We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely atrium dining room!”

Le Relais des Gourmets
Ranked #1 of 38 Restaurants in Avallon
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $22 - $52
Cuisines: French
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine
Dining options: Late Night, Reservations
Description: The Head Chefs Guy Hamelin and Mickaël Pantaléon have been cooking fresh food for thirty years : a savoir-faire rewarded by the Medal of Tourism and quality labels such as Restaurateur de France and Qualite Tourisme. Three olive trees of over two hundred years have been planted under a glass roof that covers a bright dining room : the pastel colours plunge you into the mediterranean atmosphere of Provence. The historical and natural heritage of our region is waiting for you : Vezelay and its basilica classified by UNESCO, feudal castle of the Marshal of Vauban in Bazoches, medieval village of Noyers-sur-Serein, decorated caves of Arcy-sur-Cure, Natural Park of Morvan, abbeys, vineyards, rivers, canals, and much more...
Sonoma, CA USA
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Lovely atrium dining room!”
Reviewed June 13, 2013

We had two dinners here on a recent visit to Burgundy and both were very good and very reasonably priced. We had beef the first night (they cheerfully took it back twice to get it to the right degree of doneness for us), and we had a red trout dinner the other night. Inventive little starters and very complete dinner with really nice service.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank PaulainSonoma
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

375 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    190
    145
    26
    11
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Lausanne, Switzerland
Level 6 Contributor
143 reviews
34 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 87 helpful votes
“Charming and tasty, a very good address in the area”
Reviewed May 7, 2013

A delightful setting (try to get a table under the olive tree, in the restaurant ourtyard), a friendly and careful service and a a good "French" cuisine with an excellent choice of Brugundy Wines. Reasonables prices.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank luxfiat62
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Level 6 Contributor
178 reviews
109 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
“Extremely popular restaurant”
Reviewed September 25, 2012

We fortunately emailed and made a reservation for Sunday lunch (very quick reply to our email confirming reservation) as the restaurant was full to capacity ... with local residents who know a good thing when it's on the doorstep.

Good range of menus and wines at reasonable prices. Considering how busy the restaurant was, the service was attentive and quick.

Quality of food was generally very good - although not quite the gourmet standard its name suggests.

We would certainly visit again if passing through the area.

  • Visited September 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank daktari_on_safari
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mont-Saint-Jean
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“just okay...”
Reviewed October 20, 2011

Overall, the restaurant is a bit old fashioned - the food is very classic with a lot of sauces and the service is haphazard.

The head waitress (probably owner) gave us the wrong main course and when we tried to tell her she got really defensive and said we had ordered the veal tongue - I am sure it was delicious but surely we did not order this! After a lot of discussion (and by now the other's food is cold) she admitted that she got the order wrong. I guess one call tell a good service experience when there is a problem - in this case there is an issue.

Given this experience, I will not go back (and I do not live far from Avallon) as I think there are other restaurants that are hard working and deliver both good food and great service (for me there needs to be a good balance between the food, service and price).

  • Visited October 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
3 Thank TobiasYang
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Le Relais des Gourmets also viewed

 

Been to Le Relais des Gourmets? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing