We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Ibis, Autun- a hidden gem”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Ibis Autun

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Ibis Autun
Ranked #5 of 6 Hotels in Autun
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
36 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Ibis, Autun- a hidden gem”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 4, 2011

Hotel is beautifully situated in the hills of Burgundy on the shore of a small lake.The town of Autun has several pleasant restaurants, brasseries etc., as well as Roman gates and a superb Roman amphitheatre! A good (and quiet) place to stay if headed South from the Channel ports to the South of France.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank HowardA678
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

174 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    17
    58
    64
    29
    6
See reviews for
21
91
13
41
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Leicester, UK
Level Contributor
88 reviews
52 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 7, 2010

This is a privately run hotel, within the Ibis chain - but it's not up to the normal Ibis corporate standards.
We had a very pleasant room overlooking the town and a great view to the chateau and hills beyond. The room was slightly larger than average, very clean, but with a window opening over the smokers seeking refuge from the bar.
There was plenty of parking, and the hotel was easy to find - but it is a way out of town, which means a drive if you want to avoid the dreadful, pretentious, overpriced restaurant in the hotel itself

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Millimole
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
40 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 2, 2010

First of all, the staff at this hotel were excellent- nice, friendly and very efficient. The rooms left much to be desired, however. They gave new meaning to the word "cozy": our room was so small that we had to step onto the bed to access the wardrobe. The shower was so powerful that the water just jetted directly down, making it useless for showering. The breakfast was expensive (€8) and they often ran out of food, without replenishing it.

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank rsatterley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
195 reviews
187 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 554 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 16, 2004

I spent one night here last June while attending a conference in Le Creusot. This hotel is pleasant enough, and inexpensive. The rooms are quite small, but they look to have been recently updated. Don't come here looking for Olde Worldie charm; this is a functional hotel. The staff were fairly helpful (by the standards of this part of the world.) It is not in the middle of Autun; for that, try the St. Louis de la Poste.

  • Stayed June 2004, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SkyeTraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Autun
1.3 mi away
Hotel le Commerce
Hotel le Commerce
#2 of 6 in Autun
4.0 of 5 bubbles 61 reviews
1.0 mi away
Logis de La Tete Noire
1.3 mi away
Les Ursulines
Les Ursulines
#4 of 6 in Autun
3.0 of 5 bubbles 215 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
14.7 mi away
Hotel de la Halle
Hotel de la Halle
#1 of 2 in Nolay
4.0 of 5 bubbles 38 reviews
14.7 mi away
Chez Camille
Chez Camille
#1 of 1 in Arnay-le-Duc
4.0 of 5 bubbles 153 reviews
7.9 mi away
La Rose Des Vents
La Rose Des Vents
#1 of 1 in Marmagne
4.0 of 5 bubbles 28 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ibis Autun? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ibis Autun

Property: Ibis Autun
Address: 3 Rue Louis Aragon, RN 80 Route de Chalon | Plan d'eau du Vallon, 71400, Autun, France
Location: France > Bourgogne-Franche-Comte > Saone-et-Loire > Autun
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 6 Hotels in Autun
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Ibis Autun 3*
Number of rooms: 46
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Ibis Autun is moments away from the historic town centre and its cathedral and enjoys the cool and tranquil setting of Lake Vallon. Across from the exhibition centre and just a few minutes from shopping and industrial centres, this hotel welcomes youwith 46 individually airconditioned rooms equipped with WiFi. Enjoy our restaurant and 24 hour bar and make use of our two well equipped function rooms for your meetings or family dinners. Golf course 1 km away, sailing 200 m. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, ACCOR, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline and TripOnline SA so you can book your Ibis Autun reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing