We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Hallowen Breakaway”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Hotel Cartier

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hotel Cartier
Ranked #32 of 81 Hotels in Saint-Malo
Certificate of Excellence
Winchester
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Hallowen Breakaway”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 8, 2012

Another visit to St Malo and as always a stay at the Hotel Cartier
Staff as usual are always extremely helpful - despite a few difficulties with the room initially all was pleasant
Hotel was much busier than usual but the same level of attention to detail was given through out our stay.
Clean tidya nd well presented
breakfast was the usual feast - never leave there hungry
Cant wait to go back

Room Tip: Perfecetly located for any visit to St Malo
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AngiWinchester
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

365 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    132
    179
    44
    7
    3
See reviews for
64
233
10
14
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (27)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Southampton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
17 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 5, 2012

I stayed for just a couple of nights mid-week, and our room was already waiting for me when we arrived at 8.30am to drop our bags off. The reception staff were excellent and very helpful both on our arrival and checkout, helping us with bags, opening doors, arranging taxis etc. The room was compact but extremely comfortable, it even had BBC TV and radio channels on the TV, with complimentary tea, coffee and hot chocolate making facilities. Breakfast saw a wide choice of food and drink; meats, cheeses, yoghurts, cakes, several fruit juices, toast etc. as well as the 'usual' French continental breakfast fare. The hotel's location was superb, right in the centre of the old town with plenty of shops, bars and restaurants literally on your doorstep. An underground 'Carrefour' supermarket was just round the corner also, great for stocking up on bargain quality wine and cheese. I'll certainly be returning.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ChrisL007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jersey, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
170 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 30, 2012

We stayed here for one night so that we could celebrate a family occasion in ST Malo. The hotel is recently refurbished, clean, bright and has very helpful staff. Our room was a corner room overlooking the main thouroughfare in St malo, but as the windows are double glazed the Gallic hubbub did not disturb us. Our room had table and chairs plus settee plus a very comfortable double bed. The bathroom was excellent and had a wet room shower. Couldnt be better for a one or two night stop right in the centre of St Malo!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Gary C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lanark, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
95 reviews
75 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 28, 2012

We have recently returned from a weeks stay at the Hotel Cartier. This was our 5th visit to the hotel and as in the previous visits everything was first class. Nicolae and Gabriel who work on reception gave us a very warm welcome, as always. The staff who work in the dining room and who clean the rooms were friendly and worked extremely hard to ensure that the guest had everything they needed. The beds are so comfortable and probably the best that I have ever slept in (I didn't want to get out of my bed). The breakfast was plentiful with something to suit everyone: fresh fruit, yoghurt, cereals, cold meat, cheeses, croissants, breads, pastries, jams, etc. What a variety!! In the bedrooms we had tea, coffee and hot chocolate together with gallettes (the local biscuit). Tea and coffee making facilities are rarely offered in French hotels. We arrived on the overnight crossing from Portsmouth with Brittany Ferries and when we arrived at the hotel just before 9am our room was ready. This hotel is centrally located within the walls and is close to restaurants, shops, etc. The Tourist information is at the bottom of the road. The train station is around 25 minutes walk away. Some buses (including the C1 and C2) run from the bottom of the road (facing the Tourist Information). The bus service is very good during the day. There is a Carrefour supermarket around the corner from the hotel. This shop isn't a large supermaarket but it allows you to stock up on things that you might have forgotten. The main Carrefour supermarket is located at La Madeleine and can be reached by the C1 or C2 bus from the bottom of the road. I can thoroughly recommend this hotel. We are already looking forward to our next visit.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Shirleyk29
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham
Level Contributor
385 reviews
51 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 250 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 7, 2012

This is a great little hotel within the walls of Sait-Malo. Centrally positioned for the many shops and restaurants it is ideally positioned.
Having had to change a reservation at the last moment from June to September (which was no problem when we arrived we decided we wanted to stay an extra night although the hotel was just about fully booked this also was arranged without any hesitation. Coupled with the welcome on arrival - top marks!
The rooms are comfortable although small. The beds are comfortable and the rooms have air con. Unusually for French hotels tea and coffee facilities are also present in the rooms as is a flat screen TV - no DVD though. Bathrooms are again small but clean and perfectly acceptable.
Breakfast is the usual continental buffet affair and perfectly nice.
Another plus is free WiFi (get the log on details from reception).
I would recommend this hotel and will certainly stay here again when next back in Saint-Malo.
Photos to follow

Room Tip: Rooms on the 4th floor although small are nice
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Nick W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
12 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 20, 2012

We looked a few of the more expensive options in St Malo and were unimpressed. Fortunately we then discovered the Cartier, which was perfect. Great location, nicely designed rooms, very clean, friendly staff and excellent value. Would definitely stay here again when next in St Malo.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank WhistlePunks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
29 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 15, 2012

This was our first visit to Hotel Cartier. It is excellently located within the walled part of St Malo and is very handy to several restaurants. Our room was large and the bed comfortable. The breakfast was excellent and the hotel is good value for money. Would definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Max422
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Saint-Malo hotels
0.1 mi away
Hotel du Louvre Saint-Malo
Hotel du Louvre Saint-Malo
#31 of 81 in Saint-Malo
4.0 of 5 bubbles 812 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hotel Des Abers
Hotel Des Abers
#10 of 81 in Saint-Malo
4.5 of 5 bubbles 110 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hotel Bristol Union
Hotel Bristol Union
#33 of 81 in Saint-Malo
4.0 of 5 bubbles 287 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Hotel le Croiseur
Hotel le Croiseur
#30 of 81 in Saint-Malo
4.5 of 5 bubbles 307 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel France et Chateaubriand
Hotel France et Chateaubriand
#23 of 81 in Saint-Malo
4.0 of 5 bubbles 780 reviews
0.2 mi away
Quic en Groigne
Quic en Groigne
#1 of 81 in Saint-Malo
4.5 of 5 bubbles 477 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Cartier? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Cartier

Property: Hotel Cartier
Address: 13 Rue Saint Vincent Du Cerf, 35400, Saint-Malo, France
Location: France > Brittany > Ille-et-Vilaine > Saint-Malo
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#13 Family Hotel in Saint-Malo
#18 Romantic Hotel in Saint-Malo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Cartier 3*
Number of rooms: 35
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Hotwire, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Cheap Tickets and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Cartier reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cartier Hotel Saint Malo

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing