We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Lovely, unique place -- best croissants ever” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Via Mokis

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Beaune
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Hotel Via Mokis
Ranked #48 of 63 Hotels in Beaune
Tahoe24
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Lovely, unique place -- best croissants ever”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 13, 2010

The proprieters of Via Mokis are really what stood out for me. We arrived a little late due to weather, and were a little confused about how to access the lobby so we called the number on the door and were immediately greeted and helped up to our room. Then the owner made restaurant reservations for us at a fantastic little place around the corner, and scheduled our breakfast time. The room was unique, modern, comfy and quiet, and huge especially by French standards, and in the morning we went downstairs to find fresh squeezed juice, fruit salad and the best basket of breads (croissant, pain au chocolat, etc.) I've ever tasted. When I asked the proprietress about them, she said they were hers -- she made them! Apparently she interned with some famous chefs before starting Via Mokis. This place is an absolute jewel -- a reason to visit Beaune and the Burgundy wine region in and of itself.

  • Stayed January 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank tahoe24
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

122 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    83
    23
    8
    5
    3
See reviews for
11
88
1
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Atlanta, Georgia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 9, 2009

What an amazing experience! The staff is friendly and courteous. Mark is a delight and speaks english. He understands service. The accomodations are unique, our room was red down to the tub, nothing like I expected being in Beaune. I loved the modern touches of the hotel. The food at the restaurant is amazing, my husband and I ate there twice for dinner.

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Karen D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York, NY
Level Contributor
16 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 12, 2009

Via Mokis is a treat. I selected it after reading other reviews and was thrilled by what I found. This is a small hotel with a B&B feel. The staff is fantastic, our room (LYU) was big (especially for France!), the food was great and everyone went out of their way to make us feel welcome and guide us during our 4 days in Beaune. Breakfast is lovely (croissants, both plain and chocolate, with superb jams, fresh orange juice, fruit salad and really good coffee), but a bit pricey. The restaurant is great (I'll post a separate review!). Street parking is not a problem. My only 2 (minor) complaints were that there was no furniture in which to put our clothing (shelves only) and the television had no channels in English. We can't wait to go back. It was terrific.

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank bigd13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 23, 2009

The Via Mokis is a breath of fresh air in old Beaune and is the antidote to ageing hotels in the region. Newly opened and designed with flair, passion and genius, the hotel delivers large, stylish comfortable rooms and superb modern French cuisine.

Words like 'boutique' and 'designer' will doubtless be applied to the Via Mokis, but with only five rooms and a fairly small restaurant you should not be expecting an entrance lobby strewn with Starck design icons. Instead the hotel is a charming pair of back to back Beaune town houses, brilliantly redesigned to accomodate one enourmous guest bedroom on each floor. Furnishing is minimalist but attractive and the beds (from Switzerland) are supremely comfortble - firm but not too much so. The skillful use of colour, different surface finishes and variable lighting almost lifts the soul and certainly makes for a relaxing experience. The bathrooms are wonderfully open, beautifully lit, and slightly naughty.

Gault Millau, the more detailed and helpful alternative French food guide to Michelin, has already given the kitchen 14 points. We had the Via Mokis menu at €49 and enjoyed a superb dinner. The quality of produce, care and precision in cooking and adventurous nature of the flavours makes for a wonderful experience. The wine list is also well chosen and the bar can offer around 25 wines by the glass thanks to the hotel's investment in a magnificent Ecovin wine machine.

For breakfast we came down closer to lunch time but still served homebaked croissant, fresh fruit juice, fruit salad, and excellent coffee.

By the way, if you take a top floor room, the longish climb is rewarded with wonderful views over old Beaune.

Go now!

  • Stayed April 2009, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SnoopDoggyDog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
25 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 18, 2008

This amazing boutique hotel is in the centre of Beaune (heart of Burgandy country). The facade is traditional old world French - but inside has been completely renovated into a really funky modern boutique hotel and fabulous restaurant and bar. The rooms were excellent - large and with wireless internet (no English cable channels). The restaurant has a world class chef (previously worked in the White House and was a chef at a one-star Michelin restaurant in Paris). He is a traveller, so has developed a menu with influences from many cultures. A small al-carte menu, but we went with the degustation menu of the day (chef's surprise). The wine list is fabulous - and there are many wines by the glass. We let the waiter pick and match to the food as it came out.

The owner speaks excellent English - and was very helpful with bags and anything else we needed.

Highly recommended as a boutique. The colours aren't as bright as they look on the website!

  • Liked — The restaurant
  • Stayed September 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank DevotedTraveller66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Beaune hotels
0.3 mi away
Abbaye de Maizieres
Abbaye de Maizieres
#18 of 63 in Beaune
4.5 of 5 bubbles 344 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Des Remparts
Hotel Des Remparts
#27 of 63 in Beaune
4.0 of 5 bubbles 219 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hostellerie Le Cedre
Hostellerie Le Cedre
#4 of 63 in Beaune
4.5 of 5 bubbles 570 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Hotel de Luxe le Cep
Hotel de Luxe le Cep
#2 of 63 in Beaune
4.5 of 5 bubbles 774 reviews
0.2 mi away
L'Hotel De Beaune
L'Hotel De Beaune
#24 of 63 in Beaune
4.5 of 5 bubbles 111 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Central
Hotel Central
#54 of 63 in Beaune
3.0 of 5 bubbles 99 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Via Mokis? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Via Mokis

Property: Hotel Via Mokis
Address: 10 rue Bellecroix, 21200, Beaune, France
Location: France > Bourgogne-Franche-Comte > Cote d'Or > Beaune
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Room Service Spa
Hotel Style:
#3 Romantic Hotel in Beaune
#4 Spa Hotel in Beaune
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 5
Also Known As:
Boutique Hotel Via Mokis

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing