We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Lovely little ok within the walls of the old town walking distance to everything!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Quic en Groigne

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Quic en Groigne
Ranked #1 of 81 Hotels in Saint-Malo
Certificate of Excellence
Derby, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
86 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
“Lovely little ok within the walls of the old town walking distance to everything!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 21, 2012

Booked 2 rooms as travelling with friends. Both were on the top floor street side, but very quiet. the hotel is tucked down a back street so very quiet all round.
Bathrooms new and clean, rooms compact but not too small and good value for 79 euros a night.
We have a VW hightop camper so did not fit in their garage but we parked right outside on the street 15euros for 24hrs. The owner was helpful, friendly and knowledgeable. Our friend had the breakfast available for 9.50euros each and they said it was fine. we were cheap and bought pastries from the end of the street and juice from a little store also at the end of the street.
We would recommend this as a good place3 to stay

Room Tip: If you don't like stairs ask for ground floor as no lifts.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank eyam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

471 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    333
    128
    8
    1
    1
See reviews for
97
274
15
18
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (34)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
21 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 21, 2012

The owners are so hands on and as a result you can be assured of the best service and advice from all the staff. The rooms are great, and the hotel is in a central location, easy walking to everything, as we had a large van we were worried about parking not a problem! St Malo is unique with a good vibe. Ask the owner to recommend good french restaurants . We thoroughly enjoyed our stay at St Malo and would stay again at this hotel.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank minny
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 18, 2012

As a party of two adults and two small boys we were welcomed warmly and offered every other assistance we required. Staff really went out of their way to ensure we had an enjoyable and memorable stay. The location is perfect!

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank vikkIplant
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 6, 2012

I stayed here with my wife over the Jubilee weekend, and we knew we were going to enjoy our stay when the owner greeted us with a warm smile and handshake. Our room was spotlessly clean as was the rest of the hotel, and breakfast, with local fresh produce was lovely.

The hotel is in a perfect position for all the attractions of the old city, the beach and for that matter, driving out to the surrounding areas. We were in a classic MG, which fitted perfectly in the secure garage. The owners are happy to suggest things to do, where to eat etc, and we availed ourselves of their expertise.

We would absolutely stay here again!

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank James250
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Delmar, NY
Level Contributor
175 reviews
58 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 89 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 25, 2012

Stayed at the Quic En Groinge one night during my trip to Normandy and the Loire. This charming little hotel within this lovely walled city is close to everything. The price was decent, about 90 euros for the larger room. The owners are very gracious and helpful. There is no lift, so if you do not want to climb stairs you must request a room on the lower floor. The owners will help carry your luggage to an upper floor. Would definitely stay there again.

Room Tip: No lift - if you do not want to walk up and down stairs, request a room on the ground floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank RScharfer9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Warwick, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 21, 2012

We needed a base in St Malo while waiting on some electrical remedies on our house, and chose this as cheap and cheerful. With two children (9 and 3) and a car full of luggage, we needed a base just off the ferry, and this is five minutes inside the walls. There is a good beach less than 100 yards away, and all of St Malo inside ten minutes. Lovely folks, squeezed us into a ground floor room and served us great coffee (we gave the breakfast a miss in favour of cafes in the town - but only because we were four...). They couldn't have cared for us better - for a bargain hotel it felt welcomeing and personal - as if we'd been valued guests for years.

One word - I used the carpark (11EUR, fair enough) as we'd got lots of gear on board, but the carpark is under the hotel, in a narrow lane, down a steep drop: I think a mini wouldn't notice, but a laden estate (or a Lotus) was not designed to burrow into such a place. Certainly I left it there until we departed, but getting out is far easier!

We'll look for an excuse to pop back.

Room Tip: Tell them what you need - they'll find the best for you
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank CrypticPencil
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Connecticut
Level Contributor
102 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 20, 2012

My wife and I spent one night in St. Malo and fortunately we chose the Hotel Quic en Groigne for our stay. The small hotel is centrally located within the walled city and a short walk from everything. It is on a side street adjacent to but not immersed in the tourist areas of the city. It also has a parking garage below the hotel for 6 cars (parking is an extra charge but well worth it in this city since parking is definitely at a premium). The only caution for the “faint at heart” is that getting the car down the ramp and into a space requires direction from the hotel staff (which they gladly provide) on the moves of the car to navigate the tight spaces. We did fine; but, once we left the car we knew that we would not drive it again until we left. Our room (C17) was compact (not appreciably different from the size of any city hotel room that you will find when travelling in Europe), spotlessly clean, very quiet, TV, modern shower and toilet area, a desk, two chairs, and closet space to hang and store clothes and place 1-2 small suitcases. The bed was very firm and comfortable and the window opened easily to let in the night air. And, the two words that come to mind when thinking about the managers and staff of the hotel is welcoming and friendly. The hotel is owned by a married couple who definitely know how to treat guests. They welcomed us warmly upon arrival and always treated us in a friendly manner (and a plus for us was that they spoke English since our French is somewhat lacking). They also accommodated a slight schedule issue and understood that we could not check out on a Sunday morning at normal checkout time (11:00 AM is checkout). We were going to attend 10:00 AM Mass at the Cathedral and could not be back until closer to 11:30. We were allowed to check out at 12:00 and it was no problem. We did not have breakfast at the hotel since we enjoy being with the local residents and knew that a Boulangerie a short distance around the corner would be fine for a light breakfast and to provide more local flavor. But, the breakfast area at the hotel was in a glassed in room and tastefully decorated and was well attended by the other guests. Overall we were totally pleased with the accommodations, the way we were treated, and the central location in St. Malo. We considered our stay a true value for the cost of the room and parking.

Room Tip: We had room C17 and it was GREAT!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank brooklyn45
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Saint-Malo hotels
0.8 mi away
Hotel Le Nouveau Monde
Hotel Le Nouveau Monde
#4 of 81 in Saint-Malo
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,278 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel Oceania Saint Malo
Hotel Oceania Saint Malo
#5 of 81 in Saint-Malo
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,552 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Le Nautilus
Hotel Le Nautilus
#2 of 81 in Saint-Malo
4.5 of 5 bubbles 642 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.9 mi away
Kyriad Prestige Saint Malo
Kyriad Prestige Saint Malo
#8 of 81 in Saint-Malo
4.5 of 5 bubbles 569 reviews
1.0 mi away
MERCURE Saint Malo Balmoral
MERCURE Saint Malo Balmoral
#10 of 81 in Saint-Malo
4.5 of 5 bubbles 813 reviews
1.9 mi away
La Villefromoy
La Villefromoy
#3 of 81 in Saint-Malo
4.5 of 5 bubbles 672 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Quic en Groigne? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Quic en Groigne

Property: Quic en Groigne
Address: 8 rue d Estrees, 35400, Saint-Malo, France
Location: France > Brittany > Ille-et-Vilaine > Saint-Malo
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 81 Hotels in Saint-Malo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Quic en Groigne 2*
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This small family hotel, recently renovated, nests in one of the quiet streets of the Intra-Muros, the historic city, just a step from the sea and ramparts. Its 15 quite various rooms welcome you according to your needs on courtyard or on street side. The hotel has a garage (reservation needed) and the breakfasts are served in the conservatory. To have lunch or dinner, we will recommend you saint Malo's best tables, Bistrots or traditional, gastronomic or for a simple bowl ofmussel, some pancakes/galettes all accessible on foot. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com and Agoda so you can book your Quic en Groigne reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing