We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Superb Food but no air conditioning”
Review of Le Cheval Noir

Le Cheval Noir
Ranked #9 of 215 Restaurants in Beaune
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: French
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Special occasions, Romantic, Business meetings
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Late Night, Reservations
London, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
355 reviews
274 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 185 helpful votes
“Superb Food but no air conditioning”
Reviewed July 22, 2014

During our 3 night stay in Beaune this was the best of 3 restaurants we had dinner in. The pre set 6 course menu we had as part of a group party was excellent as was the service, our only disappointment was that on a very hot evening in July the dining area lacks any air conditioning and there was little if any air from an open window. Our food was almost faultless though.
Having said that , none of the other restaurants we went to had aircon either.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Sweetcure
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

565 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    284
    212
    41
    18
    10
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Park City, Utah
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Really Good”
Reviewed June 18, 2014

Loved this restaurant. Lovely outdoor patio, and nice inside too. The service was great and very helpful. They brought two small starters gratis, that were absolutely delicious, the home made foie gras was the best I had in all of France. We were too full for dessert so they brought a small chocolate sweet. I would definitely go back.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank Lauren V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amersham, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Still a most enjoyable evening”
Reviewed June 2, 2014

We visit Beaune usually each year to buy wine and enjoy the food. We have had mixed experiences but never here. This trip was as enjoyable as before, in fact considering the price it stood out as the best. The staff were great the food excellent and the choice of wines with the menu was well thought out and good value. The poor reviews are a mystery to us. We may be back later this year again!

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank LoveFixin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rockville
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Foodie's Find in Beaune”
Reviewed May 28, 2014

We went to this restaurant on the recommendation of our hotel. It was Sunday, many restaurants were closed in this very small town. We did not have high expectations as this trip to France was for the sole purpose of eating great food and we had been to several Michelin 2 star and a couple of 3 star restaurants. Boy, were we pleasantly surprised! The food was excellent. My husband took the veal which was superior to what I had at a well-known Paris 2 star restaurant. I had the Chefs selection of the day..scallops and shrimp with creamy risotto. Well done!
I sadly have an allergy to cheese, milk, etc. the chef and staff were amazingly accommodating. They made an amuse Boucher just for me. The same with a salad and dessert. I was quite impressed since the prices were exceedingly reasonable.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Anita L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
São Paulo, São Paulo, Brazil
Level 4 Contributor
39 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Cheese troller is amazing!”
Reviewed May 24, 2014

We had one of the best meals in a restaurant.

We had their dinner degustation menu with wine pairing, The foie gras as entré, the pigeon as main meal and the creme brulee as dessert. And the cheese , of course!
The foie gras, pigeon and cheese were marvelous, incredible tasting and texture. The creme brulee was average.

We are seeing many different reviewes about this place, but our experience was unforgettable, definetely! And please, ask for the cheese trolley!

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank AninhaTavares
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Le Cheval Noir also viewed

 

Been to Le Cheval Noir? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing