We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellent price quality” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Le Cheval Noir

Le Cheval Noir
Ranked #9 of 205 Restaurants in Beaune
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: French, European
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Business meetings, Families with children, Special occasions, Large groups, Romantic, Local cuisine
Dining options: Late Night, Dinner, Lunch, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Private Dining, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Hasselt, Belgium
Level Contributor
23 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Excellent price quality”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 8, 2012

Good price quality, it isn't the cheapest restaurant in Beaune but the food is excellent and the wine's are good en payable. We are going every year back when we are visiting Beaune and the vineyards.

  • Visited October 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Stefan T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

504 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    247
    194
    38
    15
    10
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Bloomfield, New Jersey
Level Contributor
149 reviews
98 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
“Lovely and off the beaten path”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 29, 2012

We went to Le Cheval Noir on a tour of Burgundy with VBT and were again surprised by the quality of the restaurant that the company selected. We had a lovely gazpacho, guinea hen (no one liked the salsify on the side but me) and a cassis tart for dessert. Really an enjoyable experience.

  • Visited October 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Geoffrey S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Halifax, Canada
Level Contributor
105 reviews
42 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 80 helpful votes
“A Boring Meal Served with Indifference”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 20, 2012

We both ordered the mid-priced Autumn menu and found it very disappointing. The only high point of the meal was the wine, and we had to go to the desk to ask someone to come to our table to take the wine order. The staff were dour when at the table but mostly absent.

The big disappointment was the food. It was bland, unimaginative, and dull. The little appetizers at the beginning were tasteless. the little dessert bits at the end did not improve. And all in the middle was the same.

We had a much nicer meal the previous night at L'Air du Temps and suggest you do the same.

  • Visited October 2012
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank MPLCORD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California
Level Contributor
14 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Good value”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 19, 2012

My husband and I enjoyed our meal here and had no complaints about the food. Our favorite course was the epoisse cheese. The service was not quite polished (could have used another server), but helpful. English is spoken. The decor is modern but warm, quite nice. We went to better restaurants in Beaune, but at a higher cost.

  • Visited September 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank SandTwo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
amsterdam
Level Contributor
83 reviews
59 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
“Lovely food, good value”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 18, 2012

Although this wasn't our first choice (our two favorite restaurants in Beaune were fully booked), we thoroughly enjoyed our meal at Le Cheval Noir. We opted for the prix fix menu and the food was first rate and beautifully presented. Excellent first course of gambas and second course of scallops. Cheese selection was extensive. Dessert (an apple something) was good although not memorable. We had the accompanying wines, which were well-matched and affordably priced. Service was attentive and chef regularly came into the dining room to ensure all was running smoothly. In all, terrific value for money. Seems we now have three favorite restaurants in Beaune...

  • Visited October 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank hmamsterdam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Le Cheval Noir also viewed

 
Beaune, Cote d'Or
 

Been to Le Cheval Noir? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing