We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Quirky charm” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Le Parc des Marechaux

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Le Parc des Marechaux
Ranked #3 of 22 Hotels in Auxerre
Oslo, Norway
Level Contributor
97 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Quirky charm”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 13, 2013

An absolutely charming gem. Situated in a park-like garden on the outskirts of Auxerre. Large (at least I had one) rooms, well-furnished with period pieces. Quiet an airy. Very good breakfast - for France! :-)

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jan Fredrik T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

231 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    76
    93
    43
    14
    5
See reviews for
33
124
6
32
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (17)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
London
Level Contributor
140 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 2, 2013

We chose this hotel as we were looking for somewhere to stay with parking whilst close to the town centre. The parking was within the hotel grounds on a side area which was fine, although there wasn't an abundance of spaces which may prove a problem if the hotel was fully booked. The walk into the town centre took 5-10 mins. There are some stairs from the garden to the reception area although this wasn't a problem for us.

The room we had was located at the rear of the building overlooking the gardens and was quiet.
My general feeling would be that although our room was clean it was quite small along with too many pieces of furniture making it quite difficult to open suitcases and manoeuvre. The sofa bed was also very hard.

We opted for the breakfast which was continental style with no hot options and the breakfast room was small and awkward.


Whilst the staff were pleasant I do feel the decor in the hotel is very tired in parts: one particular chandelier was hanging very low from the ceiling by a loose wire which hit my head a couple of times -

I feel the hotel is overpriced and doesn't justify 4 stars!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank jzeee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vals, Switzerland
Level Contributor
36 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 3, 2013

A pebbled path leads from the parking to the hotel door and then up a couple of steps to reception. This was not very convenient for someone arriving in heels with a large laptop bag and a suitcase, after a very long drive.
The staff is very friendly and helpful, also fluent in English.
The hotel is very well located within walking distance to the center of town.
I was given a corner room, facing a bit of parking area and the park. The room was charming in some ways but at the same time very dark.
The bathroom wasn't thouroughly cleaned as I found some strange hair here and there.
The big disappointment was a hand-held shower though.
The walls of the rooms are so thin, that I could hear my neighbour snoring.
Breakfast was good, but basic. Enough for me to eat to satisfy my tummy, but not enough for the price asked.
If I end up in Auxerre again, I might stay there again as it was nice, but I would probably rather be tempted to stay elsewhere instead.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank PrincipessaSA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canton of Schaffhausen, Switzerland
Level Contributor
17 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 22, 2013 via mobile

We stayed here for one night on a Friday. The hotel is beautifully located just 5 min walk from the centre of Auxere. The staff were very friendly and the decor is great.

Unfortunately our standard double room was very dark and poky. There was no room and me and my husband were falling over each other. The bathroom needed an update and the shower is not fixed but over the bath so you have to hold it to shower...not great.

We ate at the hotel although there is no restaurant we had simple food in the bar. There wasn't much choice considering they advertise a full menu...a bit of a let down, however, what we ate was good.

Breakfast wasn't great. There was no warm option just continental. There wasn't much choice.

Overall I think this hotel is overbilled as a 4 star so a little overpriced.

Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Clare W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Waltham, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
15 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 20, 2013

We used this hotel as our base for exploring the local area. It is in easy walking distance of downtown Auxerre and has a free car park. The first room we were shown was very cramped so we asked for an upgrade which was much better. it was worth the higher price. The staff could not have been nicer and the hostess speaks perfect English. Since we were there in March, the hotel was pretty much empty but the breakfast was still ample and delicious.

Room Tip: It is worth paying a few Euros more for a larger room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lorraine V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami, Florida
Level Contributor
132 reviews
100 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 168 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 16, 2013

It is not a 4* hotel.
There’s nobody to help you with the bags.
The room is clean but very basic with no shelves or drawers to keep our clothes.
Breakfast was very basic too.
Bathroom only had a hand-held shower, making it impossible to wash ones hair.
We shortened our trip because this place did not meet our expectations.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank FromSaoPaulo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 1, 2012

Good location and access to Auxerre central. Delightful garden grounds. Appreciated free carparking. Room allocated was on third level overlooking rear garden. The room was very cramped with furnishings and no room for two suitcases. We had to move furniture to access our cases.Bathroom did not have a fixed shower over the bath let alone a separate shower. Towels provided (a good indicator of hotel standard) were pretty thin and small. While the lift (exceptionally jerky) displayed a dinner menu there is no restaurant. The helpful staff indicated available restaurants but feigned ignorance of Michelin mentioned establishments. The breakfast buffet was adequate but lacked any hot food generally expected of a 3 star hotel. Of 13 hotels stayed in over a 5 week touring holiday across Europe this was the disappointment. We have previously stayed in another hotel in Auxerre which was ranked lower by Tripadvisor. If staying in Auxerre a very interesting and delightful city again we will choose another hotel.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Jon E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Auxerre hotels
0.3 mi away
Hotel Normandie Auxerre
Hotel Normandie Auxerre
#1 of 22 in Auxerre
4.0 of 5 bubbles 293 reviews
0.7 mi away
Ibis Auxerre Centre
Ibis Auxerre Centre
#2 of 22 in Auxerre
3.5 of 5 bubbles 477 reviews
4.1 mi away
Mercure Auxerre
Mercure Auxerre
#1 of 4 in Appoigny
3.5 of 5 bubbles 355 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Hotel Le Maxime
Hotel Le Maxime
#5 of 22 in Auxerre
4.0 of 5 bubbles 193 reviews
0.5 mi away
Le Seignelay
Le Seignelay
#13 of 22 in Auxerre
3.5 of 5 bubbles 70 reviews
4.5 mi away
Moulin de la Coudre
Moulin de la Coudre
#1 of 3 in Venoy
4.0 of 5 bubbles 99 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Le Parc des Marechaux? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Le Parc des Marechaux

Property: Le Parc des Marechaux
Address: 6 avenue Foch, 89000, Auxerre, France
Location: France > Bourgogne-Franche-Comte > Yonne > Auxerre
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 22 Hotels in Auxerre
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Le Parc des Marechaux 3*
Number of rooms: 25
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Agoda, Hotel.de and Priceline so you can book your Le Parc des Marechaux reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Le Parc Des Marechaux Auxerre

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing