We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“very nice restaurant, lovely food, ambiance and service” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of La Ciboulette

La Ciboulette
Ranked #8 of 205 Restaurants in Beaune
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $31 - $47
Cuisines: French
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Families with children, Special occasions, Local cuisine, Business meetings
Dining options: Late Night, Dinner, Lunch, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Oegstgeest, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
65 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“very nice restaurant, lovely food, ambiance and service”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 20, 2013

We found this restaurant by accident, we were looking for a place more in the centre but it is a very nice place, very recommendable.
Reservations recommended, it was full about 1/2 hr after we arrived. Outside seating limited and not particularly attractive.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank AdriaanNed
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

670 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    353
    232
    47
    24
    14
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London
Level Contributor
9 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Lost its charm - poor service, poor value”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 8, 2013

After 7 or 8 years, my husband & I made a return trip to Beaune. A great memory from our previous visit was dinner at La Ciboulette which we recalled as a homely restaurant with a great wine list and fantastic cheeses. It was the only restaurant from our previous visit that we rebooked this time around. However ... while the place has been smartened up, it was not a good return. We were booked in for 730 but it was 815 before we even had a glass of water in front of us and our order taken. I am not usually over-sensitive to these things as I can understand when a business prioritises regular customers over one-off or occasional visitors, but the blatant preferential treatment to the French over non-French customers was annoying and very poor manners. Food was disappointing - I had the cassoulet of snails which was a broth with frankly "could have been anything small and bullet-like" masquerading as snails; my husband's foie-gras parfait had an unpleasant looking vein of blood running through it; we both had a prawns in a curried-sauce which sounded delicious on the menu but was meh - sorry, no other words to describe it. We had two half bottles of wine which were enjoyable, but even then, the red was served in small, rather than proper red wine, glasses. I would suggest that visitors to Beaune would be better off spending their euros elsewhere. PS, for those who are intetested - the location is good, right inside the city walls, but there is no outside seating other than two small tables plonked in front of the restaurant on a reasonably busy pavement.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank CarolineD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Taunton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“What a bargain”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 7, 2013

This is probably one of the nicest value for money place in Beaune. I just wish it was a bit bigger but what a wonderful place! I would recommend this to anyone looking for a good meal without being ripped, but make to book in.

  • Visited September 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank MartinBurgundy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Columbia, South Carolina
Level Contributor
77 reviews
40 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
“Reservations a Must. Worth the Wait.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 23, 2013

On a whim, we stopped by this restaurant for lunch, but their were filled to capacity, so we made a reservation for dinner the following evening. It was definitely worth the wait, but make reservations for dinner so you are not disappointed. As other reviewers have noted, the food is excellent and the wine list is comprehensive. Service was great and, as the tables were close (French-style) we struck up a conversation with a couple next to us from Provence, which made the dinner even more intimate and rewarding. We loved the atmosphere and would definitely eat here again next time we are in Beaune.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank wetravellight11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
16 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Overpriced for the food quality and small sized basic place”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 20, 2013

We ate here in July 2013 and I have to disagree with some of the posted reviews for this place. Its very small, the decor is basic and the fish meal I had on the higher priced menu was simply not tasteful - it was served in a bowl that was very watery and not appetizing in the least. Over all it was an over priced forgettable meal experience for my family.

We picked this place based on the recommendation in Rick Steves France 2013 guidebook but would not go back as its not great value and the food was not that great for the price you pay.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank BCGringo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed La Ciboulette also viewed

Beaune, Cote d'Or
 
Beaune, Cote d'Or
 
Beaune, Cote d'Or
Beaune, Cote d'Or
 

Been to La Ciboulette? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing