We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A strange mixture”
Review of Hotel De La Poste

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Hotel De La Poste
Ranked #11 of 21 Hotels in Auxerre
Reviewed June 21, 2011

The hotel is a strange mixture. Our room was large and comfortable, the furniture old (but by no means shabby); our bathroom, (relatively) modern and (somewhat) palatial; and the bed, less than comfortable. The hotel is perfectly situated, in the centre of one of France’s most entrancing cities.

  • Stayed: May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TheOldiesBrisbane
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (95)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

15 - 21 of 95 reviews

Reviewed May 17, 2011

We didn't stay here, but we ate in the restaurant twice.
Excellent value and delicious traditional food - especially the Foie Gras

  • Stayed: May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank beaumont37
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 20, 2010

Found the hotel which has a great central location via a listing in 'The Rough Guide to France', which gave it a good review - while noting the bizarre wall covering (dark coconut matting) in the corridors. We were glad there was a room available as it was rather late. Reception area was fine, but when we had to walk through the family living area with blaring TV, food covered table, smelly dog and slouching teenagers to access the stairs to our 2nd floor room alarm bells should have sounded. The room seemed OK - decor fine and seemed clean(ish) - if rather a trek along the dark corridor and overlooked the rear courtyard. The toilet was separate to the bath & sink and definitely was the smallest room as you couldn't sit on the loo without the door open (it was literally only the size of the toilet!). Didn't venture into the restaurant but each time we went out had to negotiate the family room! Only one of us went down to breakfast the next day (not late) which was another experience as the only one there in this dark inner badly lit room (the same room as the restaurant - which had had quite a number of diners the night before!). Three or four tables had obviously been used for breakfast by other guests but the rest still had the debris from the night before - glasses, wine bottles etc. Hardly anything left on the communal table for breakfast - one croissant, one slice of bread, no milk for cereal and no offer of replenishments, though I did get offered coffee by the waitress. The proprietress was shuffling around slovenly dressed, hair unkept and non-communicative. Her hostile attitude continued even as we were checking out and paying for this!

  • Stayed: September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank okepa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 11, 2007

We arrived into Auxerre in the early evening, and unfortunately most options were already fully booked. We booked Hotel La Poste through the tourist office.

The decor was atrocious - very poor in the common hallways. The walls were covered in painted thick rope, masquerading as wallpaper and very dark.

Reception wasn't too friendly on check-in, and when my partner ducked out to buy some water and a filled roll, the receptionist inspected his bag and then told him he had to stand on the pavement and eat his baguette as there was to be no food in the rooms.

Bed spread and top blanket felt very greasy and unclean. However, I think the sheets were clean.

Bathroom ok, although, having requested a room with a shower, would have expected more than having to hold the attachment from the bath and get water all over the bathroom.

Also, heard suspicious scuffling in the eaves in the morning... maybe this explains the strict no food rule.

  • Stayed: October 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
3  Thank weekendhopper
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 23, 2007

Our second night in Auxerre, my family of four went to the Hotel la Poste restaurant attached to the hotel of the same name. We speak some French, but initally asked the hostess if she spoke English. She said no and then began to reel off English terms for foods on the menu. We had asked if she spoke English because my daughter and I are allergic to nuts and though we can read most French menus, we were not sure about a few things on this one. So we then asked, in French, if there were nuts in particular dishes. She rolled her eyes and responded in English that she could not possibly tell us if there were or not. Of course we knew that most dishes were nut free but our allergies are life threatening so we thought it best to ask. In any case, we got up, said good bye and left.

I understand that our experience could have taken place anywhere and that this individual was just not nice but I want others to know about it and hope that the hotel staff/restaurant will pay some attention.

3  Thank familyBoston
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 14, 2017 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: September 2017, traveled on business
Thank Baptiste V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 31, 2017
Google Translation

  • Stayed: July 2017, traveled solo
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Hector1803
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Auxerre hotels
0.4 mi away
Ibis Auxerre Centre
Ibis Auxerre Centre
#3 of 21 in Auxerre
534 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Normandie Auxerre
Hotel Normandie Auxerre
#1 of 21 in Auxerre
354 reviews
4.1 mi away
Kyriad Auxerre - Appoigny
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Le Parc des Marechaux
Le Parc des Marechaux
#4 of 21 in Auxerre
262 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Le Maxime
Hotel Le Maxime
#5 of 21 in Auxerre
224 reviews
4.0 mi away
Mercure Auxerre
Mercure Auxerre
#1 of 3 in Appoigny
410 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel De La Poste? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel De La Poste

Address: 9 rue d Orbandelle, 89000, Auxerre, France
Phone Number:
Location: France > Bourgogne-Franche-Comte > Yonne > Auxerre
Amenities:
Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 21 Hotels in Auxerre
Price Range: $83 - $87 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel De La Poste 2*
Number of rooms: 19
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Hotwire and TripOnline SA so you can book your Hotel De La Poste reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing