We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Place de Madelaine”
Review of Chez Marie

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Chez Marie
Ranked #10 of 62 Beaune B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed October 7, 2012

Quaint, quiet, lovely. Not much from the street, small sign, but very different inside. Large, comfortable room. Wi-fi. Small garden for sitting. Secure bicycle storage. Excellent breakfast. Marie was on holiday, Yves took over graciously and was a fine host, welcomed us when we arrived wet and muddy from St Nicolas and seemed genuinely concerned about us. Later gave directions for biking to Chagny.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Emkay0
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (149)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

66 - 72 of 149 reviews

Reviewed September 24, 2012

We spent a lovely and relaxing 5 nights in Beaune thanks - in no small part - to the kindness and hospitality shown to us by Marie, her husband Yves and their rambunctious and completely adorable 2-year old Gaspard. From the time we arrived from the time we checked out, Marie and Yves were a wealth of helpful information. At every turn they sought to help us make our visit meaningful. Their own love of the region really showed through when they made recommendations on everything from where to eat to what part of the region to drive or bike through and what stops to make. They even recommended a wine tasting at La Cave de L'Ange Guardien that was a true highlight of our stay in Beaune (more on that in their review).
Our annexe room across the street from the main house was tidy, full of personality, quiet and very comfortable - we could truly feel at home for our short stay. It was on a quiet side street, but only a 5 minute walk from all the action inside the city walls.
Breakfast was DELICIOUS and an excellent value - a bonus because it was included with the stay.
I could go on and on about our experience here, but I suggest that you experience this lovely region and wonderful family for yourself!

Room Tip: Chez Marie offers 2 Annex apartments that are a fantastic value for couples wanting a little more pr...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AvTrav2010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 7, 2012

We loved our first night in Beaune, this was due to Marie and her lovely B&B - we were not disappointed, all the reviews to-date are very accurate. We stayed on the ground floor, on the street side - could hear the few cars going by, but was not an issue, an easy 5min walk from train station with a suitcase. Breakfast was served in the garden - homemade selection of pastries, jams, yoghurt, orange juice and freshly brewed coffee - lovely! After check-out we were able to stow our suitcases until the end of the day no problem at all. Host Marie is very approachable and helpful - nice family environment with Jaspard her 2 year old son very engaging....

Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
Thank RoslynChristchurch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 16, 2012

Rooms are tastefully decorated and the courtyard garden is lovely. Hosts were lovely and went out of their way to provide recommendations for dinner (we were there on a Monday when many things are closed in Beaune). Homemade breakfast was amazing (possibly the best 'included' breakfast I have had in France). Easy 5 mins walk to city centre, parking available for free on street. Only quibble would be that the upstairs room got very hot without fan or A/C.

Room Tip: Would not recommend 'Le Annexe' if traveling in high summer as it has no fan or A/C. We wer...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Accra049
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 15, 2012

we spent two nights in the room facing the garden. The room is small but well equipped, nice and very clean. Also the bathroom is nice and the shower wonderful. It is true the room can be noisy when people walk in the corridor or stay in the garden. The owner, Marie, is always smiling and kind and is willing to help to your questions. It is located next to the centre but in a quiet street. The breakfast served in the garden consists of croissants, bread, jams and yoghurt made by the owner, orange juice daily made and a hot drink you choose. You can pay only cash.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank cooltravelgirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 9, 2012

We stayed five nights in this great place. A short walk from the train station and just outside of the center of town. We stayed at the annex and it was and therefore had plenty of space and a small kitchen where we made dinner and ate just outside in the cozy backyard where we also ate a delicious breakfast with homemade yoghurt and jam.
The rooms was very nice and clean. Marie was very helpful, both before we arrived with a great place to eat the first night (La Ciboulette) and during our stay.

We would recommend the place and would like com back to the area and take another fantastic bicycle ride through the old wineyards!

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Hanso79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 20, 2012

We stayed for a week in the Annex (l'Annexe) and had a truly great time. Marie was wonderful - gracious, welcoming, and informative. She and her 2 year-old son, the amazing Gaspard, set an informal, relaxed tone which made us feel like we were part of the family. Husband Yves arrived later in the week and was very nice also. Marie took care of our dining reservations, provided us with rental bicycles, and prepared a delicious, wholesome breakfast (she makes her own yogurt and preserves) every morning. We met lots of fellow travelers each morning, at breakfast which was quite fun.

Our attractively-decorated unit had a small kitchen which we used quite a bit, enhancing our stay. The bed was comfy and the whole place was quite cool even in late June, perhaps because the rooms backed up to an old 18th century wall which buffered the heat. The small plot of lawn and garden between the Annex and the main house was very pleasant. Coming back to our little apartment after dinner each evening was such a treat!

As far as location goes, Chez-Marie could not be more convenient - maybe three blocks to the train station and another three or four blocks to the city ramparts.

This little place provided us with a chance to interact with a wonderful French family in some great digs in a beautiful town. We really couldn't ask for more. It was very tough to leave!

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank DougLee7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Beaune hotels
0.2 mi away
Ibis Styles Beaune Centre
0.5 mi away
Hotel de Luxe le Cep
Hotel de Luxe le Cep
#2 of 62 in Beaune
860 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel au Grand Saint Jean
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Ibis Beaune Centre
Ibis Beaune Centre
#21 of 62 in Beaune
796 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel de la Paix
Hotel de la Paix
#26 of 62 in Beaune
464 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hotel Belle Epoque
Hotel Belle Epoque
#17 of 62 in Beaune
478 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Chez Marie? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Chez Marie

Address: 14 rue Poissonnerie, 21200, Beaune, France
Location: France > Bourgogne-Franche-Comte > Cote d'Or > Beaune
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 62 B&Bs / Inns in Beaune
Price Range: $110 - $153 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 3
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Chez Marie reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing