We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Amazing service & food. Highlight of Beaune!”

Le Jardin des Remparts
Reserve with
Le Jardin des Remparts is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #31 of 206 Restaurants in Beaune
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $36 - $95
Cuisines: French, European
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions, Business meetings, Local cuisine, Families with children, Romantic
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Lunch, Accepts American Express, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Off-Street Parking, Full Bar, Outdoor Seating, Private Dining, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible, Wine and Beer
Description: In the medeval town ramparts, the restaurant "Le Jardin des Remparts " welcomes you for an unforgettable culinary experience at a charming terrace or in its two dining rooms. The spirit conjours up the traditions of here and elsewhere, of yesterday and today. Christophe Bocquillon offers you bold and free cooking.Charolais beef tartare, chartreuse soufflé with tansy ice cream and much more
Aus
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Amazing service & food. Highlight of Beaune!”
Reviewed March 21, 2013 via mobile

We both love food- especially dessert. Having spent a week in france we felt it an appropriate time to splash out on a sugary heaven & what better place to do this than at Le Jardin des Remparts.

Given it is the quiet season here in Beaune we were able to have dessert & wine only. We ordered with very attentive service from the delightful waitress. Our desserts were delicious- a good size, if not generous. Pre-dessert was also generous with a selection of different petit fours. The coffee was decent, far better than others tried in the area.

We were delighted to have met the chefs. The experience is unforgettable! Service, food & attentive & friendly staff made for a wonderful parting experience in Beaune. I strongly advise you to try this restaurant as the money is very well spent!

We will be sure to return to sample more delights at this gorgeous restaurant!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank AussieTraveler123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JARDINDESREMPARTS, Propriétaire at Le Jardin des Remparts, responded to this review, March 23, 2013
Thank you for having take the time to write us. We are very glad when our clients appreciate our cooking and our team. We will remember you as "crazy australians" as you said! See you soon for a lunch or a dinner time, but you will be also welcome to taste a famous Alban Barta's desert, our pastry chief. Don't hesitate also to post the picture on our profile.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

547 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    279
    149
    75
    30
    14
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
62 reviews
42 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
“Pricey but beautiful demonstration of modern French haut cuisine”
Reviewed March 20, 2013

Having walked about Beaune to check out other restaurants and worried that they all looked too touristy (and all had roughly the same menu of regional classics), we threw fiscal caution to the wind and booked here. No need. We turned out to be the only diners in this beautiful, and fairly large, restaurant all night. I was worried this was a bad sign, but we ended up with beautiful food, lavish service and no attempt to rush us out, despite the fact we were all that was keeping the whole staff from going home.

We opted for the 68euro menu exceptionelle which allows you to assemble your own 5 course meal (starter, fish, main, cheese, pudding) from the menu. Not liking the set menu, this was by far the best option as the a la carte prices are steep. My foie gras starter, for example, would have been 35 euro. Food was imaginatively combined (scallops, mango and black olive; fillet with a sauce of pickled herring) in a way that stayed on the right side of innovative. Lots of extras (amuse bouche, Pre-dessert, petit four) meant that I was actually pushing hard to get the chocolate fondant down. Given the low season emptiness there was no cheese cart, but the prepared offering of soft white cheese layered with Fallot mustard (made 100yards away) and served with mustard ice cream was gorgeous.

My only complaint would be the wine list. I'd hoped local knowledge would have provided plenty of "village" discoveries (the level below premiere cru) from the cote to keep prices down, but this is an eye-wateringly expensive list with average prices around 100euro a bottle. And no matching wine flights as would be on offer at an equivalent place in London. Our waitress, however, was great, asking what our wine budget was and offering to match for us. We said 75 for the meal and she came up with 2 exceptional village offerings (one Puligny Montrachet, one Auxey Duresses) in half bottles that were perfect. So good we blew our stated budget and had another half bottle. This time she brought a village Marsannay, a bit stronger thus well suited to stand up to the cheese and the chocolate.

At 140 euro each (half of that being wine), we can't be doing this every night on hols. But at roughly uk£60 less than a very similar Michelin-starred dinner near home last month, good value.

One word of warning. We wouldn't have enjoyed it as much without being able to speak fairly competent French. The waitress had a little English but we never could have gotten to her wine suggestion in it!

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank BencardsBites
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JARDINDESREMPARTS, Propriétaire at Le Jardin des Remparts, responded to this review, March 23, 2013
We thank you for your message and for taking the time to write us and we are glad that you appreciated Le Jardin des remparts.
We hope that you will visit us at summer time to enjoy our terrace, wonderful in summer.
See you soon
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
middletown
Level Contributor
82 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 82 helpful votes
“Best cheese cart...that we have seen!”
Reviewed December 31, 2012

We had the wonderful cheese cart, but we being americans ordered it at the wrong time during the the meal. Cheese is eaten for dessert in France so we now know from our trip. We have always loved chesse and liked to eat it at the beginning of our meal...we were treated a bit rudly for this. Never the less the cart was amazing 2 or more dozen varitys to choose from. The rest of the meal was good too. Prepare for a three hour meal with $$$ attached.

  • Visited September 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank pueho126
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ipswich
Level Contributor
108 reviews
55 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 149 helpful votes
“Expensive but worth it.”
Reviewed November 13, 2012

We had a great fine dining meal here on our first day in Beaune. The service and food were all top notch. It was expensive and you won’t get much change out of 100 Euros each for a meal and a mid-priced wine but because everything was done so well it was worth every penny. A great place to celebrate a special occasion and you don’t have to be suited and booted to get in. The wine list is extensive as youd expect and some bottles are eye wateringly pricey - which kind of adds to the fun. You need to book. A very memorable meal.

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank wardster
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, England
Level Contributor
129 reviews
94 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
“Very good”
Reviewed November 7, 2012

Cooking and presentation were excellent; the menu being quite different from standard french restaurant fare.
Service was efficient and responsive; although not particularly friendly (due to the large number of servers calling at each table).
We were given two starter "tasters" and a substantial pre-dessert offering. Our main courses of foie gras and duck breast for me and three cuts of lamb for my husband were superb. My dessert souffle coulant of blackcurrant and lavender with lavender sorbet was also extremely tasty.
Coffees with nougats and caramels were somewhat of a let-down after the excellent standard of the rest of our very enjoyable meal, which left us pleasantly full but not overly so.
Definitely worth a visit if the menu prices don't put you off - it's worth it!

  • Visited September 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Geoff & Barbara
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Le Jardin des Remparts also viewed

Puligny-Montrachet, Beaune
 
Beaune, Cote d'Or
 

Been to Le Jardin des Remparts? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing