We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Beautiful holiday house in the quiet hills of The...”
other travelers have booked this property
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Excellent
10 reviews
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Rental Home -
3 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 6
Autun, Saone-et-Loire, Bourgogne-Franche-Comte

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 10 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Dutch first
English first
Any
English first
PaulDijkh...
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
1 review
“Beautiful holiday house in the quiet hills of The Bourgogne”
Reviewed March 19, 2017 for a stay in February 2017

In the weekend of 17 February we have stayed a long weekend in Gites le Lait. The house is very well equiped and with it's fireplace it is both cosy and romantic as well. In contrast to most other French places the beds are great and of size that fits better to the larger North European men. With two luxury bathrooms and three bedrooms this is a perfect place to stay for bigger families or some friends. We took our three little boys 1,3 and 5 and they loved it. As it is on an old farm with enough land there is loads of playground for children. When you come to the Bourgogne to enjoy the hills, the peacefulness and some wines this is a great place to stay. There are loads of winecastles all around where of course you can taste before you buy. We would love to come back once in summer when we can use the swimming pool. The hospitable owners Kalja and Dwight run there own lives and respect your privacy. Nevertheless they are more then happy to drive to the Bakery in the morning to make sure you have some nice croissants and French Bread. The Gite has a nice terrace with table and chairs so when Celsius allows it is a great place to barbecue or make your lunch and/or dinner and eat outside. Although we only stayed for three nights it felt like we came back from a week holiday.

Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adam H
Sutton, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Wow!”
Reviewed September 13, 2016 for a stay in September 2016

We had a amazing stay at Gite le Lait, it is surrounded by countryside and farmland, so virtually no traffic noise at all,with amazing views in all directions.
The Gite is well equipped, and on arrival, we found a supply of milk, butter, eggs, coffee among others... all the basics you need, so you don't need to go straight to the supermarket after unpacking! They have wine for sale, and kindly arrange a bread delivery every morning if you wish, including baguettes, pain au chocolat, and croissants as well as other options makes breakfast easy.
The Gite has every convenience you need (including a hairdryer unlike many places) and is spotlessly clean. It has just the right mix of old and new, with tasteful style,and wooden beams.
The owners live on site and are around and happy to answer any questions, or give advice on places to visit etc, but they are so discrete, you hardly know they are there unless you look out for them. Their thoughtfulness and attention to detail shows they have experience in the industry.
The pool is kept immaculately clean, they have a selection of raquets, bats and balls, and darts for the dart board, so there's no need to bring your own equipment, and the kids have enough activities for hours of outdoor fun on site.
This is Burgundy, so there are plenty of Quaint towns and castles to visit, lots of countryside to explore, and my son's favorite- Acrogivry, a fun filled day of treetop adventures for anyone wanting an adrenaline fix!
In summary, a lovely Gite, in a lovely location, with lovely owners, and all the facilities you could want.
We had an amazing, relaxing time, and would recommend to anyone wanting to escape the hustle and bustle of everyday life.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Pool, Views, Location, Quiet, Owners- all of it!
Liked least: Only staying 1 week!
Traveling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JoMa1971
Eichstatt, Germany
Level 4 Contributor
35 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Fantastic!”
Reviewed September 7, 2015 for a stay in September 2015

Everything seemed almost too good to be true: the pool with its amazing view, the great house and the extremely friendly owners. And the greatest thing was – it WAS true!

We (a family of four with two girls aged 6 and 10) had an excellent time at “Gites Le Lait” and everything lived up to our expectations and beyond. The pool is really great and could also be used and enjoyed by families with children who cannot swim. Its layout is great both for swimmers and those that still have to learn. The view from the pool is just as amazing as can be seen in the pictures. The house is situated right in the middle of the most beautiful Burgundy scenery. Everything is new and clean and very functional (the only thing that needs a little getting used to are the rather steep staircases). The kitchen has everything you need and also the technical equipment (sat TV and WiFi) work perfectly well. The showers were also great. The rooms are just as nice as shown in the pictures on the website.

The owners live on the same site in a house nearby and they are really very nice and helpful. They are always there to give advice (the bread delivery service they provide is excellent!), but they do keep the exact right balance between being there when needed and leaving the guests enough privacy and space. For example, being able to get great recommendations (and even help with reservations) for local restaurants is an absolute plus!

We really, really loved every minute at the house and the pool and would definitely recommend it to everyone who wants to have peace and quiet in luxury and comfort!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: private pool, house, really everything... ;-)
Liked least: not much we could think of
Traveling group: Family with Young Children
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Madrid
Reviewed August 11, 2015 for a stay in August 2015

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The heated pool
Liked least: The beds, the lack of fans or a/c
Traveling group: Young Children
Your age range 25-34
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
TasiaLCoo...
Wokingham, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Amazing Gite, Location and Owners”
Reviewed July 8, 2015 for a stay in June 2015

6 of us, after taking part on a 5 day rally and having been in the car for a solid 5 days exploring Europe arrived on Monday 22nd June - late at night - and were pleasantly greeted by Dwight who showed us the Gite and after we asked if there were any shops open at 10pm at night where we could get some wine and supplies for the night, he said unfortunately not. I think our faces must have expressed our disappointment, as he laughed and said not to worry there is some complimentary items in the fridge in the house as well as a fridge with wine to buy outside. He also informed us that they run a breakfast service delivering freshly basked goods in the morning, smiles then spread across our faces and from then on we knew we had picked the right place to stay.
The Gite itself is a converted barn and is everything you would expect form the look on the outside, yet you walk inside and it is a modern yet classic with a cozy living area and modern perfectly equipped kitchen. Upstair are two perfectly sized double bedrooms with a family bathroom and a master suit in the roof with a shower and sink. Just PERFECT! after a coin toss for the bedrooms we finally settled in to the Gite.
The next day after the breakfast was delivered and we had had our morning coffee we started to explore this fantastic site. Finding the undercover area with the table tennis table and football table, large dinning table and BBQ we were thrilled, then we found the pool, with 6 sun loungers and an under cover seating area to escape the afternoon sun and enjoy pre dinner drinks and nibbles over looking the stunning Burgundy Country side. We were in heaven and everything we could have asked for.
Kalja soon introduced her self offering fresh mint home grown from her garden, for mint tea, although we made use in an ice cold Gin and Tonic!
They arranged a wine tour at a local vineyard that was fascinating and soon filled our appetite for some award winning wines of the region. We were also recommended places to visit and a horse ridding trip was also arrange with no hassle or fuss from Dwight and Kalja!
Although leaving the pool was difficult we did on our last day to go horse ridding, unfortunately we had a car accident and got into a spot of bother finding help and assistance as well as some of the party being stranded at the horse ridding place.
Not to worry Dwight and Kalja came to our rescue and pick us up and helped with directions locations and of course French! We were extremely grateful and thankful for them both for helping us out and going above and beyond what would have been expected form your hosts. AND it was Kalja's Birthday!
The holiday was a huge success and it was down to two things the Gite and the owners. We had such fun dinning with them and getting to know them as well as lounging by the pool.
Thank you Dwight and Kalja we cannot recommend this Gite enough!
BOOK NOW!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The owners, Location and Pool
Liked least: Nothing! should have booked 2 weeks!
Traveling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The Netherlands
Reviewed May 29, 2015 for a stay in May 2015
1
person found this review helpful

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Complete package
Traveling group: Young Children
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
mikeverme...
Nijmegen, The Netherlands
1 review
Reviewed May 15, 2017 for a stay in May 2017
Google Translation

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing