We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Not as good as I hoped” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Creperie Au Crep'Ange

Creperie Au Crep'Ange
Ranked #48 of 205 Restaurants in Beaune
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: French
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions, Kids, Dining on a budget, Families with children
Dining options: Lunch, Late Night, Dinner, Highchairs Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: www.aucrepange.com (second website?) Sure hope you can add this because I sure would like to write a review on it!
Colorado Springs, Colorado
Level Contributor
262 reviews
170 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
“Not as good as I hoped”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 13, 2011

Based on previous reviews i expected to be wowed, but was just satisfied. I had a buckwheat crepe with egg, ham, and mushrooms, and that's all it was. No delicious sauce or garnish. it was good but not anything special. My wife had a nice salad, but, again, it wasn't anything special. The dessert crepes looked to be simple too... a crepe with chocolate drizzled on it. The location is at the edge of the tourist area and not near other eateries. if you're hungry and nearby it may be worth a visit but not as a destination meal.

  • Visited September 2011
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank ScottandJanelle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

153 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    80
    47
    16
    8
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Tucson, Arizona
Level Contributor
41 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
“Informal Place, Tasty, Nice People”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 12, 2011

Sometimes, towards the end of a fabulous foodie vacation, you get what I call "fine dining fatigue", when you've had so many fabulous luxury meals that you are no longer impressed by anything. That's when you need some simple food. For us, that place was Crep'Ange. The restaurant is outside the old city walls, but easily walkable, and the decor is very plain, but clean. It is an extremely informal atmosphere, and one would feel perfectly comfortable bringing children here. The waitstaff are delightfully upbeat and friendly (especially considering the perfunctory service norms in Beaune, generally), the crepes are tasty and inexpensive (though NOT a specialty of the region). For us, at that point in our Burgundian holiday, it really "hit the spot".

  • Visited September 2011
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank ThoughtfulCriticAZ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Derby
Level Contributor
186 reviews
112 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
“Mixed feelings from my family on this cafe, but i enjoyed it”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 17, 2011

Having seen this cafe on trip advisor we got to Beaune and tried to find it, not easy as it is tucked away on a side street. The outside seating was basic and next to a road, but very 'french'. The board outside the cafe advertised a meal deal which we later discovered wasn't available at the weekend!
However, the food was good, although some of my family didn't enjoy it, mainly I think because we'd had a tough day, it was hot, we'd struggled to find it and then when we got there we'd chosen options from the meal deal and been disappointed that we had to re select our food. But do not let this put you off please try this typically French cafe with a great creperie menu.

  • Visited August 2011
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Ramsfan158
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hove, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Shelter from the storm”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 29, 2011

Arrived in Beaune in the middle of a torrential downpour and dived into this creperie as it was dry and the only place we could find serving anything vegetarian!

Had a lovely meal and were very glad we chose it. Loved the fact they gave us a note (in english) with our bill asking us to post a review on trip advisor!

Thouroughly recommended.

Visited August 2011
Helpful?
Thank CaravanMan888
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong, China
1 review
“The best crepes! Yummy!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 9, 2011

A Very Delicious Crepes with Good Prices and Excellent Quality. A Variety of Selections on both Savory and Sweet Crepes. We had a nice meal there with warm welcomed from the hostess, Chantal and Andy, who's from the US and helping us out in translating when ordering. She almost explained the entire menu for us.

Don't miss it if you happen to be in Beaune, no matter you're a fan of crepes or not !!

  • Visited July 2011
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank WWMMay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Creperie Au Crep'Ange also viewed

 

Been to Creperie Au Crep'Ange? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing