We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Extensive cheese selection”

Le Jardin des Remparts
Reserve with
Le Jardin des Remparts is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #29 of 207 Restaurants in Beaune
Price range: $36 - $95
Cuisines: French
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions, Romantic, Business meetings, Local cuisine
Dining options: Late Night, Dinner, Lunch, Outdoor Seating, Reservations
Description: In the medeval town ramparts, the restaurant "Le Jardin des Remparts " welcomes you for an unforgettable culinary experience at a charming terrace or in its two dining rooms. The spirit conjours up the traditions of here and elsewhere, of yesterday and today. Christophe Bocquillon offers you bold and free cooking.Charolais beef tartare, chartreuse soufflé with tansy ice cream and much more
New York, NY
Level Contributor
147 reviews
73 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 137 helpful votes
“Extensive cheese selection”
Reviewed August 24, 2014

Dinner service is attentive and pleasant without being overbearing, but a bit in the country. The charolais beef was excellent, and this restaurant had, in my opinion, the most extensive cheese cart selection with the most helpful cheese server (and additional cheese syrups and accoutrements) out of all of the restaurants I have tried in Beaune. The atmosphere could be a bit more relaxed, given that we are out in the country.

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank yaneh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JARDINDESREMPARTS, Propriétaire at Le Jardin des Remparts, responded to this review, August 26, 2014
Thank you for your comment. You appreciated our cheeses trolley and we thank you because all cheeses are selected with a lot of attention. It is very important for us to propose a large selection of cheeses and to keep a beautiful trolley. See you soon
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

556 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    284
    151
    77
    30
    14
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Davis, California
Level Contributor
33 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Quality..Ambiance...Service...WOW factor supreme”
Reviewed August 19, 2014

We enjoyed the experience the moment we stepped into the room,,,and it continued....the food quality and service were over the top...knowledge of the serving staff...very comprehensive...variety of menu...just right and the quantity of each dish...adequate ...Fine dining at its pinnacle...

  • Visited August 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank sanmiguelsandy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Not back to old standard...”
Reviewed August 10, 2014

We've eaten at Le Jardin des Ramparts 4 or 5 times over the last decade or so. Early on it was elegant, the food was excellent, and the service as expected at an first class restaurant in France. In the middle years the service and food declined. We were glad to see that Michelin had restored the establishment's star so we went again on a recent visit to Beaune. Unfortunately we did not have a good experience. The service was amateurish and slow. The food was good but hardly a value. I doubt we'll go again.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Altave
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Canada
Level Contributor
149 reviews
85 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
“Michelin Guide disappoints”
Reviewed August 7, 2014

This Micheline one-star has a spectacular building and a gorgeous outdoor dining patio. The prices were extremely high but all four of us were highly disappointed by the neglect, impatient and haughty attitude of the serving staff, as well as the minute portions of average quality food. My lady guest had three spears of white asparagus for $30.00. Not worth the price.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Wilfredo48
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bangkok, Thailand
Level Contributor
25 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Excellent Food and Service was Impeccable”
Reviewed July 28, 2014

We dines at le Jardin des Remparts during our stay in Beaune on a recommendation, the outdoor setting was a real pleasure to be there. The Service was once of the best received on this holiday (where we visited Switzerland, France and Germany) the knowledge of the staff and the Sommelier was a pleasure to listen to, especially that this is becoming rare in restaurants. As for the Food it was just excellent, the Filtet de Boeuf Charolais melted in your mouth, la Barbue de Line roti et Jeune Fenouil was excellent.
The Wine selection is well appointed and the Cheese trolley is not to be missed!

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Philippe H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Le Jardin des Remparts also viewed

Puligny-Montrachet, Beaune
 
Beaune, Cote d'Or
 

Been to Le Jardin des Remparts? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing