We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“True Burgundy experience”
Review of Hotel Belle Epoque

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hotel Belle Epoque
Ranked #16 of 62 Hotels in Beaune
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed June 17, 2008

We stayed for 3 nights and chose this place because it represented a very authentic Burgundy accommodation and had a great location. Everything was only a couple minutes walk away. We stayed in a suite - room 22 which had a very large bedroom with a king bed, beautiful wood beams that angled to the roofline and a separate sitting room. Staff were very helpful with restaurant recommendations and other information. They seemed to really care that our needs were being looked after.

  • Stayed: June 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank Lexi99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (486)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

291 - 297 of 486 reviews

Reviewed June 17, 2008

Our family of 4 arrived in Beaune without any reservations, and after stopping at a few places whose prices were too high, stumbled upon the Hotel Belle Epoque. What a great find!

This is a small hotel, with beautiful features. Large windows that open, a beautiful stained glass entryway and great service. We rented the family suite, which was very large - 1 big bedroom at each end with a good sized living room in between. The bathroom was divided into 2 rooms; toilet & sink in on one side of the hall and a full sized tub/shower with another sink on the opposite side. It was extremely clean and comfortable.

The hotel is just off a main road, and is located inside a beautiful peaceful courtyard which is locked at night. Parking was available for 5E a night. 2 free internet computers were available in the main lobby as well as a small bar. The owner was very friendly and very patient with our poor french! We would definately stay here again.

Stayed: May 2008
1  Thank jkenib
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 25, 2007

A reasonable hotel that is only 2 minutes walk from all attractions. Our room was quiet and clean and staff was friendly. Easy to find, too.

  • Stayed: October 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank TomRinA2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 15, 2007

The hotel is well located, just outside the centre and within an easy walk to the main attractions of Beaune (which is a lovely place to spend a couple of days). The hotel building is attractive and the public areas maintain an old style feel and are pleasant. There is free internet access on a computer adjacent to the reception area.

We stayed in a suite on the top floor (room 22) which was a good size with a small, separate lounge area and felt homely and well furnished and decorated; it was also very clean. There is no lift so you will need to get your luggage up the narrow (ish) stairs though this was no particular problem for us.

The only issue I have is that it was easy to hear noise from other rooms and since there were fire doors at the end of the room corridors, these closed quite loudly which was a little tedious (in addition to the slamming of room doors by other guests who did not seem able to close a door properly). I would suggest to the hotel owners that they look into the closure mechanism for the fire doors to see if they doors could close more quietly. Soundproofing is presumably an issue for the hotel as it is specifically mentioned in their brochure though in my opinion still needs attention.

In Beaune, I would strongly recommend the Marche Aux Vins wine tasting, which was excellent both in terms of the wines tasted (16 overall) and the atmosphere of the caves.

Stayed: October 2007
4  Thank mew20
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 3, 2007

My family 2 adults and 3 children stayed here for 2 nights at the end of August. We elected to stay in the family accomodation which was on 2 levels and consisted of a double bed downstairs and 3 single beds upstairs. The accommodation was clean and very comfortable and was absolutely ideal for us. It was also very good value at 140 Euros per night.
The hotel is beautiful and ideally located just a few minutes walk from the centre of Beaune. Breakfast was substantial but could have benefited from more condiments (jam etc) being provided as the croissants were enormous! The manager and his wife were very friendly and welcoming and we cannot praise the hotel highly enough. A very minor gripe was the rather charmless waitress at breakfast who also worked at the reception. Whilst I know there is no legal obligation to be cheery and friendly to hotel guests, it does help engender goodwill and leaves the guest feeling that the hotel goes that extra mile to make guests have a pleasant stay. Maybe she was just having a bad day!!

  • Stayed: August 2007, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Rheindahlen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 30, 2007

This friendly hotel was a real find in Beaune. The building is lovely. with a stained glass porchway, cosy bar for aperitifs, and comfortable rooms. It's an ideal stopping off place to explore Beaune.

  • Stayed: August 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank AlysonG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 12, 2007

Lovely hotel close to the heart of Beaune! We stayed on the third floor, sort of a hike. Our room was spacious and comfortable. We stayed there for twelve days, so we did get settled in and cozy. I would recommend this hotel and I will stay there again. My husband and I made friends with the bar on the corner. Great drinking hole after tasting wine all day! Say hi to our dog, Elois... they use her as a door stop and she helped us not miss our Elois at home so much.

Stayed: July 2007
2  Thank NOLAshannon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Beaune hotels
0.4 mi away
Hotel de la Cloche
Hotel de la Cloche
#37 of 62 in Beaune
330 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel de Luxe le Cep
Hotel de Luxe le Cep
#2 of 62 in Beaune
863 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel de la Poste
Hotel de la Poste
#21 of 62 in Beaune
516 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Ibis Styles Beaune Centre
2.4 mi away
Ermitage de Corton
Ermitage de Corton
#1 of 1 in Chorey Les Beaune
366 reviews
2.1 mi away
Hotel le Clos
Hotel le Clos
#1 of 4 in Montagny-les-Beaune
330 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Belle Epoque? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Belle Epoque

Address: 15 rue du Faubourg Bretonniere, 21200, Beaune, France
Location: France > Bourgogne-Franche-Comte > Cote d'Or > Beaune
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#16 Romantic Hotel in Beaune
Price Range: $100 - $150 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Belle Epoque 3*
Number of rooms: 28
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We will have the pleasure to welcome you in this former wine merchant house, restored in the Burgundian style, located within 3 minutes walk from the town centre of Beaune. The peaceful setting, the quality of welcome and the many tourist sites will make up a very pleasant memory of your stay. The warm and family atmosphere of our hotel will charm you. The whole team of the Hotel Belle Epoque wishes you a good stay in Beaune ! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets and TripOnline SA so you can book your Hotel Belle Epoque reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Belle Epoque Hotel
Belle Epoque Beaune

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing