We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Interesting”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Grand Hotel de Courtoisville
Ranked #15 of 82 Hotels in Saint-Malo
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed July 21, 2013

I stayed there last week at the end of a Grand Circle Cruise Line tour on the Seine from Paris to Honfleur. The hotel makes a lovely first impression with gardens and flowers/plants in the lobby. However, some things are strange. I had a room on the ground floor with windows opening onto a courtyard. The bed was what we used to call a "hollywood bed," two single beds pushed together and one large headboard. Comfortable enough. There was a closet with a rod and hangers, shelves to hold other clothes and a safe. There was also a desk and chair and an arm chair. But the bathroom arrangement was weird. The main bathroom had a tub with hand shower, a sink, and a bidet. Heated towel rods. But the WC was in a small room just inside the door from the corridor, and that had one light on a timer. After 4 minutes, it went off! On the wall, as I entered from the corridor were two switches, one of which turned on the light in the WC. I never found out what the other one was for. And that was repeated all over the room - strips of buttons to control something, but I could only find the ones for a few lights and to raise and lower the window blinds.
Because I had fallen and couldn't get around very well, I opted to have all my dinners at the hotel. And they were very good, especially the seafood. Oysters from Cancale, mussels, scallops, sea bass, sole. Everything was fresh and well prepared.
The breakfast buffet was very good. A previous reviewer has stated that you had to cook your own breakfast, but that's an exaggeration. There's a little pan of almost boiling water that you can lower an egg into and timers to get the degree of hardness you want. There's also a table on the side that has scrambled eggs and bacon kept warm. And the coffee was just as I like it - hot and strong.
The staff was especially friendly and helpful.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank XenonNewton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ZADFAR, Directeur général at Grand Hotel de Courtoisville, responded to this reviewResponded October 8, 2013

Dear XenonNewton,

Thank you very much for sharing your impressions.
We are thrilled to read that you enjoyed your stay with us and that you particularily enjoyed our quality of service.
Hoping to have the pleasure to welcome you back soon,
Kind regards,
Farzad Abadie, Director

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (756)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

72 - 78 of 756 reviews

Reviewed June 27, 2013

My husband and I recently stayed at this hotel on a Grand Circle trip. The hotel is located in a lovely garden just a block from the beach and promenade into the old town of Saint-Malo. The location is ideal as it is very picturesque and quiet. The lobby of this hotel is very pretty and the staff is extremely friendly and helpful. Our room was clean and cheerful. My only complaint would be the bathtub. We are used to traveling in Europe and are familiar with the hand held showers there. However there is usually a pole on the wall where you can hang the shower head. Since our bathroom had a sloped ceiling there was no pole. In order to take a shower you either had to sit in the tub or kneel while you held the shower head in order not to spray the entire bathroom! After three nights we became quite expert at this and now appreciate the luxury of being able to stand in a shower. That is my only complaint and I think it was probably only typical of our room as none of our traveling buddies had this problem. All in all I would not hesitate to return to this hotel. The buffet breakfast was delicious, however our dinner there on the last night was just ok. Would recommend La Taverne du Commerce for dinner. We and our eight companions had a very good dinner here one night. Also if you stay at this hotel there is a nice heated indoor pool.

Stayed: June 2013, traveled with friends
Thank Rockport4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ZADFAR, Directeur général at Grand Hotel de Courtoisville, responded to this reviewResponded October 8, 2013

Dear rockport4,

We are so glad to read you enjoyed your experience at the Grand Hotel de Courtoisville.

We truly thank you for sharing it on TripAdvisor.

Hopefully we will get the chance to have you stay with us again,

Best regards,

Farzad Abadie, director

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 13, 2013

My wife and I stayed at the Grand Hotel for three days in May. In style the hotel is very typical of many French provincial hotels. The location, one block from fhe beach and a short walk to town, was most convenient and the staff was exceptionally helpful and pleasant. Our room was simply furnished and pleasant. The food and service in the dining room were very good and a decent buffet breakfat was served in an adjacent room in the morning.
The hotel has a good-sized indoor swimming pool, which is unusual for a hotel of this size.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Strathcool
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ZADFAR, Directeur général at Grand Hotel de Courtoisville, responded to this reviewResponded October 8, 2013

Dear Strathcool

Thank you very much for taking the time to share your feedback on your experience at the Grand Hotel de Courtoisville.
We are glad to read that you enjoyed our central location and the comfort of our rooms.
We look forward to the pleasure of welcoming you again,

Yours sincerely,
Farzad Abadie, Director

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 3, 2013

eight of us stayed at the hotel and found the staff to be very efficient and friendly. Our greeting by a gentleman member of the staff was brilliant. The hotel was near to the beach and about a 30 min. walk to the walled town. Our rooms were very good and we loved the electric bed, although we did find the separate toilet arrangement unusual. This however proved to be quite useful! We would definitely return.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 177Christina
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ZADFAR, Directeur général at Grand Hotel de Courtoisville, responded to this reviewResponded October 8, 2013

Dear 177Christina,

Thank you very much for taking the time to post on Trip Advisor this very nice feedback about your stay at the Grand Hotel de Courtoisville.
We were truly delighted to read how much you enjoyed the hotel and its location.
Kindest regards,
Farzad Abadie, Director

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 31, 2013

We stayed in the hotel for 5 days in may 2013.
° room (superior room): very clean, excellent darkened, good bed ° breakfast: everything you need ° situation: quiet - 20 to 30 minutes walking to Saint Malo Intra Muros (very nice walk) ° friendliness of the personal and staff is a very good plus point ° swimming pool: a good & large heated pool ° parking place: limited but good possibilities in the streets. We certainly will go back to this hotel.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank P_J_Belgium_AA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ZADFAR, Directeur général at Grand Hotel de Courtoisville, responded to this reviewResponded October 8, 2013

Dear Jean_PierreWOostende,

Thank you so much for taking the time to leave your feedback regarding your stay at the Grand Hotel de Courtoisville! It is always a pleasure to read reviews such as yours.
We hope to have the pleasure to welcome you again soon,
Kind regards,
Farzad Abadie, Director

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 30, 2013

Spent 3 days at the hotel. Service was ok but rooms could do with updating especially bathroom. Beds very comfortable and could operate them with a remote control. Walk along the seafront into the town was lovely. Parking easy.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank KaP99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ZADFAR, Directeur général at Grand Hotel de Courtoisville, responded to this reviewResponded October 8, 2013

Dear KaP99,

Thank you for your comments following your recent stay.
We obviously will be carefully reviewing the issues raised.
With best regards,
Farzad Abadie, Director

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 7, 2013

We recently stayed here with our young baby. We arrived late and I went to check in. My first impression was that is smelt of stale cigarette smoke and the place seemed very dated. Reception looked like total chaos. The receptionist was nice enough but we noticed all the staff looked untidy and didn't appear to be wearing any sort of uniform. I went off to collect my partner and baby from the car. we had a fair amount of luggage and were wound up by the fact that the staff watched us struggling into the hotel and did not offer any help. Our room again smelt of stale smoke (we thought it must have been a smoking room, not what you want with a baby!) and was seriously dated. The loo was separate from the bathroom and had a distinct smell of wee in it! The bathroom wasn't much better with two holes in the ceiling and the exposed pipes being thick with dust. We had a bath but would not bath, as although clean looked well used and definitely not a place that you would like to soak in. There was not mini bar or tea making facilities in the room much to our disappointment as we would of liked a drink on arrival. We all slept incredibly badly as the room was like a sauna and this was despite having both windows wide open. On leaving I checked under the bed to see if we had left anything and was horrified to see that it looked like it hadn't been hovered in a good while - utterly disgusting! Having looked at the pictures of the hotel it appears that some rooms have been renovated while others haven't but all rooms are charged at the same price. This hotel was no where near a four star, it was shabby and disappointing and I would strongly recommend steering clear, there are much nicer and better value four star hotels in the area!

Room Tip: Ask for a renovated room
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank SwissyB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ZADFAR, Directeur général at Grand Hotel de Courtoisville, responded to this reviewResponded May 30, 2013

Dear SwissB,

Thank you for sharing your comments of your last stay on TripAdvisor. We deeply regret that your experience has not been positive and that we did not meet your expectations. We would gladly welcome the opportunity to reverse this and to make you discover another type of room decoration.

Yours sincerely,
Farzad Abadie, Director

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Saint-Malo hotels
0.7 mi away
Hotel Le Nouveau Monde
Hotel Le Nouveau Monde
#4 of 82 in Saint-Malo
1,921 reviews
0.1 mi away
Le Grand Hotel des Thermes Marins de St-Malo
1.1 mi away
Hotel Oceania Saint Malo
Hotel Oceania Saint Malo
#6 of 82 in Saint-Malo
1,838 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Kyriad Saint Malo Centre - Plage
0.6 mi away
Escale Oceania Saint Malo
Escale Oceania Saint Malo
#28 of 82 in Saint-Malo
110 reviews
4.2 mi away
La Malouiniere des Longchamps
La Malouiniere des Longchamps
#2 of 4 in Saint-Jouan-des-Guerets
175 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grand Hotel de Courtoisville? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Hotel de Courtoisville

Address: 69 boulevard Hebert, 35400, Saint-Malo, France
Phone Number:
Location: France > Brittany > Ille-et-Vilaine > Saint-Malo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#7 Luxury Hotel in Saint-Malo
#12 Family Hotel in Saint-Malo
#16 Romantic Hotel in Saint-Malo
Price Range: $97 - $305 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Grand Hotel de Courtoisville 4*
Number of rooms: 45
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd and TripOnline SA so you can book your Grand Hotel de Courtoisville reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Hotel Saint Malo

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing