme n'est pré-autorisée, J'ai mis en place cette procédure pour être le plus équitable possible pour nos clients et pour nous afin de garantir les réservations devant le nombre croissant de cartes interdites, non provisionnées ou annulées données en garantie pour les réservations de clients ne se présentant pas à l'hôtel, que nous ne pouvons pas facturer et pour lesquels nous perdons la nuit.
Pourquoi aurions-nous à vous dédommager de vos coûts téléphoniques par l'intermédiaire de Booking.com pour un problème survenant sur votre carte, refusé par le système, qui aurait été facilement régler par e-mail, je note de plus que le règlement que vous avez effectué a été fait avec une Visa et non une Amex, pour une réservation faite avec un autre nom, c'est pour cette raison que je n'ai pas répondu plus rapidement à votre commentaire ayant été obligé de faire quelques recherches afin de comprendre vos remarques
Bien Cordialement
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
48 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed March 15, 2014

The new part of the hotel, at the back is just perfect.
Beautifully done rooms, spacious and quiet, with a countryside feel.
The staff is very helpful and friendly, we had a little issue with internet the first night which was sorted the following day.
Nice continental breakfast (massive croissants - the biggest I've ever seen probably).
Good parking space.

Room Tip: the new rooms at the back are the bigger and quieter
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled on business
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Sarabach
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BelleBeaune, Propriétaire at Hotel Belle Epoque, responded to this review, April 16, 2014
Dear Guest
Thank you very much for your comment it will be a pleasure to see you again in our House

Your Sincerely
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
malaucene
Level Contributor
53 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed March 9, 2014

Stayed one night here in February, a hotel with a distinctly old fashioned French country hotel feel. Room a bit on the small size but every thing worked well, and clean - good bathroom. Very well positioned just on the edge of the center for those visiting the Hospice etc. Breakfast was pretty average fare ( you might think about a coffee shop alternative nearby in the town). Manager friendly and helpful. Nice little bar for your apero, wines by the glass. Parking in forecourt off the road. Reasonable price for what we got. Would return next time we are in Burgundy.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Philip R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BelleBeaune, Propriétaire at Hotel Belle Epoque, responded to this review, March 12, 2014
Google Translation
Cher Client
Nous vous remercions vivement pour votre visite dans notre établissement.
Espérant avoir à nouveau le plaisir de vous servir prochainement
Bien Cordialement
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed January 5, 2014

a lovely hotel very comfy rooms, ample parking, easy to access and in an ideal spot if your heading to the alps or to see the beautiful town which is just a short walk away. Very friendly and helpful staff who speak good english, standard continental breakfast but done well, overall very pleasant place to stop

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Charliegib93
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BelleBeaune, Propriétaire at Hotel Belle Epoque, responded to this review, March 12, 2014
Google Translation
Cher client,
Nous vous remercions pour votre séjour dans notre maison, espérant vous faire découvrir une prochaine fois lors d'un plus long séjour d'autres visites gastronomiques ou de dégustations.
Bien Cordialement
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Beaune hotels
0.1 mi away
Hotel de Luxe le Cep
Hotel de Luxe le Cep
#2 of 62 in Beaune
4.5 of 5 bubbles 796 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel de la Poste
Hotel de la Poste
#12 of 62 in Beaune
4.0 of 5 bubbles 468 reviews
0.3 mi away
Abbaye de Maizieres
Abbaye de Maizieres
#15 of 62 in Beaune
4.5 of 5 bubbles 350 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Ibis Styles Beaune Centre
0.4 mi away
Hotel Des Remparts
Hotel Des Remparts
#29 of 62 in Beaune
4.0 of 5 bubbles 225 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel au Grand Saint Jean
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Belle Epoque? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Belle Epoque

Property: Hotel Belle Epoque
Address: 15 rue du Faubourg Bretonniere, 21200, Beaune, France
Location: France > Bourgogne-Franche-Comte > Cote d'Or > Beaune
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#16 Romantic Hotel in Beaune
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Belle Epoque 3*
Number of rooms: 28
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We will have the pleasure to welcome you in this former wine merchant house, restored in the Burgundian style, located within 3 minutes walk from the town centre of Beaune. The peaceful setting, the quality of welcome and the many tourist sites will make up a very pleasant memory of your stay. The warm and family atmosphere of our hotel will charm you. The whole team of the Hotel Belle Epoque wishes you a good stay in Beaune ! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Priceline, Travelocity, Expedia, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA and HRS so you can book your Hotel Belle Epoque reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Belle Epoque Hotel
Belle Epoque Beaune

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing