We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Lovely Chateau in Burgundy”
other traveler has booked this property
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Excellent
7 reviews
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Castle -
3 Bedrooms, 5 Bathrooms, Sleeps 6
Burgundy

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 7 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
English first
Russian first
Any
English first
JJRalston
Atlanta, Georgia
1 review
“Lovely Chateau in Burgundy”
Reviewed June 16, 2016 for a stay in May 2016

We arrived in Burgundy by car, after flying into Paris overnight from the US. Naturally, we were pretty tired and ready for some comfort and care. We got that and more at Chateau des Barrigards. When we drove down the long driveway, we know we were in for a treat. A stone chateau stood before us, surrounded by gardens and its own winery. The owner, Arnaud, had arranged for the caretaker to meet us there and get us settled in the lovely, historic stone residence. He had also made a dinner reservation for the 4 of us, just down the road at a wonderful restaurant. Arnaud made sure that we had an excellent welcome to Burgundy. The house had everything one would need -- great bathrooms, comfy beds and a beautifully equipped kitchen. Even though we did eat and drink our way through the villages of Burgundy, we managed to cook a few meals in the Chateau and dine in the lovely surroundings at the chateau. The nearby town of Beaune is the MOST charming that we encountered in Burgundy. We loved it so much, it was hard to go to the other villages! This chateau is very centrally located on the major wine road through Burgundy. It is a great choice for relaxing, enjoying the countryside and exploring the wine villages of the area. Very charming place!

Date of stay: May 2016
How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Central location near Beaune.
Liked least: Lack of amenities within walking distance.
Traveling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barry M
1 review
“Great chateau beautiful area”
Reviewed April 2, 2016 for a stay in March 2016

The chateau was excellent
Great location for touring, great house to come back to at the end of the day
Don't miss the farmers market in Beaune on Saturday

Date of stay: March 2016
How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Traveling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cheryl B
Menlo Park, California
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Experience the Beauty of Beaune”
Reviewed June 3, 2015 for a stay in May 2015

We are accustomed to fine lodgings in hotels but staying at a
private Chateau with furnishings from the 17th century was such an
incredible experience. The photos and descriptions were accurate except
the expanse of land surrounding the property was beyond expectation.
The perfect place to reflect and enjoy the beauty and peacefulness of the Beaune area. The owner of the property was beyond helpful. Since we do not speak French, he made restaurant reservations and assisted with local activities.
His recommendations for restaurants and vineyard wine tastings were fantastic.We couldn't have had such a wonderful experience on our own. He acted as our private concierge. I would recommend this property to anyone who enjoys and appreciates upscale travel and experiences.

Date of stay: May 2015
How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Staying in a private Chateau
Liked least: Nothing
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Judy W
Savannah, Georgia
Level 5 Contributor
60 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“A most enchanting chateau”
Reviewed January 1, 2015 for a stay in October 2014

We stayed here with friends and enjoyed every minute. With luck the owner was available and helped to set up a private dinner at the chateau. The home is beautifully appointed with family heirlooms. The three bedrooms en suite were very comfortable. The location of the chateau allows for day adventures into Beaune and the Burgundy countryside. We recommend that you take a cooking lesson with Marjorie Taylor of the Cook's Atelier in Beaune. Enjoy the Wednesday and Saturday markets.

Date of stay: October 2014
How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The setting
Traveling group: Friends
Your age range 65+
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michael A
Arlington, Virginia
2 reviews
“The Chateau Experience exceeded our expectations”
Reviewed June 12, 2012 for a stay in May 2012

The Chateau des Barrigards is a charming, comfortable and very classy place to spend a week. We were two couples and had the whole place to ourselves. The bathrooms are luxurious and the kitchen is to die for. The washer and dryer came in handy and the caretaker put out apparently brand new teak lawn furniture so we could enjoy the beautiful view out over the countryside from the back yard. Beaune, with its fine restaurants and great historical sights is only a few minutes drive away. The landlord appears to be totally committed to ensure his guests have a good experience. I highly recommend the chateau to anyone who wants a great place to stay while exploring the beautiful Burgundian countryside and one of the premier wine producing areas of the world.

Date of stay: May 2012
How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The eat in kitchen
Liked least: The wi fi did not work too well, but there is an ethernet cable, so we jut plugged in the laptop
Traveling group: With Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Litelle
1 review
Reviewed October 7, 2013 for a stay in September 2013
Google Translation

Date of stay: September 2013
Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing