We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Charming hotel - just wonderful!”
Review of Hotel Rousseau

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Beaune
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Hotel Rousseau
Ranked #43 of 60 Beaune B&B and Inns
Lyon, France
Level Contributor
38 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Charming hotel - just wonderful!”
Reviewed July 11, 2012

My friends and I stayed in a room set up for four people. Our room was spacious and we had our own bathroom located just outside our room. The room was charming and the beds were so comfortable - without a doubt the best night's sleep of our trip! The hotel is located just a short walk from town. Our French is not perfect but we managed to communicate with the wonderful Madame Rosseau.

The breakfast was great - we were suprised to see so many people at breakfast because we were unaware of anyone else staying at the hotel as it was so quiet at night. The adorable cats that live on the property pretty much kept to themselves.

Overall, a highly recommended hotel! If we get the chance to visit Beaune again, we'll be staying here.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank cindy2171
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

40 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    9
    21
    7
    2
    1
See reviews for
6
20
5
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Cincinnati, Ohio, United States
Level Contributor
13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed July 3, 2012

This place is a gorgeous, old Frech country house that was a refreshing change from the fast pace of Paris. The hotel has a lovely, quiet courtyard with tables where my wife and I had a great picnic to ourselves one night. Madame Rosseau was extremely accomodating however completely unobtrusive. Although her English was minimal, we did not find it difficult to communicate with her. We are already planning to come back!

Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Zack P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chelmsford, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed May 6, 2012

Rick Steves directed us here, and we were delighted with everything about it. Madame Rousseau was very kind, and I regretted that my French was not much better than her English, because I would have loved to have visited with her and asked her about her beautiful home.

The room was very nice, and we slept soundly for nine hours our first night in France--no jet lag at all! The accommodations are very simple and straightforward and correspondingly economically priced. We will absolutely plan to stay there any time we are in the region. The location is excellent, too, right in the middle of town with restaurants, stores, and the Hotel Dieu just steps away.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank egbrowning
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Missoula, Montana
Level Contributor
60 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
Reviewed February 25, 2012

We found this in the LP guide and stayed with our family of 4. We had a double and two singles for at least 15 euros less than any other place we found with only a double and one single. AND it included breakfast: lots of coffee for us, hot cocoa for the kids, and bread and croissants with jam. Great location, and the proprietress is warm and sweet (although you may not be able to find that out if you don't speak French as I don't think she speaks English). As per the other reviews, the double bed in our room was almost comical how bad it was, but we still slept great as the hotel was sooo quiet. We'll go back or recommend to anyone going to Beaune. The madame will respond to e-mails; you may want to use Google translate to write the email in French if need be.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank alisaww
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
guelph, canada
Level Contributor
24 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed July 29, 2010

A really beautiful old hotel right in Beaune. Easy walking distance to the train station and to the middle of the old town.

The rooms are decorated with antiques... unfortunately the matresses are antiques too. I slept fine anyway, but some people might have a hard time.

The garden in the back is wonderful to sit in and drink wine that you purchased while wandering around town.

The lady who runs the place is terrific. Very friendly and patient with my attempts to speak French.

A simple breakfast of baguette, jam, and coffee was included in the price and
the rooms are very affordable. In my opinion, this hotel is truly an excellent value.

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank my_hair_is_on_fire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brooklyn, New York
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed June 19, 2010

Madamme Rousseau, the proprietor, is a relic and her place (which seems to be converted from an old carriage house) is a bit like walking into a museum (our room had beautiful antiques). The beds were very uncomfortable, and her birds woke us up early in the morning, but her place is an amazing value, and she is very kind and friendly and her place is right in the center of Beaune. You really can't find a better location than this, especially if you are looking for value. Her breakfasts are generous: croissants and bread. Showers are separate from rooms (some) and she has a pretty garden out back that you can enjoy.

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank beckanners
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Beaune hotels
0.1 mi away
Hotel de la Paix
Hotel de la Paix
#29 of 62 in Beaune
419 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Athanor
Hotel Athanor
#44 of 62 in Beaune
272 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Des Remparts
Hotel Des Remparts
#25 of 62 in Beaune
232 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Hotel Central
Hotel Central
#52 of 62 in Beaune
114 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel Foch
Hotel Foch
#55 of 62 in Beaune
57 reviews
2.1 mi away
Maison le Village
Maison le Village
#2 of 3 in Montagny-les-Beaune
33 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Rousseau? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Rousseau

Property: Hotel Rousseau
Address: 11 Place Madeleine, 21200, Beaune, France
Location: France > Bourgogne-Franche-Comte > Cote d'Or > Beaune
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #43 of 60 B&Bs / Inns in Beaune
Number of rooms: 12

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing