We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Restaurant - you need to book!”
Review of La Ciboulette

La Ciboulette
Ranked #13 of 215 Restaurants in Beaune
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $31 - $47
Cuisines: French
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Business meetings, Romantic, Special occasions
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Late Night, Reservations
Basel, Switzerland
Level 5 Contributor
69 reviews
37 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
“Great Restaurant - you need to book!”
Reviewed September 16, 2013

Lovely restaurant with nice food and lovely service. Great selection of wines by the glass and a chance to try some local wines.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank baselgirl_1000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

729 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    379
    258
    51
    26
    15
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
San Jose, California
Level 5 Contributor
44 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Great service and food”
Reviewed August 25, 2013

The duck was great as were the pear dessert. Would come back again anytime. Reservations a must..a very small room with an upbeat staff.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank SJBilly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oegstgeest, The Netherlands
Level 5 Contributor
70 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“very nice restaurant, lovely food, ambiance and service”
Reviewed August 20, 2013

We found this restaurant by accident, we were looking for a place more in the centre but it is a very nice place, very recommendable.
Reservations recommended, it was full about 1/2 hr after we arrived. Outside seating limited and not particularly attractive.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank AdriaanNed
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Lost its charm - poor service, poor value”
Reviewed August 8, 2013

After 7 or 8 years, my husband & I made a return trip to Beaune. A great memory from our previous visit was dinner at La Ciboulette which we recalled as a homely restaurant with a great wine list and fantastic cheeses. It was the only restaurant from our previous visit that we rebooked this time around. However ... while the place has been smartened up, it was not a good return. We were booked in for 730 but it was 815 before we even had a glass of water in front of us and our order taken. I am not usually over-sensitive to these things as I can understand when a business prioritises regular customers over one-off or occasional visitors, but the blatant preferential treatment to the French over non-French customers was annoying and very poor manners. Food was disappointing - I had the cassoulet of snails which was a broth with frankly "could have been anything small and bullet-like" masquerading as snails; my husband's foie-gras parfait had an unpleasant looking vein of blood running through it; we both had a prawns in a curried-sauce which sounded delicious on the menu but was meh - sorry, no other words to describe it. We had two half bottles of wine which were enjoyable, but even then, the red was served in small, rather than proper red wine, glasses. I would suggest that visitors to Beaune would be better off spending their euros elsewhere. PS, for those who are intetested - the location is good, right inside the city walls, but there is no outside seating other than two small tables plonked in front of the restaurant on a reasonably busy pavement.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank CarolineD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Taunton, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“What a bargain”
Reviewed August 7, 2013

This is probably one of the nicest value for money place in Beaune. I just wish it was a bit bigger but what a wonderful place! I would recommend this to anyone looking for a good meal without being ripped, but make to book in.

  • Visited September 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank MartinBurgundy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed La Ciboulette also viewed

 
Beaune, Cote d'Or
Beaune, Cote d'Or
 

Been to La Ciboulette? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing