We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very good”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
L'Octroi Saint Jacques
Ranked #9 of 61 Beaune B&B and Inns
Reviewed November 30, 2012

Our stay didn't get off to the best of starts as the owners had double booked our room and we were sent away to spend the night elsewhere. I must admit I didn't want to return but my wife had paid a deposit and we didn't want to have a fight to get it back. I'm pleased we did return because we enjoyed our stay. Breakfast was very pleasant and a chance to meet other guests who were from the USA. Our room was on the ground floor and was well equipped, well appointed, comfortable, warm and clean. The location was a few minutes walk from the centre of town and it was easy to drive out to the vineyards. Just about all you could want from a B&B!

Room Tip: Our room faced in to the garden so it had a nice outlook and was quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank James S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (152)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

53 - 59 of 152 reviews

Reviewed November 5, 2012

Every compliment on this lovely B&B is true. Jocelyn & Salva are the most wonderful hosts you can hope to have. Anything you need, they are there. The rooms were comfortable, place is serene and scenic, the breakfasts were beyond satisfying! Plus an added treat was the homemade grappa (I couldn't drink but the guys sure liked it!) and the generosity of Salva sharing a bottle of wine from his personal wine cellar. You just don't expect this level of service. Plus Salva insisted on taking us to the train station very early on our day of departure - wouldn't hear of us taking a taxi. We stayed in the Suite Louisiane. It was idyllic except for the wall-to-wall carpet in the bathroom and in the water closet (toilet is separate from shower and bath). I'm not a fan of that but that's the way it is. Everything else is so pleasant I can't lower my ratings just because of the carpet.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Luv_Wine4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 11, 2012

Brilliantly located, large beautifully decorated rooms and bathrooms. Jocelyn and Salva were incredibly welcoming and friendly. Food good. They helped with directions to good eating and drinking. Parking is secure so our wine purchases were safe and did not need unloading for our stop over. We will visit again, thank you Jocelyn and Salva for a wonderful stay.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank stefan53
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 7, 2012

Today we sadly left L 'Octroi Saint Jacques after 3 wonderful days stay. The B&B was simply perfect. Hosts Jocelyn and Salva (Salvatore) welcomed us into their establishment like family. The room (The Hortensia) in the separate guesthouse was perfect. Well decorated, comfortable bed, huge modern bathroom with bath and stone walls.
The breakfast room area is delightful and there are garden chairs to relax on or if the sun is too hot there is a covered area where you can relax and read or sip a cool drink. It is quite likely that Jocelyn and Salva will join you and maybe even open a bottle from their cellar and share it with you, which is what they did for us yesterday. We enjoyed a great evening discussing our children and grandchildren and talking about our travels.
The breakfast that was provided was enormous, with choices of cereal, breads, croissants or brioche, sausage, cheese, jams, juice, tea, coffee and beware (as another reviewer mentioned) of Salva's early morning nips of Schnaps. By the third morning I had started to enjoy starting the day this way!
The B&B was very reasonably priced for what was provided and especially for the location, just a two minute walk to the Hotel Dieu (Hospice) in the old town.
We cannot recommend this B&B more highly. If we ever manage to get back to Beaune, this is where we will stay and see Jocelyn and Salva once more.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Ashy53
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 4, 2012

We had such a nice stay here! The rooms are clean and very comfortable and there is air con which we were very happy to have. The location is ideal and the hosts were very nice and friendly. We will definitely go back to Beaune and when we do we will stay here!

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank suziq83
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 13, 2012

Room was extremely clean and nicely decorated. Air conditioned. Bed was very comfortable. The bathroom was amazing - large tub and nicely finished. Perfect location, just on the outer ring of the old city. Included secure parking off of the street. Lovely light breakfast in the breakfast room.

Owners speak very little English, but were very sweet and eager to help. They clearly love being hosts and enjoy interacting with people - even in a mixture of broken French and English. Highly recommend.

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank eurotraveldemon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 4, 2012

This B&B is very sweet and located well just near the outer ring of the old city. Our room (Hortensia) was very comfortable and kept tidy daily. Huge bathroom! The owners, while speaking almost no English, were extremely hospitable and sweet. Watch out for Salva's morning nips!! One afternoon, we were having wine and the owners came and opened a bottle of theirs as well as brought appetizers for us to share. Had an early breakfast for us on day of departure as we had an early train and Salva drove us to the station which was above and beyond our expectations. Lovely location and lovely hosts. Only issue is really spotty wifi. For us, this was only an issue because our phones were not working and so only way to keep in touch with family at home was through wifi. Otherwise, just great!

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank vadroilleur
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Beaune hotels
0.2 mi away
Hotel de Luxe le Cep
Hotel de Luxe le Cep
#3 of 62 in Beaune
867 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel de la Poste
Hotel de la Poste
#22 of 62 in Beaune
517 reviews
0.1 mi away
Ibis Styles Beaune Centre
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.4 mi away
Ermitage de Corton
Ermitage de Corton
#1 of 1 in Chorey Les Beaune
367 reviews
2 mi away
Hotel le Clos
Hotel le Clos
#1 of 4 in Montagny-les-Beaune
331 reviews
0.3 mi away
Abbaye de Maizieres
Abbaye de Maizieres
#23 of 62 in Beaune
377 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to L'Octroi Saint Jacques? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about L'Octroi Saint Jacques

Address: 2 boulevard Saint Jacques, 21200, Beaune, France
Location: France > Bourgogne-Franche-Comte > Cote d'Or > Beaune
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 61 B&Bs / Inns in Beaune
Price Range: $159 - $235 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 2
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your L'Octroi Saint Jacques reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing